The fringe thread
What are you going to see? What have you seen? What would you recommend?
Firstly, I went to see Tommy Sheridan last night. He was surprisingly wooden, and I wouldnae have fancied an hour with him. His guests were fortunately much better: Craig Hill, Stuart Cosgrove, Tommy McKay? from Leith and some friend of Peter Kay. I'd cautiously recommend it but it would depend on the guests. Then, onto the Assembly rooms to see Sarah Kendall. She was really funny I thought, but I think that every year. She didnae do her Nicole Kidman impression, but apart from that, I'd recommend her.
Wedding crasher radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Re: The fringe thread
I'm going to see Heath Franklin. He's the Aussie boy who does the hilarious impression of Chopper Read. I'll post once i've been to say what it was like.
nothin booked yet but two I fancy are the Joy Division film Control and Tam Dean Burns one man play at the Traverse. might go and see Michael Marra as well always a good gig.
Im going to see Jason Byrne and some Ozzy comic whos name escapes me.
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Went to Feurzabruta (sp) last night in the big black tent beside Ocean Terminal. Pretty mental stuff - sort physical theatre with the audience standing in the middle of the tent. Loud techno soundtrack, lots of mess, water, people jumping around the walls, pools of water suspended from the ceiling with girls sliding around in it being lowered into the audience and plenty of other mad stuff. A bit MadVlad pricing wise at £25 a pop for 75 mins but a good, very original show. You'll not be bored.
Off the fags and feeling Radge
Saw the tent the other night mate, would it be too risque for Rosie?
i'm going to see quite a bit this year
control premiere at cineworld,frank skinner,razorlight,might have tickets for jimmy carr,i had tickets for sean lock last friday but was helping my brother move house and couldn't make it in time
No, I don't think so, there's little flesh on show and no bad language. You might have to lift her up to see certain bits as you are in a crowd standing in the middle of the tent. The performers come right out into the centre of the crowd on movable stages etc. so there's a fair bit of moving around / getting out the way etc. which might not be ideal if she doesn't like crowds.
The boy im gonna see is Jim Jeffries(ozzy comic)
How the feck did i no remember that
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
going to see "the price of a fish supper" at the guilded balloon...probably 'casue my mum (gerda stevenson of communicado) directed it...
seriously though, it got bitchin' reviews from the scotsman, the times, the daily mail and the herald
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
why cant thomas graveson get a tattoo? cos he husnae got a fringe
2 comics called Jim Jeffries whod have thunk it.
Bit of advice dont go to see Jim Jeffries!!
The guy was utter mince,so bad i left after half an hour |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2003
Yesterday we went to see Tony Coward - Festival of Football. Free Show. He was OK.
Am also going to see Craig Hill this week and The Comedy Gala at the Festival Theatre next week. Loads of comedians appearing and hosted by Alan Carr. Ladyboys at the end of the month and Alan Carr at the Playhouse in November (although not part of festival per se).
![]() Join Date: Jul 2007
Seen Alan Carr tonight- Very very funny man. Have also seen David O'doherty and i can highly recommend him. Also have tickets for Jimmy Carr this sunday- i seen him last year and i am not exagerating when i say i cried my way through the show, he can be quite offensive but im a sick puppy who finds that very funny
Old School Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2006
Mrs Hixxy is going to see ASBO The Musical on Friday, sounds like it would be good.
half price tickets for shows the same day can be obtained from the Metro Ticket office above Waverley Market, would have felt a bit robbed at 25 notes tbh.
Went to see Frankie Boyle at the Assembly rooms last Tuesday. He was his usual hilarious, dry and no holds bar type of self. Can really make a tourist audience laugh with witty Scottish jokes.
Went to Late'n'Live on Friday just there 1am to 5am at the Gilded Balloon. Best pick of the comedians on offer. 3/4 that night were fecking outstanding. There names escape me while im at work. Then theres Jimmy Carr tonight at the EICC. Kaisers and Razorlight complete my fringe bill next Friday and Sunday. A hibs win against the sheep between this on the Saturday to hopefully coincide with a decent Hibs result this weekend making it a damn good August.
Ive been to see Frankie Boyle and a piss up in Spiegel gardens
.Boyle was brilliant, but not very pc. ![]() Spiegel gardens has an oversized juke box, you put a pound in, but instead of it playing a record, there's a band inside it and they play any song you want(within reason)
seen jason byrne tonight. aye he was funny, but i wouldnae rush to see him again.
#22 | |
got tickets for Venus as a Boy at the Traverse next week but feck all else booked. thought the T on the Fringe line up was pretty dire this year.
#23 |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Do not see the darkness within, its terrible, we practically ran out once it was over, would have left but there was only 10 other people in for that showing. Hello Kittens is a great comedy, its an 18 but the guy didnt say anything that was offensive/rude.
going to see dye young/stay pretty and paul betney next. |
#24 |
Big Bad Mental Radge
![]() Join Date: Sep 2004