« PC Help | Wanted! »

Old 15-07-07, 20:45   #1

Casino cash: £5938
Edinburgh for a 7yo

Taking the wee man to Dun Eidann for a few days next week and was looking for a few suggestions on places to take him. Who better to ask than the natives?

Does Leith Waterworld come recommended? Does Easter Road do tours? Anything WWE connected would be a bonus too but really anything wil be considered.

Also a recomendation of somewhere to get a cheap but decent suit and a cheap computer desk (not necessarily the same place) would be mightily appreciated too.
Haruki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-07, 20:51   #2

Casino cash: £12488
Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice
Re: Edinburgh for a 7yo

The lad should like here..

http://www.dynamicearth.co.uk/
Old 15-07-07, 20:52   #3

Casino cash: £3931

Theres always the Zoo.
Old 15-07-07, 20:58   #4
Am no licking that ya radge

Casino cash: £4250

Originally Posted by beefy View Post
The lad should like here..

http://www.dynamicearth.co.uk/

Mine didnae like it There's no a huge amount for bairns that age, a favourite of my laddies is Deep Sea World at the other side of the Forth Bridge. Dalkeith country park is good tae but better if he has a coupe of pals to go with. Hibs do tours, but it may be just on Sundays, better checking with someone at the club.
Cheap suit, try Slaters menswear. Though i don't own one masel

WE'RE DOOMED
brianmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-07, 21:10   #5

Casino cash: £12488
Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice

Scrub Dynamic Earth im the only dude that likes itIm no 7 though or am i

There is a dude on here called Billy who does free Stadium Tours, They are on a Wed and a Fri.

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/sh...813#post662813
Old 15-07-07, 21:11   #6
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £22721
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by beefy View Post
Scrub Dynamic Earth im the only dude that likes itIm no 7 though or am i

There is a dude on here called Billy who does free Stadium Tours, They are on a Wed and a Fri.

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/sh...813#post662813
Take him to Tynecastle and tell him its where bad boys go , he'll never misbehave ever again
Old 16-07-07, 01:14   #7

Casino cash: £5938

Thnaks Landells, I'll check all that out.

Beefy, I'd never heard of that place before. That interests me and I'm sure I can gently persuade him into enjoying it too. He was spellbound by the D.Attenborough docs I gently persuaded him to watch and like any kid he's a mixtue of a thirst for knowledge and a cocky wee gob-shite! I'm sure he'll appreciate that, especially if I tire him out at Leith Waterworld first!

Brianmac, he's done Deep Sea World a couple of times so might be bored by it, but he, indeed, loved it. Me too. That shark sh't himself when I glowered at him though

Forza, I consider myself a compassionate human being. I wouldn't take my most abhorred enemy to Gorgie, never mind my revered son. Hang your head in shame at the mere suggestion sir.
Haruki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-07, 09:26   #8

Casino cash: £21365
Rep Power: 39 SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

My kids liked Dynamic Earth - they loved the simulated rain forest, and the simulated earthquake and the end room where they now have an improved new 3d interactive attraction. There is also going to be an outdoor ice rink there from today

There is a soft play/ball pit for the younger ones, next to the shop so they can be occupied whilst folks browse. There is also a sizeable coffee shop etc.

The Butterfly place is pretty good for kids that age - they get to hold millipedes, tarantula esque spiders, snakes and other creepy crawlies and a member of staff supervises/explains. There is also a butterfly enclosure you walk through and giant tropical butterflies literally land on you. It is next to Dobbies where there is a decent outdoor adventure playground, picnic area and cafe.

The zoo was also a popular one - they have koalas as a newer attraction these days in addition to the usual lions and tigers and giraffes etc. And penguin parade

Swimming for primary school age kids at the Commy is free.

It might even be worth thinking about the open top bus tour as long as it is dry My kids love/d doing them in other cities.

More than one cinema-tenpin bowling complexes.
Old 16-07-07, 17:44   #9
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £22721
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by camthebam View Post

Forza, I consider myself a compassionate human being. I wouldn't take my most abhorred enemy to Gorgie, never mind my revered son. Hang your head in shame at the mere suggestion sir.
Old 16-07-07, 17:55   #10
Semolina Pilchards radge

Casino cash: £735
Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Edinburgh Dungeon rocks!
Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-07, 20:49   #11

Casino cash: £3931

Originally Posted by SKII View Post
The zoo was also a popular one - they have koalas as a newer attraction these days

They do ??!!

I'll be going masel then !
Old 16-07-07, 21:08   #12

Rep Power: 0 captain pugwash is on the way to a first team debut

Ahoy there Cam,

You have a PM land lubber. Tickets for the Edinburgh Zoo which were amongst booty we plundered off the Spice Islands. Enjoy.

Yo Ho Ho.
captain pugwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-07, 21:10   #13
Semolina Pilchards radge

Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

And a gottle of geer!
Old 16-07-07, 21:13   #14
Am no licking that ya radge

Casino cash: £4250

Originally Posted by Zitelli`s Heid! View Post
And a gottle of geer!

You're spending too much time wi your burd.

WE'RE DOOMED
brianmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-07, 21:28   #15
Semolina Pilchards radge

Friggin` must be!

Old 16-07-07, 23:49   #16
Pickled Radge

Casino cash: £135

Museum of childhood on the High Street
chishibs7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-07, 08:46   #17

Casino cash: £32268
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Maybe a bit obvious but what about the castle? I used to come up to Edinburgh to see my family at that age and really liked it. Then it was mostly stuffy military museums but its miles better now.
Old 17-07-07, 14:24   #18

Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

This looks fun:-

http://www.theherald.co.uk/news/news...549286.0.0.php
Old 17-07-07, 14:30   #19

Casino cash: £11016
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

The Musuem in Chambers Street is great for kids. My lads both love Dynamic Earth too (they are 8 and 6). Other places worth a looksee include the Botanics Hot House and gardens generally, the view from Calton Hill, The Castle (but it costs).
1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-07, 14:41   #20

Originally Posted by 1875 View Post
The Musuem in Chambers Street is great for kids. My lads both love Dynamic Earth too (they are 8 and 6). Other places worth a looksee include the Botanics Hot House and gardens generally, the view from Calton Hill, The Castle (but it costs).
I used to love the museum when I was a kid.
Old 17-07-07, 15:03   #21

Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
I used to love the museum when I was a kid.
Its twice as good now with the Museum of Scotland added. A great rainy day out.
1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-07, 15:05   #22

Originally Posted by 1875 View Post
Its twice as good now with the Museum of Scotland added. A great rainy day out.
I've been there great building too. When I was a kid I liked the dinosaurs and the mineral galleries - the stuffed animals and whale skeleton were good but not in the best condition!!
Old 17-07-07, 15:30   #23

Originally Posted by Colr