Old 28-06-07, 12:59   #1

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light
How Local......

is yer local ?

Mine is 4 bus stops away.As i have a bus stop outside my gaff and the 21 stops right outside the boozer i tend to think the bus is my own cheap taxi(although its bigger,maroon and seats more than 5)

Are you walking distance for a peev and do you pass other boozers to get to yer own?I pass the Doo'cot and McKenzies.
Old 28-06-07, 13:01   #2

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough
Re: How Local......

I live above a pub although I tend to drink further afield.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 28-06-07, 13:06   #3

is yer local ?

Mine is 4 bus stops away.As i have a bus stop outside my gaff and the 21 stops right outside the boozer i tend to think the bus is my own cheap taxi(although its bigger,maroon and seats more than 5)

Are you walking distance for a peev and do you pass other boozers to get to yer own?I pass the Doo'cot and McKenzies.
I am a greedy bassa and have two locals. Both in the same street, the antiquary and the bailie, I drink more in the bailie and I have to pass the antiq to get there but its all walking/staggering for me.

Old 28-06-07, 13:15   #4

persevered is on the way to a first team debut

Robbies. 30 seconds away.
persevered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-07, 13:26   #5

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

Winston's is just over the road, or if I'm feeling like a bit of a maverick, The Oak and The Corstorphine Inn are both only a short walk away
Hibee Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-07, 13:27   #6
GOING TO PRESS RADGE

Deeks Second Coming is on the way to a first team debut

My local is £6.60 in a taxi....

Cannae say to much she may have her spies on the bounce.

The funny thing is on the way home it is usually about £30 bloody detour via the grassmarket...
Deeks Second Coming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-07, 13:40   #7

stickyRicky is on the way to a first team debut

Gunner a hop, skip and a jump away.
Old 28-06-07, 13:48   #8

Dodger is a 20 second dander along the road. Feck the bowling club.

Old 28-06-07, 13:56   #9

tricky will become famous soon enough

The Four in Hand is about 10 yards away not there so much outwith the football season , cannae really handle the friday and saturday night karaoke making these nights a no no.

plenty decent boozers in walking distance though.
Old 28-06-07, 14:06   #10

The Fountain is 8 bus stops away.
I pass all the pubs in the west port and the auld clachan to get there.
£6 odds in a taxi hame though

Old 28-06-07, 14:08   #11
Radge against the dying of the light.

ELWisty is on the way to a first team debut

About 400 miles away

There's one 10 minutes walk down the road that does me in the meantime
ELWisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-07, 14:10   #12

The Fountain is 8 bus stops away.
I pass all the pubs in the west port and the auld clachan to get there.
£6 odds in a taxi hame though

Is that called Banter or something now? All done up like a fancy coffee shop. What a shïte name to what was a decent wee local boozer.

Old 28-06-07, 14:17   #13
Radge against the dying of the light.

ELWisty is on the way to a first team debut

Is that called Banter or something now? All done up like a fancy coffee shop. What a shïte name to what was a decent wee local boozer.

ELWisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-07, 14:21   #14

Its done up like that to appease to the hoards of young professionals now working around that area. Its fecking awful. Overpriced anaw from what ive read.

The name would make me avoid the place.

Old 28-06-07, 14:28   #15

Correct. Have been in it once since it opened, but that was meeting boys from
tollcross that i haven't seen for a while for a stag night. Lasted two pints and
we were all asked to leave due to some of the younger boys, erm, powdering
their noses in the toilet ala Fowler against Everton

Oh, aye. Go past Cargo too, to get to the Fountain. And will keep doing so.

Old 28-06-07, 14:38   #16

Robbies is probably my local, and it is less than 5 minutes away (can't finish a fag door to door). Sitting there one night however I worked out that it is either the 6th or 7th closest pub to me (Dalmeny, Jaynes, Vicky, Strathmore, Dizzies (although that's shut at the moment. Again.) are all definitely closer, and the Horseshoe is further to walk if you cross the road in a sensible straight across looking left and right way, but might not be if you do the cutting the angle thing up Leith Walk). The other one I drink in a fair bit is The Iona. That's further away but I don't pass any pubs on the way to it.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 28-06-07, 14:39   #17
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

When I'm in Edinburgh the Bailie. In London the Gunmakers in Clerkenwell. I pass loads of pubs to get there - the Union, the Old China Hand, the Exmouth Arms, the Wilmington, the Eagle, the Printworks, the Betsey Trotwood, the City Pride, the Duke of Cambridge - but it's usually worth it.
Old 28-06-07, 14:44   #18

How do people define if a pub is their local or just where they drink most btw?

My criteria would be that you can go in yourself and about half the time you will know someone in there, and you know at least two of the barstaffs names, that's a local.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 28-06-07, 14:55   #19
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

My criteria would be that you can go in yourself and about half the time you will know someone in there, and you know at least two of the barstaffs names, that's a local.
Sounds about right. In that case I'd have about three locals.

Bit worrying really.
Old 28-06-07, 14:57   #20

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

A local to me is when they pour yer pint when they see ya coming through the door.You know at least 80% o the punters names and you can get away with more drunken debauchery than you can anywhere else.
Fights are usually between mates and broken up by fellow quaffers that are not necessarily mates.
A place where yer no scared to sing and dance and make a general tit of yersel.Finally a place where you are allowed a tab and if yer skint someone will buy ya a pint or 3.
Old 28-06-07, 15:00   #21

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about

I live above a pub although I tend to drink further afield.

So do I but I have to pass that one, the Vintage, Whitsons, Tam O Shanter and The Foot of the Walk to get to my local.

My friends have just bought it though so let the good times resume.

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-07, 15:03   #22

A local to me is when they pour yer pint when they see ya coming through the door.You know at least 80% o the punters names and you can get away with more drunken debauchery than you can anywhere else.
Fights are usually between mates and broken up by fellow quaffers that are not necessarily mates.
A place where yer no scared to sing and dance and make a general tit of yersel.Finally a place where you are allowed a tab and if yer skint someone will buy ya a