View Poll Results: Should there be a death penalty?
Aye 30 35.71%
Naw 54 64.29%
Voters: 84. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16-08-07, 20:09   #1

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about
Where do we stand...

Regarding the Death penalty?

Just a simple yes/no. No specific scenarios. Just yes or no.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-07, 20:14   #2
The whole world has gone radge

Re: Where do we stand...

Aye, definitely, sex cases and murderers should be.

SoulBamRab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-07, 20:27   #3

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

no. It's not our call to say who should live or die.

just a personal opinion.

guilford 4 anyone?
Old 16-08-07, 20:28   #4

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Yes, but only for premeditated murder, and only in cases where there is absolutely no doubt that the person did it.

Otherwise I'm of the opinion that "Life" sentences should mean just that.... some people just can't be integrated back into society and have to be locked up.

I also believe that sentences should take into account previous convictions, especially if the person didn't complete their previous term.. eg. person does crime, gets caught and sentenced to 10 years inside. After 5 years gets oot for good behaviour.... re-offends... the 5 years that he got away with first time should be added to his new sentence and he should be told that there will be no time off in this case. In other words it would be a disincentive hanging over him which might just work to keep him straight... thoughts?
SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-07, 20:30   #5

no; we don't have the right, plus the state is scarey enough without the power to orchestrate executions.
Old 16-08-07, 20:34   #6
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge

Baron von Hibee has a spectacular aura about

No - if for no other reason than there can never be any way of being 100% certain of guilt, but the death penalty is final - no pardon can reincarnate a victim of an erroneous death sentence.
Baron von Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-07, 20:34   #7
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

No. 100% Sure.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-07, 20:36   #8
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

I'm against it. Especially if Benji tries to take it.

Old 16-08-07, 20:42   #9

Definitely for
Old 16-08-07, 20:53   #10

Nay, nay and thrice nay. Too much chance of innocent people being given the death sentence.

Mob lynching of a paedo though

Old 16-08-07, 20:54   #11

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

Against,
Get it wrong once and it's screwed (We would get it wrong......)

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
20 days 1 hours 44 minutes
Old 16-08-07, 21:01   #12
Roots Rock Radge

Dunc89 will become famous soon enough

no; we don't have the right, plus the state is scarey enough without the power to orchestrate executions.

totally agree with that
Old 16-08-07, 21:10   #13

Haruki is on the way to a first team debut

100% no. Human life is the most amazing thing I know of. No-one has the right to take that away. We could get it wrong, in fact have in the past, and people can change.

Life sentences meaning until death for bad violence I'm for. Murder? Never.
Old 16-08-07, 21:35   #14

definetley no

as it's been pointed out they'd only balls it up
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-07, 21:37   #15

Yes. And in keeping with the spirit of the question thats all i'm saying.

Old 16-08-07, 21:38   #16

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut

No. Not under any circumstance.
Old 16-08-07, 21:38   #17

Against,
Get it wrong once and it's screwed (We would get it wrong......)
100% no. Human life is the most amazing thing I know of. No-one has the right to take that away. We could get it wrong, in fact have in the past, and people can change.

Life sentences meaning until death for bad violence I'm for. Murder? Never.

This is where i am!
Old 16-08-07, 21:42   #18
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

No. How dare we?

Life and Death decisions are beneath us.

Lock them away........but don`t make it so fucking cushty.
Zitelli`s Heid! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-07, 21:52   #19

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

aye.

People who kill people should be killed because they killed people and it stops them from killing people
just like the birmingham 6

alo where does this stop, how much control/authority does the state/government deserve?
Old 16-08-07, 21:56   #20

just like the birmingham 6

alo where does this stop, how much control/authority does the state/government deserve?
Probably more than some of the packs of nutters roaming lots of our streets
Old 16-08-07, 22:00   #21

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

to be honest i think the whole 'yob culture' phenomenon is trumped up beyond belief. I rarely feel threatened in the street, have never been mugged etc. The problems in britain wont be solved by the death penalty because generally murders are spur of the moment, meaning that such a 'prventative' measure wouldnt work. the death penalty is also a total cop out, when governments have it they dont need to root out and solve society's problems.....instead they just crush them
Old 16-08-07, 22:05   #22

to be honest i think the whole 'yob culture' phenomenon is trumped up beyond belief. I rarely feel threatened in the street, have never been mugged etc. The problems in britain wont be solved by the death penalty because generally murders are spur of the moment, meaning that such a 'prventative' measure wouldnt work. the death penalty is also a total cop out, when governments have it they dont need to root out and solve society's problems.....instead they just crush them
You really think that ??? Murders , stabbings , beatings etc are rife in Britain at the moment .
Maybe the guy in Warrington (15 miles from you) had never felt threatened before either , now he's dead
Old 16-08-07, 22:10   #23