vCash: 500 Thanks: 22
Edinburgh in a day (and a half)
Almost impossible.
Severely limited. Extremely frustrating. Yes I know that attempting to do justice to the capital in one and a half days leaves a lot of ground not trodden, but I have a mission. A friend is taking her elderly parents, over from South Africa, to Scotland for a once-only visit and this is the only time available for a very brief visit. Bearing in mind the advanced age of the visitors, who are in their seventies, where would you advice them not to miss? Where would you take a pair of folks who will be seeing Edinburgh for the first time and will most likely never be back. Somewhere to pack them off with a memory or two perhaps. I know that some places obviously speak for themselves such as the castle and Holyrood but all suggestions would be most welcome. Thanks in advance. For a few suggestions then: A historical monument A view of outstanding beauty A museum An interesting store A memorable place for dinner A short walk A historic pub
Re: Edinburgh in a day (and a half)
Stu, I've packed stuff into a small geographic footprint, so you can pack in as much as you can:
Full day: Start with - A view of outstanding beauty Up Calton hill for the view - just makes sure it's during daylight hours as it becomes a cruising spot after dark - which gives a panorama of the city, placing what follows into context A short walk takes you to... A historical monument Holyrood palace and the Parliament next door to each other, then.... a short trip by taxi to chambers street to the museum, aiming to finish up late afternoon - then down to the grassmarket for a pint then back to the museum for the tower restaraunt (on the premises - not been but it's a posh 'un) [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] That leaves you a half day for shopping in george st and princes st - jenners being the emblematic destination i'd say
Thanks very much, mate.
A nice little tour, that.
I would probably start off with one of those open top tour buses...let them get an idea of the city whilst a guide tells them stories.
Hop off at Ocean Terminal and take them round Britannia, back on and up to the palace and parliament by 2-ish, a wee wander round the queens gallery, up to greyfriars bobby and over the road to the museum where a lie down will the order of the day. Food at Jackson's on fleshmarket close for proper Scottish angus, a fly pint in deacon brodies and off to bed. Shopping the next day, as egb says, jenners is hard to beat, but the club shop have a good sale on right now too! |
I love Edinburgh and all, but is there really that much to do, as much as other major cities around europe. Im not as educated on stuff to do as much as some on here, i'd imagine.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Why not start at the castle and take a leisurely walk down to Holyrood. As you say both are on the must see list and theres a few museums etc on the way down. It also has the plus of downhill all the way! Views from the castle itself are stunning on a good day.
One of the open top bus tours as mentioned is probably the best way to cram the rest in as I imagine they will include the New Town as well. View of the castle from the Museum of Scotland/Tower Restaurant is pretty spectacular with lifts taking you most of the way. You can probably squeeze a lot in to a day as the centre is fairly compact. That leaves the half day as mentioned for shopping. |
Thanks for your ideas guys.
Bob, I'd say in my humble opinion that Edinburgh has more to offer in things to do and places to see than most cities of a similar size, (and some a lot larger).
| alnewhaven |
This message has been deleted by alnewhaven.
Edinburgh In a day!
0900 Meet in the Guilford Arms for a morning cuppa or choose from the impressive selection of real ales and then take the 5 minute walk to the historical The Scott Monument that offers tremendous views of outstanding beauty. 1100 Then when you come down right at your feet will be one of the good few tour buses that will let you see the sights even more. 1300 Do the journey full circle and then pop just over the road into Jenners. London has Harrods, New York has Bloomingdales and Edinburgh has Jenners...!! 1430 Then cross over and take a nice ten minute stroll up the mound over George IV Bridge onto Chamber Street for the impressive National museum of Scotland perhaps a little lunch in The Tower Restaurant? 1700 Then back along George IV Bridge and up the Royal Mile to Edinburgh Castle. 1930 Back out and literally right on the doorstep The Witchery Restaurant still to many Edinburgh's finest and most historic. 2200 Feeling very satisfied take a 90 second walk downhill to Deacon Brodies for a few drams as a nightcap. |
Listing Radge
If they could manage the walk up Arthur's Seat (quite short if you start from the road round the back), you get views like ...
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. That's a view and a walk. Alternatively, for a view and a meal, get a table on the rooftop terrace at Oloroso on Castle St, views to the Castle and out over the Forth and the food's nae bad either. My other favourite view in Edinburgh is from the North Bridge, well really 2 because the view east to the sea is great as well. Museum - the modern art gallery on Belford Road Monument - St Giles/the Mercat cross/Heart of Midlothian (spit)/City Chambers/Assembly Hall/St Mary's St Hall/Parliament Square (if you can get in to the Great Hall, the original Scottish Parliament building is very impressive). That's a nice condensed area of history up there. Pub - the Bow Bar on Victoria St Store - as others have said, Jenners, although it's no longer independent. Harvey Nicks is close as well if they look well heeled ! Grays of George St is a bit of an Edinburgh institution as well. Short walk - if they didn't manage Arthur's Seat, then a stroll through either Princes St Gardens or the Botanics. |
Thanks Smurf and Brian. Some excellent suggestions and ideas there. Great pics, B.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |