Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,375 | Posts: 598,233 | Members: 11,631 | Latest Member : martinskye

Old 29-06-07, 13:35   #41

tricky will become famous soon enough

Re: How Local......

Balfours is probably my closest or the Vicky bar but I drink in either Robbies or the Phoenix. If you know the staff and some of the fellow pish heids then I'd say it's your local regardless of proximity to yir hoose.
two of Edinburghs finest drinking establishments, I expect to be in both over the weekend, roll on 1600.

been drinking in that Victoria place in Leith Walk a bit, despite initial post makeover scepticism it is in fact no bad.
Old 29-06-07, 13:36   #42

2 minutes to walk there - about an hour to walk hame
Old 29-06-07, 14:08   #43
Spaktacuradge

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

two of Edinburghs finest drinking establishments, I expect to be in both over the weekend, roll on 1600.

been drinking in that Victoria place in Leith Walk a bit, despite initial post makeover scepticism it is in fact no bad.
It's run by the same folk that run Boda (used to be the Lorne bar) they also run that one on Henderson Street Sofie's I think. I like it, nice feel but feckin' expensive, I've not figured out a cheap drink yet. Although that's probably because every time I go to the bar I see some beer I've not tried before (usually about £4/5 for a wee bottle, that's up toon prices)...

Brainwrong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-07, 15:49   #44

tricky will become famous soon enough

It's run by the same folk that run Boda (used to be the Lorne bar) they also run that one on Henderson Street Sofie's I think. I like it, nice feel but feckin' expensive, I've not figured out a cheap drink yet. Although that's probably because every time I go to the bar I see some beer I've not tried before (usually about £4/5 for a wee bottle, that's up toon prices)...

aye there's a fine selection of beers in there, £2.80 for a pint of Asahi is awright I thought.
Old 29-06-07, 15:56   #45

aye there's a fine selection of beers in there, £2.80 for a pint of Asahi is awright I thought.
That's cheap - although,like many beers, I think its made in the UK. Shepherd Neame in Kent I think.
Old 29-06-07, 15:59   #46
Spaktacuradge

Aye, you're probably right. I will endeavour to get pished there in the not too distant future in a slightly less bottled beer fashion.

Old 29-06-07, 16:00   #47
Spaktacuradge

That's cheap - although,like many beers, I think its made in the UK. Shepherd Neame in Kent I think.
Only 'cause you is in Londinium, innit.

Old 29-06-07, 16:42   #48
Radge Hibby Leither

leither#1 is on the way to a first team debut

walk past the caley,the portland,the vine and swanny's to get to gladstones i would advise evereyone to walk past them too and not go in

leither#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-07, 17:11   #49

Only 'cause you is in Londinium, innit.
How much is a standard pint of strongish lager in Auld Reekie? Becks, etc.. would be arounf £3.20 here, I think. Henry would know.
Old 29-06-07, 19:59   #50
Spaktacuradge

How much is a standard pint of strongish lager in Auld Reekie? Becks, etc.. would be arounf £3.20 here, I think. Henry would know.
£2.80's not too bad really, I'm just exaggerating. You'll get a pint of Tennents from £1.80 to £2.40. Guinness is usually about £2.40 to £2.60. Becks, about £2.50/60, I'm not sure. Bottled beers are about the same. I usually drink the big bottles of Budvar as they're good beer and good value for money.

Also, as you can tell from the time I have posted this I don't get to the pub as often so my prices could be out. I am however still manging to get pished (in the hoose) assisted by the Sunday Times Wine Club.

Old 29-06-07, 20:16   #51

£2.80's not too bad really, I'm just exaggerating. You'll get a pint of Tennents from £1.80 to £2.40. Guinness is usually about £2.40 to £2.60. Becks, about £2.50/60, I'm not sure. Bottled beers are about the same. I usually drink the big bottles of Budvar as they're good beer and good value for money.

Also, as you can tell from the time I have posted this I don't get to the pub as often so my prices could be out. I am however still manging to get pished (in the hoose) assisted by the Sunday Times Wine Club.
Honestly can't mind the last time I paid under £2 a pint anywhere since the Horseshoe put their prices up about a year ago. Usual price is about two quid odds for cooking lager (£2.20 is pretty cheap) bottle of Magners is near £3 most places, and a Stella or Kronenburg is usually about £3. Guinness is at the dearer end of that scale. Bottles are usually a bit cheaper than that (usually about the price of cooking lager). If you get something very decent like imported Staropramen or Budvar you'll pay £3.50 minimum. All of these prices are in Leith btw.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 29-06-07, 20:23   #52

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

shitholes like the weatherspoon pubs charge peanuts for decent lager under £2 anyway however these pubs are gash and souless devoid of any kind of atmos. as long as there is a puggy pool table and decent lager i dont give a monkeys what i have to pay

anyway taliking of pubs im away to my local in 5 mins. sorry if i post shite at 1 am . hate having to delete my posts ive done when pished after i wake up
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-07, 01:24   #53

stevieboi is on the way to a first team debut

My local is about 15 minutes walk away.

Cant wait to move to Edinburgh this summer, looking in Leith, anyone up for a drinking buddie. Me and ma mrs will know sod all people. Friends needed GSOH etc lol
Old 30-06-07, 09:04   #54

Honestly can't mind the last time I paid under £2 a pint anywhere since the Horseshoe put their prices up about a year ago. Usual price is about two quid odds for cooking lager (£2.20 is pretty cheap) bottle of Magners is near £3 most places, and a Stella or Kronenburg is usually about £3. Guinness is at the dearer end of that scale. Bottles are usually a bit cheaper than that (usually about the price of cooking lager). If you get something very decent like imported Staropramen or Budvar you'll pay £3.50 minimum. All of these prices are in Leith btw.
I read a survey a while back which said that after London and the SouthEast, Scotland has the highest bevvy prices. North East England are the cheapest.
Old 30-06-07, 09:49   #55
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

It's still rarely above three quid around here for Becks/Stella/Kronenburg etc, at least in normal pubs. In fancier bars it's more, and in the west end or in Kensington or Chelsea it's a bit dearer. I bought a bottle of Magners in a bar the other day for six quid
Old 30-06-07, 10:29   #56

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

It's still rarely above three quid around here for Becks/Stella/Kronenburg etc, at least in normal pubs. In fancier bars it's more, and in the west end or in Kensington or Chelsea it's a bit dearer. I bought a bottle of Magners in a bar the other day for six quid

Six quid
Was it a jeroboam

I'm on 70' just now and that's only £2.10 in the Fountain.
Was on Magners for a while and that's £2.80, which i would guess is
about average here.

Old 30-06-07, 11:39   #57

stevieboi is on the way to a first team debut

I know the Weatherspoons in Kdy is £1.79 for a pint for most of the different types. Thats the cheapest place over here that i know of.
Old 30-06-07, 12:16   #58

£2.85 for cooking lager [tennants] in the Bailie and thats one of the cheaper drinks. Cider is about £3.15 or £3.20 Magners nearer to £3.50. Even Belhaven Best which is FNW is about £2.80 in there. Fek now that I have written it down Stocky does seem an expensive place to drink.