Old 10-08-07, 13:46   #1

Casino cash: £5706
vCash: 25700
Media Giants Planet Hearts - Banned from swiney

http://www.jamboskickback.co.uk/showthread.php?t=47616

PLANET HEARTS – An Announcement

Planet Hearts, the independent fans publication, is to change both the format and frequency of the title.

It will no longer appear as a weekly newspaper, but instead target specific games and occasions.

As a result, all subscriptions have been frozen.

Those already with accounts will be offered refunds or credit notes on what time remains on their deals.

We feel this is only fair, given the change of circumstances, and details will be posted out to them this week.

The decision to no longer publish as a weekly came after the club informed us that our staff would be banned from conducting any one to one interviews with their players.

This is, we were told, to protect the commercial interests of the club’s own brands.

While hugely disappointed, we accept their decision, given their desire to micro-manage the media in a way that will both reflect positively on the club and maximise income.

Our belief is the fans and club benefit from a healthy supporters voice, such as Planet Hearts or other publications and websites, but this cannot be achieved without support.

The media ‘ban’ imposed upon us last season clearly affected the kind of interviews we could conduct, and in our own opinion, the quality of publication we could offer fans.

As a result, we can no longer guarantee attracting enough sales and advertising to sustain a weekly paper available in shops, newsagents and supermarkets as before.

Instead, any future Planet Hearts publications will be sold through a soon to be launched online shop, along with a range of fans’ orientated merchandising including t-shirts and back-issues.

Any profits from the store will be used to finance future editions and other fan related publications.

Two members of staff have, regrettably, been made redundant and we would like to thank them for their endeavours, and wish them every success for the future.

We would also like to thank all those who contributed to what has been in our biased view the best Hearts publication in the world, especially our regular columnists.

They include Lord Foulkes MSP, Scott Wilson, Gary Cowen, Henry Smith, Ken Fruish, David McLetchie MSP, Mike Pringle MSP, George Hawkins, Gary Mackay, Roland Tye and those many others good enough to support us.

Also the various Hearts supporters clubs and organisations who offered us their unstinting backing.

And most of all you the fans, who remain the lifeblood of the club through the good times and bad.

Finally, we would like to apologise for this very late announcement, but have been trying to do all we can to find an alternative solution to preserve the paper as it is, but exhausted those options at a meeting last night.

Regardless of our own fate, we as supporters continue to back the team, and wish them well for the season ahead.

The Planet Hearts Team.

NB: if anyone wishes to pass on their comments, criticisms, views, support or other messages, please feel free to drop us a line theshed@planethearts.co.uk
Old 10-08-07, 13:54   #2
On the Wagon Radge

Casino cash: £1085
Re: Media Giants Planet Hearts - Banned from swiney

Lord Foulkes MSP, Scott Wilson, Gary Cowen, Henry Smith, Ken Fruish, David McLetchie MSP, Mike Pringle MSP, George Hawkins, Gary Mackay, Roland Tye

I must admit that I don't know who all of this lot are, but I have to say I'm not massively upset that the ones I have heard of have been denied a forum for their writings.
Old 10-08-07, 13:57   #3

Casino cash: £17424

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
in our biased view the best Hearts publication in the world
is there no end to the hubris? how many hearts publications are there 'in the world' and of them, how many are based outside edinburgh?
Old 10-08-07, 13:58   #4

Casino cash: £30743
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

WQhat is it with establishment Jambos and media control?
Old 10-08-07, 14:14   #5

Casino cash: £3771

"The thought police would get him just the same. He had committed—would have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper—the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever. You might dodge successfully for a while, even for years, but sooner or later they were bound to get you."

bit ah only wanted tee reet aboot big craig and that yin whis name ah cannae pronoonce.
Old 10-08-07, 15:24   #6
Everybody is a Radge

Casino cash: £6710
Rep Power: 17 snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

arseholes - the lot of them
Old 10-08-07, 22:34   #7

Casino cash: £4750
Rep Power: 5 The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

From Monday's match programme -
Subscribe to Hearts' new bi-monthly hard-hitting Official Magazine thebeat, for the best in news, views and opinion on everything that happens at Tynecastle.
Subscriptions cost JUST £23.70 per annum for 6 issues, and includes FREE Postage and Packaging.
thebeat NO BULL, NO BIAS AND NO STRINGS
All emphasis/(lack of) punctuation as printed by them.
Cover price appears to be £3.95, so no real incentive to take out a subscription.
As a bi-monthly, their "news" is hardly going to be "hot off the press", is it?
Old 10-08-07, 23:07   #8

Casino cash: £4192
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut

it's all coming together nicely
Old 11-08-07, 00:44   #9
A Radge Private Member

Casino cash: £1780

A bit long winded for saying it's shite and we cannae sell them.
Old 11-08-07, 01:11   #10
Am no licking that ya radge

Casino cash: £4075

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
http://www.jamboskickback.co.uk/showthread.php?t=47616

PLANET HEARTS – An Announcement

The decision to no longer publish as a weekly came after the club informed us that our staff would be banned from conducting any one to one interviews with their players.

This is, we were told, to protect the commercial interests of the club’s own brands.

While hugely disappointed, we accept their decision, given their desire to micro-manage the media in a way that will both reflect positively on the club and maximise income.

They are still a deluded bunch of fuckwits. Banned by their own club and still they tow the party line.

Lambs to the slaughter, sure enough.

WE'RE DOOMED
brianmac is offline   Reply With Quote