Old 02-08-07, 17:56   #1

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice
Anyone work at Sky?

The price of my sky package has just went up again.
Who is the best person to speak to, and try and get a better deal on the same package I'm on.

If I canny get a better deal they can stick Sky up their @rse.

All comments gratefully recieved.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 18:07   #2

Re: Anyone work at Sky?

About half of them I'm told.

My son works there.

I think the thing to do is tell them you are chucking it, and you get put through to the 'customer retention team' or some such mob who try and keep you on with a wee sweetener.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 02-08-07, 18:11   #3

About half of them I'm told.

My son works there.

I think the thing to do is tell them you are chucking it, and you get put through to the 'customer retention team' or some such mob who try and keep you on with a wee sweetener.

I tried that but never got anywhere.

The guy never mentioned the 'customer retention team' I will try again tomorrow.

" target="_blank">

Old 02-08-07, 18:12   #4

cheekygaz is on the way to a first team debut

get virgin media or lothian day ticket to get to pub
cheekygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 18:15   #5

I tried that but never got anywhere.

The guy never mentioned the 'customer retention team' I will try again tomorrow.
It's probably not called that............... :Shrink8:......but it's something along these lines. Bit like the mobile phone lot who offer you an upgrade or better package when you try and terminate the contract.

I'll get advice off ma boy tonight and PM you later on.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 02-08-07, 18:18   #6

It's probably not called that............... :Shrink8:......but it's something along these lines. Bit like the mobile phone lot who offer you an upgrade or better package when you try and terminate the contract.

I'll get advice off ma boy tonight and PM you later on.

You sir are a star.
I spoke to some Irish guy called Robert. And he wisnae for budging.
I may just call there bluff tomorrow, and tell them to ram it.

Or they'll call my bluff.

" target="_blank">

Old 02-08-07, 19:11   #7

Osmosis will become famous soon enough

I have virgin media, phone ,broadband, and tv for £40 a month and now have setanta for free:YAYYY:. I would recommend telling sky that your going to change to that! they will change there minds!
Osmosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 07:43   #8

You sir are a star.
I spoke to some Irish guy called Robert. And he wisnae for budging.
I may just call there bluff tomorrow, and tell them to ram it.

Or they'll call my bluff.

Good luck big fella - I tried a few months ago as someone had told me it just took a call to get a better deal - I got nowhere but then I'm not a silver-tongued devil like your good self.

P.S: You grippy bassa

Old 03-08-07, 10:11   #9

garethni is on the way to a first team debut

Hi Stretch,

I believe the team is called "Turnaround" however don't say that you want to speak to the turnaround team as they may not offer you anything.....

Best advice (as per my old man....) is to speak to the first adviser you get when phoning Customer services say your disgusted with the service, disgusted that the price has went up again, you been a valued customer for "X" amount of months and you wish to terminate your services, the customer rep will then put you through to another team (turnaround) who will seek more info from you - and will offer you which ever package you want at half price for 3 months.

As I've stated earlier my old man uses the above methods and does it every 3 months for approx. the past 2 years of which there was only 1 occassion where they didnt offer him anything and he either had to do with no sky for a while or he said he'd review the situation.

Hope that helps.
garethni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 10:44   #10

Good luck big fella - I tried a few months ago as someone had told me it just took a call to get a better deal - I got nowhere but then I'm not a silver-tongued devil like your good self.

P.S: You grippy bassa
Same here fellah...when I said I was moving elsewhere they simply said that that was my decision and goodbye. Bluff well and truly called.

Old 03-08-07, 10:53   #11

east calder hibby is a jewel in the rougheast calder hibby is a jewel in the rough

Hi Stretch,

I believe the team is called "Turnaround" however don't say that you want to speak to the turnaround team as they may not offer you anything.....

Best advice (as per my old man....) is to speak to the first adviser you get when phoning Customer services say your disgusted with the service, disgusted that the price has went up again, you been a valued customer for "X" amount of months and you wish to terminate your services, the customer rep will then put you through to another team (turnaround) who will seek more info from you - and will offer you which ever package you want at half price for 3 months.

As I've stated earlier my old man uses the above methods and does it every 3 months for approx. the past 2 years of which there was only 1 occassion where they didnt offer him anything and he either had to do with no sky for a while or he said he'd review the situation.

Hope that helps.
I work for Sky and know for certain that these offers are not permanent (thats about all i can say)

east calder hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 11:09   #12

I work for Sky and know for certain that these offers are not permanent (thats about all i can say)
Just passing on what I knew, if they aren't permanent now then there must have been a time when they were. It was an ex-colleague of my old man told who him about them, this guy is now based at their offices in Uddingston I believe - he even told him the best day(s) to do it on - though i can't remember exactly.
Old 03-08-07, 12:06   #13

KeithDev1875 hasnae upset anyone -yet

I phoned SKY a few months ago threathening to cancel as I felt I could get a better apckage elsewhere and lo and behold they gave me half price for 6 months. Just mention the "V" word (Virgin) and I'm sure you'll get a special offer.
KeithDev1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 17:52   #14

I have virgin media, phone ,broadband, and tv for £40 a month and now have setanta for free:YAYYY:. I would recommend telling sky that your going to change to that! they will change there minds!
Didnae work

Hi Stretch,

Hope that helps.
See above. Tried that.

Same here fellah...when I said I was moving elsewhere they simply said that that was my decision and goodbye. Bluff well and truly called.
Thats what road my conversation was going.

I phoned SKY a few months ago threathening to cancel as I felt I could get a better apckage elsewhere and lo and behold they gave me half price for 6 months. Just mention the "V" word (Virgin) and I'm sure you'll get a special offer.
See above above.

Thanks for all the advice guys.It's appreciated
. I'll maybe give them a wee call in a couple of months and see what I can get. I'm sure you all canny wait to see what happens.

" target="_blank">

Old 03-08-07, 17:57   #15
Old School Radge

hixxy220 is on the way to a first team debut

I tried that old chestnut once and the boy just said 'Ok, we are sorry to hear that you are leaving' i was raging!!

hixxy220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-07, 23:13   #16

Penners is on the way to a first team debut

Hi Stretch,

Hope that helps.
For what it's worth i work in the Cancellations/Customer Retention/Turnaround department at Sky and there is no " sweetners " anymore or discounted packages just for mentioning the 'V' word! Just thought i'd save people the phone call ( 0870 ) and all that.
Penners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-07, 23:27   #17

For what it's worth i work in the Cancellations/Customer Retention/Turnaround department at Sky and there is no " sweetners " anymore or discounted packages just for mentioning the 'V' word! Just thought i'd save people the phone call ( 0870 ) and all that.
Where in my post did i mention the "V" word...... i was simply passing on what my dad has told me he's been doing for the past couple of years. Personally, except for football i think Sky is fairly useless and would never recommend anyone to join, £50ish a month and your still given the biggest pile of pish to choose from. I make do with a Freeview box and go to pub to watch footy.
Old 06-08-07, 00:06   #18

Penners is on the way to a first team debut

Where in my post did i mention the "V" word...... i was simply passing on what my dad has told me he's been doing for the past couple of years. Personally, except for football i think Sky is fairly useless and would never recommend anyone to join, £50ish a month and your still given the biggest pile of pish to choose from. I make do with a Freeview box and go to pub to watch footy.
Quoted wrong post, Sorry!

I was just trying to give info from the horses mouth, so to speak! Your Dad was right about the discounts, but it all stopped back in November
Penners is offline   Reply With Quote