Old 03-08-07, 17:40   #1
Tea Totalled Radge

Casino cash: £4325
Rep Power: 4 Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut
Ron Brown RIP (Former Leith MP and Lifelong Hibee)

I heard that Ron Brown, the former Labour MP for Leith, passed away this morning. For those too young to mind him, he was an old school socialist, a working class guy who served his apprenticeship as a welder at Parson Peebles (I think it was), and came into politics as an activist rather than one of them yuppies that passes for Labour these days.

I liked Ron, he was definitely a man of the people, and a wee bit of a rascal. Mind he got pissed one night at Westminster and chucked the ceremonial mace on the floor of the Houses of Parliament. Then said he kent a welder who could fix it cost price.

He wasnt too repentant either when the media tried to crucify him. His response was to appear in a Bananarama video on Top of the Pops playing a mace like a guitar.

He was even mates with Gorbachev and Gaddaffi.

And he was a proud Hibee.

Aye, they dinnae make them like Ron Brown anymore.

RIP
Old 03-08-07, 17:50   #2

Casino cash: £555
Re: Ron Brown RIP (Former Leith MP and Lifelong Hibee)

Wasn't there an episode with a woman called Noona (or something) and her knickers.. class guy!
SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 18:09   #3

Casino cash: £3532

He certainly was a character. There ain't a lot of political figures as colourful as he was over the years.
Old 03-08-07, 23:31   #4
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

Casino cash: £1596

.....and lifelong Jambo. Colourful tae say the least. Politically a giant compared with the grey suited middle class pigmies that parade as politicians in all the main political parties at present in Parliament or The Big Scottish Cooncil who you have to concentrate hard tae differentiate between.

http://www.theherald.co.uk/politics/...595895.0.0.php

RIP

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-07, 01:14   #5

Casino cash: £4477
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut

big g is right,i think he was a jambo,or not much of a footbal fan at all(same thing i suppose)

though he used to be outside easter road quite a bit

i interviewed him when i was in school for a project and he was quite supportive and helpful
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-07, 01:36   #6
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10540
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

I never met the man, but he seemed to me to be a bit confused.

Colourful certainly, but whether that made him a good man or a good politician I can't honestly say.
:Shrink25:

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 04-08-07, 07:37   #7
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Casino cash: £1045
Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

I met him a few times, A redder nose I have never seen.

He was a freeloader, but I honestly believe his heart was in the right place.

Just a bit thick.

R.I.P.
Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-07, 09:49   #8

Casino cash: £33633
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

I didn't know the man but had the impression he was a bit of an old Labour nose in the trough part of the working class political establishment of the 70s.

At least he supported the right football team.

Anyone see the programme on Red Robbo last night?
Old 04-08-07, 10:04   #9
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Casino cash: £1045
Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Damn I missed it!

Was it good?

Is it on again?
Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-07, 12:18   #10

Casino cash: £17820
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

I was on a plane at the same time as him a long time ago, we were coming back from London - not together you understand - and the take off was delayed. Brown couldnt help putting his tuppence worth in and started ranting at the top of his voice about the delay being because we were heading for Edinburgh and how the airline was treating us like second class citizens because we were scottish. I've never felt embarrassed to be Scottish except for that one time. He may have been a decent politician, I dont know, and he may have been up for a jolly jape but he was an ignorant **** imo.

Old 04-08-07, 12:20   #11

Casino cash: £4031

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
At least he supported the right football team.
It has been established above, he didn't.
Old 04-08-07, 13:06   #12

Casino cash: £19404

used to see him in Speirs pub at golden acre. Seemed like a decent enough sort, although I'd probably not agree with all his politics.

RIP
egb_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-07, 17:51   #13

Casino cash: £5931
vCash: 25700

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
used to see him in Speirs pub at golden acre. Seemed like a decent enough sort, although I'd probably not agree with all his politics.

