Old 09-08-07, 20:38   #1
Libertines Radge

Casino cash: £1456
The Pigeon Detectives!

The Pigeon Detectives - Wait For Me!
The Album Is Simply Amazing, Purchased It On Monday An Have Been Listening Too It Far Too Much
Opinions On Them?
Going To See Them An The View In Two Weeks Also!
jnr_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 20:39   #2

Casino cash: £4036
Re: The Pigeon Detectives!

worst band since the view

for real power pop listen to stiff little finger/the undertones/buzzcocks
Old 09-08-07, 20:41   #3

Casino cash: £12608
Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice

Originally Posted by jnr_hibee View Post
The Pigeon Detectives -
Going To See Them An The View In Two Weeks Also!
Is this at the Kaiser Chiefs gig?

Oh aye the pigeons are no bad
Old 09-08-07, 20:45   #4
Libertines Radge

Originally Posted by beefy View Post
Is this at the Kaiser Chiefs gig?

Oh aye the pigeons are no bad

Yeah Indeed, Tho Dont Rate The Kaiser Chiefs At All!
Just Going For The Pigeons An The View.
Old 09-08-07, 21:10   #5

Casino cash: £7200
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

Caught a wee bit of their T in the Park set and thought they'd be better named The Pigeon Droppings.
Old 09-08-07, 21:11   #6

Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice

Not really a Chiefs fan either.

FWIW i am diggin mostly these at the mo...

The Presets
YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

The Sunshine Underground
YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
Old 09-08-07, 21:15   #7
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10525
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

I Feel I Am Going To Have A Seizure Of Some Sort When I Read Your Posts.

I Don't Know Why That Is................

pErhaps iT's sOmething tO dO wIth tHe wAy yOu iNsist oN uSing tHe cAps lOck kEy fOr nO rEal rEason.

:shrink29:

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 09-08-07, 21:19   #8

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink View Post
I Feel I Am Going To Have A Seizure Of Some Sort When I Read Your Posts.

I Don't Know Why That Is................

pErhaps iT's sOmething tO dO wIth tHe wAy yOu iNsist oN uSing tHe cAps lOck kEy fOr nO rEal rEason.

:Shrink29:
Old 09-08-07, 21:20   #9

Casino cash: £556
vCash: 50000

There pretty good like, going to see them at T on the Fringe also.
Although The Enemy have to be the best new band out there! Seen them 3 times this year already and going to see them In October. There brilliant live!

The Libertines.
HibeeFraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 21:26   #10

why, why why, why, why are kids today obsessed by sub-par indie bands?

the view/the pigeon detectives/the kaiser chiefs/the enemy/razorlight/mumm-ra/the automatic

bands with no substance/style/originality/flair/reason for existance. The libertines were a true class act but since then the slew of lads with skinny jeans/long hair/pluckey skin has diluted guitar based music to a trivial footnote. The only 'indie' band of the past few years worth listening to are the arctics

If you want great new music go for the animal collective/the nextmen/the go team, for great rock n roll the clash/the jam (the enemy were once named worst jam cover band in a competition)/joy division/the sonics/david bowie

I look forward to the day guitar music goes back off the airwaves.
Old 09-08-07, 22:40   #11
Libertines Radge

Originally Posted by jacktaylor View Post

the view/the pigeon detectives/the kaiser chiefs/the enemy/razorlight/mumm-ra/the automatic

bands with no substance/style/originality/flair/reason for existance. The libertines were a true class act but since then the slew of lads with skinny jeans/long hair/pluckey skin has diluted guitar based music to a trivial footnote. The only 'indie' band of the past few years worth listening to are the arctics

If you want great new music go for the animal collective/the nextmen/the go team, for great rock n roll the clash/the jam (the enemy were once named worst jam cover band in a competition)/joy division/the sonics/david bowie

Not a big fan of any of the bands you named at the start apart from The View,The Pigeons and Klaxons. Infact not really a big fan new bands these days. More into The Jam, Style Council, Oasis, Sex Pistols, Radiohead, Blur, Ian Brown and of course The Stone Roses.

P.s Dr. Shrink thanks for pointing that out. Always done it because i thought it looked cool but im stopping untill the appropriate times ! You have made me see the error of my ways.
Old 09-08-07, 22:50   #12

Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

P.s Dr. Shrink thanks for pointing that out. Always done it because i thought it looked cool but im stopping untill the appropriate times ! You have made me see the error of my ways.

Good lad.

I thought that I was developing epilepsy.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 09-08-07, 22:59   #13

Casino cash: £4919
vCash: 17000
Rep Power: 19 ©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough

Good lad.

To go along with your ADHD,Aspergers,and Tourets. giggle:

http://stretchorama.myminicity.com/

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 23:01   #14
Libertines Radge

Good lad.

