Old 12-06-07, 15:13   #1
On the Wagon Radge

Casino cash: £1085
The Real Football Factories International

This program is basically a load of exploitational toss, but I watched one last night about football hooligans in Croatia and Serbia that was actually quite interesting. Although peppered with Danny Dyer's slightly irritating cockney-isms (I'm on their bladdy manor - and right off mine knowarramean) it explored the relationship between the firms of Zagreb, Split and Belgrade, and the paramilitary groups that provided many of the fighters in the early stages of the Balkan wars. Put it this way, these people really are nutters.
Old 12-06-07, 15:18   #2

Casino cash: £1562
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough
Re: The Real Football Factories International

Originally Posted by HenryLB View Post
This program is basically a load of exploitational toss, but I watched one last night about football hooligans in Croatia and Serbia that was actually quite interesting. Although peppered with Danny Dyer's slightly irritating cockney-isms (I'm on their bladdy manor - and right off mine knowarramean) it explored the relationship between the firms of Zagreb, Split and Belgrade, and the paramilitary groups that provided many of the fighters in the early stages of the Balkan wars. Put it this way, these people really are nutters.
I watched the one about Argentina. It was incredibly badly made - it looked like a film studies project FFS - but was fairly interesting. Yer man Dyer is laughable; there's no point in acting the hard man when you're a posh actor and built like a jockey's whip!

Gu bràth bi dònadh, agus, A chaoidh faig t'fhacal a-staigh air pineapple
Old 12-06-07, 15:30   #3

Casino cash: £3091

The Serbians are nutters particuarly that beast Zare.......rapist scumbag
KeithDev1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 15:35   #4
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby View Post
I watched the one about Argentina. It was incredibly badly made - it looked like a film studies project FFS - but was fairly interesting. Yer man Dyer is laughable; there's no point in acting the hard man when you're a posh actor and built like a jockey's whip!
To be fair I'm not sure he's that posh, at least as actors go. But you're right about the production values, seems like it's just him and his mate with a .

The ones about UK clubs and the England team just made me laugh. Loads of semi-pornographic violence followed by a little disclaimer at the end to suggest they disapproved of the whole thing - "let's hope England's away games stay trouble free this summer etc". For your sake let's hope not, or you're going to have very little to make programmes about!
Old 12-06-07, 15:40   #5

Casino cash: £17424

Correct. The best firm I've ever seen was in a double page picture in a magazine emblazoned with the memorable header 'Get on your knees before the Serbs'. It was either Red Star or Partizan, can't remember, but they looked like they'd take some shifting. And you wouldn't want to be the gadgey caught at the back - the one thing I remember from the article is that one lot kidnapped a member of the other, and held him for a few days during which he was subject to repeated 'assaults' with a stick. And I don't he was mean beaten. Although I'm sure there was plenty of that going on too. :yikes

That said, the Poles would make short work of them apparently.

I've not been watching this series as I can't abide Dyer; tell me, has he ever witnessed an 'off' yet - or does he still prattle on about the imminence of one, intercut with 80s footage of said events, only for it inevitably to be the case that such a stramash is narrowly avoided by dint of Danny being at least 15 years too late.
Old 12-06-07, 15:46   #6
On the Wagon Radge

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
Correct. The best firm I've ever seen was in a double page picture in a magazine emblazoned with the memorable header 'Get on your knees before the Serbs'. It was either Red Star or Partizan, can't remember, but they looked like they'd take some shifting. And you wouldn't want to be the gadgey caught at the back - the one thing I remember from the article is that one lot kidnapped a member of the other, and held him for a few days during which he was subject to repeated 'assaults' with a stick. And I don't he was mean beaten. Although I'm sure there was plenty of that going on too. :yikes

The Croats were pretty dangerous looking, but the Serbs were just honest-to-goodness crazies. One of their number raped a kidnapped member of another firm on the grave of one of their heroes. They were waving guns and stuff about. Insane.

I've not been watching this series as I can't abide Dyer; tell me, has he ever witnessed an 'off' yet - or does he still prattle on about the imminence of one, intercut with 80s footage of said events, only for it inevitably to be the case that such a stramash is narrowly avoided by dint of Danny being at least 15 years too late.
Lol - pretty much. The international element does make this series mildly more interesting though, if not necessarily more excusable.
Old 12-06-07, 15:54   #7
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £22221
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Oh there you go , bringing the Poles into it again
Surely you're not branding all Poles as violent
Old 12-06-07, 15:56   #8

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
Oh there you go , bringing the Poles into it again
Surely you're not branding all Poles as violent
Nope. But by all accounts they have the 'best' hoolies around at the moment.
Old 12-06-07, 16:02   #9
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £22221
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Nope. But by all accounts they have the 'best' hoolies around at the moment.
Aye you wouldn't go out and challenge them if they pissed in your garden
Old 12-06-07, 19:39   #10

One of their number raped a kidnapped member of another firm on the grave of one of their heroes.
sounds like a naughty away at todders :yikes
Old 12-06-07, 21:50   #11

Casino cash: £979
Rep Power: 2 lewisthehibee is on the way to a first team debut

Did any one see the british one were they went round scotland and most of it was about the css and hibs baby crew
lewisthehibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-07, 23:20   #12

Originally Posted by lewisthehibee View Post
Did any one see the british one were they went round scotland and most of it was about the css and hibs baby crew
can't remember dunfy being in it?

Last edited by egb_hibs; 13-06-07 at 07:57.
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote