Old 30-06-07, 11:57   #1

Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice
Stockbridge Duck Race - July 1st

2007 plastic ducks in the river
lots and lots of prizes
Kids party in the Bailie afterwards

Soul night in the Antiquary bar

Its on tomorrow, anybody going?

Old 30-06-07, 11:59   #2
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge

brianmac will become famous soon enough
Re: Stockbridge Duck Race - July 1st

Not going, but i may have a tenner on the yellow one to win
Old 30-06-07, 12:03   #3

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Is the Stockbridge festival quiz on this year? (or have I missed it again)
SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-07, 12:08   #4

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
Is the Stockbridge festival quiz on this year? (or have I missed it again)
Dunno SG - I steer clear of the quiz because I cant stand them and I think the quizmaster is a toal tosser. I havent heard anything about it but if I do I will be sure to post it or pm you the details mate.

I think the yellow one will indeed win Brian - [sanctimonious Bono/Geldorf bit coming up] but the real winners are the charities that receive donations :dub38:

Old 30-06-07, 12:16   #5

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Dub View Post

lots and lots of prizes

What time and where does it start?

Looking for something for me and my wee lassie to do
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 30-06-07, 12:21   #6

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY View Post
What time and where does it start?

Looking for something for me and my wee lassie to do
Duck off is 3.00 pm sharp at the stockbridge. The ducks go down the water with wardens in there making sure none get stuck and generally making a bit of a splash. Party in the bailie afterwards for the bairns with free food and disco and dancing and stuff. Bring your kid along dude I'm sure she will love it. Hope it doesnt rain as much as last year so if your coming fingers crossed.

Old 30-06-07, 12:24   #7

What charities does it help Dub?

We have a charity game at harrison park every year and a raffle in the pub
which we donate to the sick kids. This years game is on the 21st of July if
you fancy a bevvy and a game to watch. The standards not very good but then
it is near gorgie. And it shows
Old 30-06-07, 12:35   #8

Dunno SG - I steer clear of the quiz because I cant stand them and I think the quizmaster is a toal tosser. I havent heard anything about it but if I do I will be sure to post it or pm you the details mate.

I think the yellow one will indeed win Brian - [sanctimonious Bono/Geldorf bit coming up] but the real winners are the charities that receive donations :dub38:
But the guy that he brings in to run the quizzes when he's on holidays (and if he's running things like the Stockbridge Festival Quiz in multiple venues on the same night) is a great bloke! LOL
Old 30-06-07, 13:32   #9

Originally Posted by brianmac View Post
What charities does it help Dub?

We have a charity game at harrison park every year and a raffle in the pub
which we donate to the sick kids. This years game is on the 21st of July if
you fancy a bevvy and a game to watch. The standards not very good but then
it is near gorgie. And it shows
Harrison Park eh. I strutted my stuff on the playing fields of Harrison park way back when. Cant remember who I played for.

But anyway, back to matters in hand...the Duck Race helps Stockbridge House & The Sick Kids in equal measure - what with selling the ducks and taking round colection buckets we should raise around £3000+ to share between them.

I might take you up on that Brian but only as a spectator of course what time is kick off?

Old 30-06-07, 13:33   #10

Originally Posted by Landells View Post
Ducks?
Its no laughing matter Landells The race itself is older than you

Old 30-06-07, 13:34   #11

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
But the guy that he brings in to run the quizzes when he's on holidays (and if he's running things like the Stockbridge Festival Quiz in multiple venues on the same night) is a great bloke! LOL
Am I to presume that other bloke is you?

Old 30-06-07, 15:12   #12

Could be...

I have been known to run the odd quiz for Dave (actually over the years it's probably hundreds) including The Antiquary, the Baillie, The Watershed and the St Stephens ... to name but a few.

I kinda know where you're coming from in not being too fond of him tho' he can be hard work sometimes! LOL
Old 30-06-07, 15:18   #13

Decal Joe will become famous soon enough

lots and lots of prizes

Hoping to get down for duck off at 1500 hrs.

Unfortunately wont be able to partake in any liquid refreshment but duty calls and all that.

Dan asked us to come down and lend some moral support
Old 30-06-07, 22:51   #14

Originally Posted by Decal Joe View Post
Hoping to get down for duck off at 1500 hrs.

Unfortunately wont be able to partake in any liquid refreshment but duty calls and all that.

Dan asked us to come down and lend some moral support
Looking forward to meeting you at last [Apart from the day I pulled that fantastic manouver coming out of Newbridge ]

Old 01-07-07, 02:39   #15

Harrison Park eh. I strutted my stuff on the playing fields of Harrison park way back when. Cant remember who I played for.

But anyway, back to matters in hand...the Duck Race helps Stockbridge House & The Sick Kids in equal measure - what with selling the ducks and taking round colection buckets we should raise around £3000+ to share between them.

I might take you up on that Brian but only as a spectator of course what time is kick off?

Pencilled in for 2.00 pm. Always late though

I think we usually end up raising about £800-£1000, not too shabby for a single boozer.