Old 06-08-07, 09:31   #1

Casino cash: £6451
Big Bully

Was in Tesco on Leith Walk (where Poundies used to be) on Saturday morning with the kids & missus, I walked into this isle where one of the staff had a wee boy (about 10/11 years old) up against the rack of food telling if he was going to swear at him he should just give back the stuff and get out. Whilst saying this he was snatching the sweeties out of the boy’s hands.

I guided my son away from this as it’s not nice for a 3 year old to see that kinda pish. I thought it was over there and then but as I walked round to the cash desk I saw the boy having paid for his sweets walking away from the cash desk. He was being a bit mouthy to the guy and the next thing I knew the guy had the buy up against the glass in the doorway as he tried to take the sweets off the boy (already paid for).

Then this huge big guy (not associated with the shop, in for his shopping) put his hand round the throat of the boy and actually throttled him. The boy looked scared as feck aside from not actually being able to breath. I went over at the point and said what the feck do you think you’re doing? The big guy walked away, nae eye contact.

Satisfied I’d helped stop the kid being attacked I went back to the counter. Then it kicked off outside between the boy & the Tesco worker, he had him pinned to the ground with the boy looking very upset. I asked the guy again what he though he was doing, a fully grown man pitted against a skinny wee boy? He said the boy attacked him after he let him go. Well, what the feck did he expect when you’ve nearly throttled the boy? At this point they both started fighting again. I split them up and told the boys to go and forget about it. I think the Tesco guy realised he’d maybe been a bit over the top but no where near as worrying as the big guy coming over and doing what he did.

It’s feckin’ horrible seeing bullies like that, you know it happens, everyone has experience of shit like that but it’s only every now and again you’re reminded it’s real.

My take on the situation is that the Tesco guy was over the top at the start but was forced into defending himself (in which he was also over the top) when the boy attacked him. However, the big guy should never have got involved. The Tesco guy had it under control and for the life of me I can’t figure out why the big guy got involved.