![]() Join Date: May 2007
Security
I'd be interested to hear views are at this moment in time on security matters. Personally, I find it hard to see how airport security, particularly in the UK, can get much tighter. It's already got to the point where I avoid flying as much as possible because it's so much hassle. A few months ago, I was at Madrid airport just a couple of days after an ETA bomb completely destroyed an underground car park and killed a couple of people there. But even then the general atmosphere seemed slightly more relaxed than it does at UK airports these days.
Old Skool Radge
Re: Security
I was in Madrid airport about a month ago and everything seemed ok.
I have to say that security in the UK 'appears' to be moe diligent compared to some countries. One large airport, which I visit regularly (which I won't name online) has a very relaxed attitude to drivers parking up directly in front of arrivals/departures and leaving their vehicles unattended while they wait inside the terminal! In fact everyone does it. This always worries me as this particular airport is a major US transit point and is also used by the US military en-route to Iraq! In fact every time I'm there, there are usually a good 300+ US mlitary personnel in departures/duty free. I get the impression that some other countries in the West think that they are immune. Terrorism knows no boundaries. |
Specky Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
sayin that tho i noticed a distinct visible increase in spainish security at aw transport hubs & leisure spot such as shoppin centres since then an i reckon its easy tae spot when warnins are known tae authorities as you see a bigger presence than the day before ahv been in an aroond valencia fur 3 weeks now, an in the last week i noticed this increase in security presence which culminated in an overpowerin presence on friday night followin what had happend in london but aye yer right plane travel is nippy as feck an i avoid whenever possible ![]()
Last edited by jockney green; 01-07-07 at 17:36. Reason: bein a twat |
Specky Radge
I've been in most of the major Spanish cities. What struck me about Valencia, is that although there are a lot of good things to say about the city, it is also the one where I felt most unsafe in some very central areas because some streets are total middens and there are loads of dodgy geezers hanging about. Near Plaça Sant Jaume (I think that was the name, near the cathedral anyway) there are a few streets that make Parkheid look like Morningside by comparison.
Specky Radge
oota them aw tho ahv found the valenciannes the maist approachable an friendly but wi regards tae dodgy kants yer prob right so cheers fur the tip btw menu del dia is the way tae live likes
I travel on planes at least twice a week and work in an Airport a minimum two days a week. I have no hesitation in flying, I am very impressed with the security controls just now, even though they do cause me personal inconvenience.
Copied and pasted from another thread where I was discussing this the other day:
Speaking of the attack in Madrid - I was in Scotland at that time and know that some people there saw the Spanish withdrawal as a cop out - surrender. That was not the case at all. It had always been the policy of the PSOE to withdraw and when they got into power that's what they did. In other words, they did not withdraw just because of the attack in Madrid. They simply stuck to their beliefs and followed them through. What I am alluding to here is that if Brown believed the wisest course of action was to gradually withdraw from Iraq over the next couple of years then he should not change that view just because of this week's incidents. One of the differences however, is that a huge majority of Spaniards were against Spain having any involvement in the Iraq war and that was not, and maybe still isn't, the case in Britain. Perhaps you have a deeper understanding of Spanish politics? |