Old 09-08-07, 04:57   #1

Casino cash: £205
Baseball question for American bouncers

I'm watching the live baseball that we get through the night and although I've been watching the games for a few yeras now, there are still a couple of rules that I haven't quite got to grips with....

1. When is it ok to steal a base?

I assume that there are times when the ball is officially dead and it's not OK for a runner to just go?

Also, if the batter hits a ball that goes foul, the runner has to go back, but what if he'd already made the base before the ball went out?

2. In the National League, the Pitcher has to bat, but when you get to the bottom of the ninth and you don't have to pitch again, what's to stop you putting in a designated hitter and claiming that he's actually a pitcher?

I'm just a bit confused but I'm sure you guys can explain.
SG7nil is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 08:36   #2

Casino cash: £32268
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice
Re: Baseball question for American bouncers

Why is it that American baseball players feel the need to spit all the time and constantly "adjust themselves"? Its quite off putting and the Canadian players don't seem to have the need to check their spare bat all the time.
Old 09-08-07, 08:41   #3

Casino cash: £2188

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
I'm watching the live baseball that we get through the night and although I've been watching the games for a few yeras now, there are still a couple of rules that I haven't quite got to grips with....

I assume that there are times when the ball is officially dead and it's not OK for a runner to just go?

Also, if the batter hits a ball that goes foul, the runner has to go back, but what if he'd already made the base before the ball went out?

2. In the National League, the Pitcher has to bat, but when you get to the bottom of the ninth and you don't have to pitch again, what's to stop you putting in a designated hitter and claiming that he's actually a pitcher?

Its ok to steal a base when the pitcher has gone into motion or has his foot on the white rubber on the mound.

If the ball goes foul the runner has to go back regardless

dinnae ken bout number two but im sure its not allowed

mon the phillies
Old 09-08-07, 09:16   #4

Casino cash: £13048
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Superbam is spot on about #1.

#2 Happens regularly through a game not just in the 9th Inning. If someone is batting in the bottom of the 9th (which will always be the home side) it means that at best they are level and will usually be losing. If the game is tied after the 9th they can just put in another pitcher into that spot for extra innings.

In the National League they also quite regularly do something called a double switch when the pitcher is due up to bat. What that entails is getting a pinch hitter into the pitchers spot in the batting order and after the inning is over putting him at a position in the field. They then put in a new pitcher in a spot in the position which has been replaced in the batting order. You don't have to swap players position for position at all and it's easiest to think of the batting line up and field positions as two entirely seperate entities with the same players in them.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 09-08-07, 10:14   #5
On the Wagon Radge

Casino cash: £1085

Al is, as so often with the world of sports, and so rarely with the world of affairs, completely correct.

What baseball teams do people here favour? I like the Mets because I went to watch them some years ago, and the Oakland A's in the AL, maybe because they seem a little bit like Hibs - good youth system, grand-ish history.
Old 09-08-07, 10:22   #6

Casino cash: £17630
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Superbam is spot on about #1.

#2 Happens regularly through a game not just in the 9th Inning. If someone is batting in the bottom of the 9th (which will always be the home side) it means that at best they are level and will usually be losing. If the game is tied after the 9th they can just put in another pitcher into that spot for extra innings.

In the National League they also quite regularly do something called a double switch when the pitcher is due up to bat. What that entails is getting a pinch hitter into the pitchers spot in the batting order and after the inning is over putting him at a position in the field. They then put in a new pitcher in a spot in the position which has been replaced in the batting order. You don't have to swap players position for position at all and it's easiest to think of the batting line up and field positions as two entirely seperate entities with the same players in them.
Thats cleared that up then :dub30:

Old 09-08-07, 10:50   #7

Originally Posted by HenryLB View Post
Al is, as so often with the world of sports, and so rarely with the world of affairs, completely correct.

What baseball teams do people here favour? I like the Mets because I went to watch them some years ago, and the Oakland A's in the AL, maybe because they seem a little bit like Hibs - good youth system, grand-ish history.
Red Sox for me and it was since they got beat in the 85 World Series in a way that I thought was exclusively reserved for Hibs...

They also have given me faith about us actually winning the Scottish Cup since they won the WS a couple of years ago for the first time in 80odd years! Plus their nearest neighbours and rivals are canutes. And Fenway looks the closest to the East Terracing as anything in baseball.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 09-08-07, 11:41   #8
On the Wagon Radge

Yeah I'll always support the Red Sox against the Yankees. The other team I like is the Tokyo Yakult Swallows who I went to watch a couple of months ago - they're a bit like the Red Sox but in Japan. I also went to Daisuke Matsuzaka's local bar/restaurant and ate a fish his dad caught
Old 09-08-07, 11:58   #9

Casino cash: £407

Did anyone see Bonds last night?!?!?!

Hit a home run with the ball landing in San Francisco Bay!
garethni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 12:50   #10

Casino cash: £5180
Rep Power: 14 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Wikipedia has a comprehensive page for anyone interested in the game.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baseball

Like Al, the Red Sox for me too.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 13:10   #11

Casino cash: £4607

Another Red Sox man here!

Been to Fenway a few times and even stood up on top of the 'Green Monstah' the last time I was there!

Obviously going with the territory I have a passionate dislike for all things Yankees and it annoys me seeing all their merchandising in the UK, they're the OF of baseball!!!
Old 09-08-07, 13:22   #12

Casino cash: £2188

Phillies for me, half my family is from Philadelphia. They became officially the biggest losers of all time in American sport the other week.
Old 09-08-07, 14:22   #13
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by superbam View Post
Phillies for me, half my family is from Philadelphia. They became officially the biggest losers of all time in American sport the other week.

Perhaps your family should stop playing sport...

Sorry
Old 09-08-07, 14:40   #14

Casino cash: £210
vCash: 2569749834

It's the NEW YORK YANKEES FOR ME
Old 09-08-07, 15:26   #15

Casino cash: £4607

Originally Posted by OxgangsHibby View Post
It's the NEW YORK YANKEES FOR ME
BOO!
Old 09-08-07, 18:53   #16

Casino cash: £255

Pittsburgh Pirates...
Old 09-08-07, 19:21   #17

Casino cash: £2080
Rep Power: 2 BVilleggiante is on the way to a first team debut

Being from San Francisco...LET"S GO GIANTS!!!
BVilleggiante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 21:24   #18
Survivor Radge

Casino cash: £3708
Rep Power: 18 Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Anytime the pitcher toes the rubber (white bit on the pitcher's mound), or if the ball is still considered 'live' regardless of the pitcher's location. For example several years ago David Cone while pitching for the NY Mets was arguing a call at first base, the ball the was still 'live' and the runners were able to steal bases even though he was not on the mound.

You are correct

He still must return to his previous base. The only time a runner can advance on a foul ball is if they successfully advance on a fly ball caught in foul territory.

No. You can remove the pitcher for a pinch hitter but will have to replace the pitcher should the game advance to the next inning.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 23:41   #19
Ali
Clash City Radger

Casino cash: £1528

Originally Posted by HenryLB View Post

The Atlanta Braves, obviously. I've been to a few games, although wouldn't call myself a fan....unless they make it to the World Series of course!
Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-07, 23:49   #20
Survivor Radge

Casino cash: £3708
Rep Power: 18 Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Yankees for me, lived in the Bronx there could be no other.

Before other bouncers go on about them being the OF actually if there is a team that is most like the OF with bigotry and hatred it would be the Boston Red Sox. Last team to integrate, among some of the most bigotted owners in the league thoroughout their history.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-07, 10:07   #21

Casino cash: £205

Thanks guys, that clears it up somewhat... bottom line appears to be with double switching etc. there's some "legalised cheating" allowed.
SG7nil is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-07, 11:10   #22

Thanks guys, that clears it up somewhat... bottom line appears to be with double switching etc. there's some "legalised cheating" allowed.
It's no really though. You've only got 25 players that you can pick from, and any of them are allowed to play anywhere you want, but once you sub them they can't take any more part in a game.

Of those 25 players, there are usually 5 starting pitchers who are pretty much only available on the day they are due to pitch due to problems with injuries, and you've got usually 6 or 7 other pitchers who will pitch to finish a game after the starting pitcher reaches the limit of their pitch count (usually around 100 pitches). Of the relievers there is usually a hierarchy which goes "closer" (usually their best reliever who tends to pitch the last inning only when a team is ahead in a close game) "set-up guy" (next best one or two relievers who pitch late on in games but usually only in close games) "middle relievers" (couple of decentish pitchers who are quite often pretty inconsistent) and a "mop up pitcher" (pitcher who can throw a few innings but are usually only brought in when the game is either being heavily lost or winning). So most teams only have two or three really good reliable pitchers available after the starting pitcher so if you put someone in to pinch hit