Old 09-08-07, 23:06   #15

Originally Posted by ©stretch View Post
To go along with your ADHD,Aspergers,and Tourets. giggle:

ADHD? I don't have AD................look look there's a moth flying round the light......aw bugger I just knocked my fcuking glass over the fcuking keyboard. ARSE.
Fcuk. BOLLOCKS.

Old 09-08-07, 23:11   #16

Casino cash: £4919
vCash: 17000
Rep Power: 19 ©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough

ADHD? I don't have AD................look look there's a moth flying round the light......aw bugger I just knocked my fcuking glass over the fcuking keyboard. ARSE.
Fcuk. BOLLOCKS.
Calm down go and put the kettle on (not literally) and have a wee cup of tea and you'll be fine. Have you had your meds today?

http://stretchorama.myminicity.com/

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 23:14   #17

Casino cash: £4857

It's actually OK for people to like different things to you.

Obviously judging by your posts you have a fairly tight grip on what you like in terms of clothing and music and that's fine but you don't have to criticise other folks taste to appear Cool.

FWIW I'm not really young but I like some of the Bands from both your lists, I also like a whole lot more besides. If these Bands are entertaining an audience then they are doing something right. I think the Arctic Monkeys are good and I think that some of the lyrics are very clever but I wouldn't say they are the only Indie (if that indeed still exists as a genre) Band worthy of hearing. I also think the Libertines were shit!
Old 09-08-07, 23:26   #18

Originally Posted by Decal Joe View Post
It's actually OK for people to like different things to you.

Obviously judging by your posts you have a fairly tight grip on what you like in terms of clothing and music and that's fine but you don't have to criticise other folks taste to appear Cool.

FWIW I'm not really young but I like some of the Bands from both your lists, I also like a whole lot more besides. If these Bands are entertaining an audience then they are doing something right. I think the Arctic Monkeys are good and I think that some of the lyrics are very clever but I wouldn't say they are the only Indie (if that indeed still exists as a genre) Band worthy of hearing. I also think the Libertines were shit!
to be honest when it comes to music im a complete fascist but that's more ebcause these bands are not worthy of the airplay they recieve. The market is saturated with over hyped skinny white boys with guitars and no souls. My rants on music arent aimed at anyone in particular but at the lack of necessity people place on what they listen to. I know it's a personal choice but ive always tried to dig as much as possible to find as many different/original bands as possible. Ive noticed on these boards more attention is paid to a hyped up jam tribute band then to a truly original artist, both of whom have albums out at the moment (the enemy vs M.I.A). I just dont understand societies attitudes towards ordinary and frankly quite tawdry music. Why have strongbow when you can have champagne? One's very easy I suppose but it's superficial and lacking in heart and soul.

It's an opinion, i suppose. but at the same time I get very passionate about music. I try to maintain as broad an outlook as possible (indie/soul/bluegrass/breaks/jazz/pop [in the traditional sense]/power pop etc are all included in my list.

also what would the point of a forum, or indeed any outlet for communication if we all agreed?
Old 09-08-07, 23:29   #19

oh and for what it's worth i never use criticsm to look cool, im a total music/sneaker geek and am pretty happy about it.
Old 10-08-07, 13:17   #20
Time For Action Radge

Casino cash: £2896
Rep Power: 9 Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut

to be honest when it comes to music im a complete fascist but that's more ebcause these bands are not worthy of the airplay they recieve. The market is saturated with over hyped skinny white boys with guitars and no souls. My rants on music arent aimed at anyone in particular but at the lack of necessity people place on what they listen to. I know it's a personal choice but ive always tried to dig as much as possible to find as many different/original bands as possible. Ive noticed on these boards more attention is paid to a hyped up jam tribute band then to a truly original artist, both of whom have albums out at the moment (the enemy vs M.I.A). I just dont understand societies attitudes towards ordinary and frankly quite tawdry music. Why have strongbow when you can have champagne? One's very easy I suppose but it's superficial and lacking in heart and soul.

It's an opinion, i suppose. but at the same time I get very passionate about music. I try to maintain as broad an outlook as possible (indie/soul/bluegrass/breaks/jazz/pop [in the traditional sense]/power pop etc are all included in my list.

also what would the point of a forum, or indeed any outlet for communication if we all agreed?
I was a massive fan of the Jam in their hayday, seen them on numerous occasions and still am. I like the Enemy - so what if they are influenced by another band surley a lot of bands are.

You asked why are kids obsessed about indi music today. I thought you were a kid yerself - 19 I believe.

If punters want to come on and view there opinions on music as you do about your 100's of bucks worth of clobber, just let them I say. FWIW, I may go to Meadowbank but only to see the The View and the PD's.

"For peace, freedom and democracy, never again Fascism, millions of dead admonish"

The picture of this stone, which is in front of Hitler's birthplace in Braunau, was taken during the Hibs tour of Austria.
Sunshine on Leith is offline   Reply With Quote