Casino cash: £6373 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
The Irvine Welsh mentions on "These colours don't run"
There's a big thread on the main board about this book. I'm not here to discuss it's merits. I'm not planning reading it. It strikes me as a "Bravo Two Zero" for the armchair casual or a typical real-life crime historian justifying a violence of which far too many books are written. But I have no experience of this. There's many sides to every story. I'm not judging.
I've read the amazon review and have noticed that Dykes paints Irvine Welsh as not a fighter. I'd really appreciate it if some-one could give me a run down on Dykes opinion of Welsh. In fact do any of you lot know Irvine? I'm intrigued. |
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: £4590 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 305
Re: The Irvine Welsh mentions on "These colours don't run"
Haven't read the book yet Cam, so i can't really comment on that.
I used to stay with DD and he's a genuine guy. In fact i was staying with him, at his ma's, the day my auld man died. I was only 18 and he helped me a lot in those days. Have met IW a few times through mutual friends. The friends we have in common certainly used to get involved in a wee bit of violence but IW never got involved when i was there, though he had begun writing by then so maybe that made a bit of a difference. ![]()
Casino cash: £19224 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
to paraphrase; he says that while noone grudges IW his success he is irked by the fact that IW has cultivated the impression that he was involved, when he wasn't.
I'm not sure IW has gave that impression. I've never been under that impression anyway ![]() Maybe that's because i know the truth ![]()
DD refers to his contributions to such books as 'Terrace Legends'. I think DD's point is more that this myth has 'been allowed to develop' rather than IW has actively claimed it.
Aye, right enough. I forgot all about that book. He certainly seemed a strange choice for that, considering the lads chosen from other teams. Now you mention it, i think being in that book could possibly be construed as 'actively claiming'
Casino cash: £5781 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 6
He's a kind of historian though, you don't have to be involved to report on it. But, I see what you mean.
![]() Join Date: Aug 2007
Casino cash: £250 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
IW was a strange choice for terrace legends as was the actor Frank Harper who was representing Millwall. I put it down to them being mates with the author.
Casino cash: £2022 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Irvine has never claimed to be a casual. I remember him saying in an interview that they were not his generation. I thought the critisism of him in These Colours Dont Run was a bit harsh.
Casino cash: £477 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
IW IMHO writes and has interests in "pop culture" ie the essence of the Cashy movement eg the clothes, music. girls, bevy, drugs (towards the end) and fantastic away days (and nights).
He has commented with a fair degree of accuracy in the past and IMHO well placed to as he has followed the Hibs for years. Ive got a great story bout the Big man - nothing scandolous just funny and involves the mighty Cabbage. Will post if requested as I dinny want ti appear wi the glory stories etc etc. Mon the Hibs |
cam
if yer writin a book on him I want the credits.... |
![]() Nah, aint writing a book on him. Just intrigued by him. "Trainspottin" was very relevant to a young camthebam. I've never mainlined smack but it was more just the drug culture in Scotland wasn't something I'd ever read about in literature before. I thought it was ground-breaking. Think his new one "If you like school.." is a very welcome return to form. Kinda new ground for Irvine but very readable. Admittedly "The kingdom of Fife" reverts to type but I think it's the funniest thing he's written. Ya hoor, sor.
Years back we were off to watch the Hibs at Firhill.
Match was a tuesday night after the first didny go ahead due to cup/weather issues. Meant to be 3 of us as usual for the away jaunt and an early start round the bars in Reekie. Mate got huckled big style by the pissed off missus and was under orders not to go to the match so it was me an wee Aldo off ti watch the Cabbage hopefully secure the 3 points in the west...... Poppod into the old bar that used to be the Talisman?? im sure in Waverley before it was all done up - the bars awrite in there now actually - was in there last week! Also went ti the bar when we got in and I was looin fir a seat - saw Aldo pointi at 2 boys sittin huddled the gether bletherin close into one another. Aldo it transpires wiz alertin me ti the fact that it was indeed IW and his mate (Paul ?). No bein the shyest type I wondered over and asked if they were off to the match at Firhill ti watch the Hibs? "are Hibs playin the night" came the answer from a sheets to the wind IW. "aye" came the reply from my now joined mate. we took our seats, got bletherin with IW insistin we get the 11 doon Leith and off ti the match?? "naw we're away the night" I informed him. "aw right" cane thevacant reply! Proceeded ti get a nice wee Tennants carry out fir the Train with smokes already rolled. Got on the Bathgate train instead of the glasgay one and only got off after shoutin our heads off just as we left. Sparked up got on the train where IW proceeded ti spill many can of mr lager........ Intae a fast black post tube in glasgay where we resumed our chorus of Hibs songs. Mr Cab driver got all humpty wi the rather heartfelt podms from the East about his hometown. Saw him have a quiet word wi the polisman outside the ground as we exited stage taxi. In the ground, took our pews and after about 3 mins enter Mr Glasgay Polis Man and lifts our literary hero Mr Welsh. All over the papers the next day quoting his real age (apparently 40 at the time??). Oh and the Cabbage drew 0-0....... Altogether now......... |
Cheers Fergos.He mightn't have been a casual. He's a f#ckin Hibee though. 'mon the Irvine ![]() Can't remember seeing that in the papers but more kudos to him for it. Getting lifted at a Partick Thistle game? Ah, Strathclyde's finest. One step above the ned. Just. By the way, all bouncers : beg, steal or borrow "If you liked school..." for "The Kingdom of Fife" alone. One of the funniest things you'll ever read. Ya hoor, sor.
as i;ve said before i don't think IW has moved on and developed his undeniable talent. the grotesque set ups of his later books leave me somewhat unfazed.
in my view trainspotting was phenomenal - i could stab myself for giving my first edition away to some bint, except, fuck it, when i consider the 'big picture', it was worth it but in my view his crowning achievement was MSN, and especially the scene were the radge punch the tramp then give him money - a battering insight into the brutalised sociopathic edges of that scene where the thing that is most disturbing is the ability to deliver extreme violence without any underlying ill will. it's a thing i never got my head round and he's the only one that's ever captured it imho. |
Casino cash: £4006 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I disagree entirely. I thought MSN was rubbish. A feeble in-joke for Hibees at most. And the smart-ass lay out of the text? I could have written that in the 2nd year of high-school. Have you read "If you liked school.." egb? I think he finally has moved on. Quite a mature work IMHO. Americanised and somewhat Carver-esque in my view. Far superior than his, you're right, obsession wiht the "grotesque" of late. "The bedroom secrets.." was an embarassment for a man of his talents. Seriously E, he's moved on big time with his latest. And, at risk of repitition : "The Kingdom of Fife" is very, very funny.
#22 | |
Tea Totalled Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Casino cash: £4325 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2