RIP
got barred from Speirs for harassing staff and being an all round cant!

prior to that i'd only heard good things.
Old 04-08-07, 21:36   #14
Charlie Stretch Brown radge

Casino cash: £4340
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 5 pennywellhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Knew Ron well having worked on various things with him from the right to work marches through to the poll tax and will say he was a bit of a jack the lad but was also the most hard working political activist I have known. Himself and his wonderfull wife May were hard working working class people who stood up for their class and strived too help the underpriveleged of Leith and anywhere else for that matter to improve their lifes. some say that May was the brains and Ron was the brawn and theyare not too far of the mark as for his team it was not really an issue he was not too bothered about football and like most politicians was a hibs man when he needed too be and a yam for the same reasons.
RIP

RON & MAY

IF WE ALL SPIT TOGETHER WE WOULD DROWN THE BASTARDS

one of rons favourite sayings

Get out of the way Stretch we cant see him
pennywellhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-07, 01:06   #15

Casino cash: £530

I have known Ron for years and he was never a freeloader or snout in the trough kind off guy. Irrespective of your political opinions his heart was definitely in the right place(if you where on the left). Any errors of judgement probably tended to be in the alcohol induced social sphere rather than for political or personal gain.

PQ123
pq123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-07, 10:54   #16

Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by sKipper View Post
It has been established above, he didn't.
Hell mend him, then.
Old 07-08-07, 20:06   #17

Casino cash: £490

Hell mend him, then.
I definately know one of his sons is a big Hibs fan and see him at ER all the time
Old 08-08-07, 08:28   #18

Originally Posted by ERIN HIBEE View Post
I definately know one of his sons is a big Hibs fan and see him at ER all the time
Evolution in action, that is.
Old 08-08-07, 12:04   #19

Casino cash: £490

Evolution in action, that is.
Old 08-08-07, 12:37   #20
Tea Totalled Radge

Casino cash: £4325
Rep Power: 4 Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Ron Brown was a Jambo?!?!

Shockerooney

Always thought he was a Hibee like his son Gavin.
Old 08-08-07, 13:45   #21

Casino cash: £19404

here's the view from the other end of politics

btw what is it with these 'characters' of the left, and their penchant for all kinds of despotery and completely wonky sense of moral equivalence:

"Ron Brown, who died on Friday aged 67, was a highly eccentric Labour MP for Edinburgh Leith from 1979 to 1992, and his antics at Westminster were such that he was suspended three times by the Speaker and once by the parliamentary party.

Brown's political philosophy was anarchistic, republican and driven by the notion of class warfare. Typical of what used to be called "the Loony Left", he once called himself "the sort of Labour MP Kinnock doesn't want around."

Foreign affairs were not his strong suit. Soon after being elected Brown appointed himself an apologist for what were then considered some of the world's most unsavoury regimes, notably Libya, Afghanistan and North Korea, becoming a regular guest of their governments.

He seemed to be on particularly friendly terms with Col Gaddafi of Libya, and it is true that he was able to help secure the release of three British political detainees where ordinary diplomatic methods had failed.

But when, in 1984, WPC Yvonne Fletcher was shot dead in St James's Square by a gunman inside the Libyan embassy, Brown's reaction was to remark: "No one, least of all me, condones violence… but… until we know the full facts we cannot say anything."

Brown found the atmosphere in Afghanistan at the height of Soviet oppression "relaxed and informal" (he was vice-president of the British-Soviet Friendship Society); and he urged Britain to recognise "liberal" Albania. Once, in a Commons debate about the Middle East, he ventured: "Saddam Hussein can't be all that bad if he hates Thatcherism."

more...
egb_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-07, 15:13   #22

I wonder what kind of country we would be living in if self appointed men of the people with such a leaning towards despots actually were in control.

Why are some members of the left so keen on a fascist like Saddam?
Old 09-08-07, 00:22   #23

Casino cash: £550

Labour MP for Edinburgh Leith from 1979 to 1992

He may not have been one of yours Col but he was obviously one of theirs. Men of the people that is.
To cast a dash at Reikie's cross;
mbcregal is offline   Reply With Quote