Old 03-08-07, 15:59   #1

L reilly jnr is on the way to a first team debut
Hun tops

am just back from Syke and have never seen so many Hun tops worn there anyone from 2 to 92 seems to be wearing them and in the only sports shop in Portree there was no sign of any football tops for sale there so they must send off for them , spoiiled an other wise good holiday
L reilly jnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 17:19   #2

doontheslope70 hasnae upset anyone -yet
Re: Hun tops

We have to sound out Lanark Hibs, he obviously is having an impact up there.

LANARK WHAT IS HAPPENING?
doontheslope70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 17:26   #3
Old School Radge

hixxy220 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by L reilly jnr View Post
am just back from Syke and have never seen so many Hun tops worn there anyone from 2 to 92 seems to be wearing them and in the only sports shop in Portree there was no sign of any football tops for sale there so they must send off for them , spoiiled an other wise good holiday
When i was in Portree all i saw was Preachers in the wee square ranting and raving in gaelic, they were all queued up waiting there turn to rant..... very surreal.

Beautiful island though, Cuillens and the like.
Old 03-08-07, 17:32   #4

Originally Posted by doontheslope70 View Post
We have to sound out Lanark Hibs, he obviously is having an impact up there.

LANARK WHAT IS HAPPENING?

Where IS Lanark when you need him???
Old 03-08-07, 18:48   #5

Euskal Hibernia is on the way to a first team debut

Barra on the other hand is full of kids in Celtic tops. I was greeted by a large tricolour at the harbour as i got off the ferry. Only Catholic island I believe.
Euskal Hibernia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-07, 13:44   #6

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by scaredyhibby View Post
Where IS Lanark when you need him???
Missed this thread until now. Well I am sitting in my office ahead of the game with my Hibs jersey on. Only issue is I work from home so the hun hoards can't see me....yet.

I will be wearing it with pride tonight in The Misty hotel.

There will be other Hibees in various parts of the island doing the same.

As mentioned on another thread there are quite a few Hibees up here.
Old 06-08-07, 15:00   #7

gun ainm is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by hixxy220 View Post
When i was in Portree all i saw was Preachers in the wee square ranting and raving in gaelic
imagine the temerity to rant in another language - they're own to boot!
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-07, 15:07   #8

Originally Posted by Euskal Hibernia View Post
Barra on the other hand is full of kids in Celtic tops. I was greeted by a large tricolour at the harbour as i got off the ferry. Only Catholic island I believe.
not that an island can be catholic but i know what you mean - given that definition Eriskay, South Uist and possibly Canna can be added to your list. Benbecula is border country!

you're right about Barra and celtic tops though, still I've converted at least one of them to the Hibees and am working on my nes there now.
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
Old 06-08-07, 15:09   #9

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs View Post
As mentioned on another thread there are quite a few Hibees up here.
and a few here (lewis) too - I know of at least 6 different hibees (all locals) but only 2 gunts
Old 06-08-07, 17:32   #10
Look Left Look Radge

Glenelghibee is on the way to a first team debut

Skye is a shit hole. So unwelcoming, full of little ****s too, most of Portree are people who have moved up from Glasgow too. It's not just Skye, on the mainland its hard to find someone who dosent support the Auld firm,and they never seem to change there tops, they wear them to do everything. Only know about 5 or 6 hibees from the mainland and Skye up heer.
Old 06-08-07, 17:54   #11

Originally Posted by theselkie View Post
imagine the temerity to rant in another language - they're own to boot!
At least in Lewis Gaelic still prevails. Here sadly the game is up and it has gone in a generation. My wife's grandmother could barely speak English, now I am not defending that but the norm now is if one person does not have the gaelic everyone speaks english "out of respect." It has killed the language.
Old 06-08-07, 17:56   #12

Originally Posted by Glenelghibee View Post
Skye is a shit hole. So unwelcoming, full of little ****s too, most of Portree are people who have moved up from Glasgow too.
Absolute rubbish. What do you base that on.
Old 06-08-07, 18:15   #13
Look Left Look Radge

Well from my Grandad working and living there for many years, working in a bar in Portree, and working in the pub in Dunvegan the misty..From going to these pubs with him and not noing the accent, but most were glaswegian, and now alot of the people i know from Portree way have moved from Glasgow. As for unwelcoming, they cause hassle, try to fight with there own shadows me goiing out there after football matches and them wanting to fight cause you play for the other team, or cause we are from the mainland? Defend that one pal?
Old 06-08-07, 18:21   #14

Well from my Grandad working and living there for many years, working in a bar in Portree, and working in the pub in Dunvegan the misty..From going to these pubs with him and not noing the accent, but most were glaswegian, and now alot of the people i know from Portree way have moved from Glasgow. As for unwelcoming, they cause hassle, try to fight with there own shadows me goiing out there after football matches and them wanting to fight cause you play for the other team, or cause we are from the mainland? Defend that one pal?
I think you have something of an attitude problem. Now quite how you ended up working in the misty when you were 17 or younger.

It is easy to check the ethnic origin of most folk from here on the census and actually the biggest group at just under 50% are the English so at least on that one you are wrong.

You seem to have an issue with Glaswegians, actually there are not that many in Dunvegan, you may know some who were at school with in Portree you but that is more than less it. The parents not the kids and even then they have Skye roots a generation back.

I pretty well know most folk in Dunvegan. Quite simply you are talking drivel.
Old 06-08-07, 18:33   #15
Look Left Look Radge

I think you have something of an attitude problem. Now quite how you ended up working in the misty when you were 17 or younger.

It is easy to check the ethnic origin of most folk from here on the census and actually the biggest group at just under 50% are the English so at least on that one you are wrong.

You seem to have an issue with Glaswegians, actually there are not that many in Dunvegan, you may know some who were at school with in Portree you but that is more than less it. The parents not the kids and even then they have Skye roots a generation back.

I pretty well know most folk in Dunvegan. Quite simply you are talking drivel.
Did I say there is many glaswegians in Dunvegan? I know they are mostly farmers and so...Also i did not go to Primary school in Portree.....as for work in the Misty, again did i say i worked there....i went while my grandad worked there,but if you are asking how i would of got a job in there, i could be a dishwasher, waiter etc....doesent alone mean i have to work behind a bar?
I have no problems with Glaswegians, i have defended them many times of there stereotype of all being neds, when as i have been in Glasgow the people are very friendly more so than in Edinbrugh. And as for my attitude you are judging that by what 2 posts on a forum? It's just i dont like going for a night out in Skye when people want to fight with another group of lads cause they play for another football team, or because a bridge separates them.
Old 06-08-07, 18:40   #16

Did I say there is many glaswegians in Dunvegan? I know they are mostly farmers and so...Also i did not go to Primary school in Portree.....as for work in the Misty, again did i say i worked there....i went while my grandad worked there,but if you are asking how i would of got a job in there, i could be a dishwasher, waiter etc....doesent alone mean i have to work behind a bar?
I have no problems with Glaswegians, i have defended them many times of there stereotype of all being neds, when as i have been in Glasgow the people are very friendly more so than in Edinbrugh. And as for my attitude you are judging that by what 2 posts on a forum? It's just i dont like going for a night out in Skye when people want to fight with another group of lads cause they play for another football team, or because a bridge separates them.
Let's leave it son it is not worth the hassle. Go and read your own badly worded post:

"Well from my Grandad working and living there for many years, working in a bar in Portree, and working in the pub in Dunvegan the misty..From going to these pubs with him and not noing the accent, but most were glaswegian"

I am away to The Misty to enjoy myself watching the Hibs with whoever is in there and wherever they are from.
Old 06-08-07, 18:45   #17
Look Left Look Radge

Let's leave it son it is not worth the hassle. Go and read your own badly worded post:

"Well from my Grandad working and living there for many years, working in a bar in Portree, and working in the pub in Dunvegan the misty..From going to these pubs with him and not noing the accent, but most were glaswegian"

I am away to The Misty to enjoy myself watching the Hibs with whoever is in there and wherever they are from.
Now getting on at my dislexia? And where in Skye is it you live?
Old 06-08-07, 18:47   #18

Now getting on at my dislexia? And where in Skye is it you live?
Milovaig, just up from Dunvegan through Glendale.
Old 06-08-07, 23:32   #19

At least in Lewis Gaelic still prevails. Here sadly the game is up and it has gone in a generation. My wife's grandmother could barely speak English, now I am not defending that but the norm now is if one person does not have the gaelic everyone speaks english "out of respect." It has killed the language.
we know quite a few gaelic speakers in Skye - going to belladrum with a squad from your island next weekend infact. Sabhal Mor surely makes a difference?....they're mostly from Borve and Bernisadale iirc but gaelic is in all 3 generations of that lot. I suppose I may have a skewed picture as my wife know most of them through her time at the college but i'd not thought it as bad as the way you describe it.....
Old 07-08-07, 08:05   #20

Originally Posted by theselkie View Post
we know quite a few gaelic speakers in Skye - going to belladrum with a squad from your island next weekend infact. Sabhal Mor surely makes a difference?....they're mostly from Borve and Bernisadale iirc but gaelic is in all 3 generations of that lot. I suppose I may have a skewed picture as my wife know most of them through her time at the college but i'd not thought it as bad as the way you describe it.....
There are of course native speakers and learners from here and other places selkie but remember we have had a siginificant increase in our population in the last 30-40 years with the island having seen a 40% plus increase in its numbers. I have not seen statistics as to the number of incomers who have taken up gaelic but it will be very low. What that means is it is very difficult for gaelic to be part of every day life.

If I go into Dunvegan you might come across a couple of folk speaking to each other in gaelic but it is not that common these days.
Old 07-08-07, 11:35   #21

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

only been to skye the once and found it very friendly, some nice pubs around too.
Old 07-08-07, 12:20   #22