Old 11-06-07, 20:16   #81

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: support your postie

iam all for a strike but unlike years ago i would say that about 40 percent of people wont strike as there are so many poles and ethnic workers in the apc

History of "Solidarnosc"

"Massive Immigrants General Strike in US"
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 20:21   #82

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

Absolute shite.

Deliverys are longer, bags are heavier and they want to cut our wages.

We only deliver once a day, but the difference is, before we delivered for about 2 hours, they scrapped the 2nd delivery, we now deliver for 3 and a half+.

We work from 5am to 1pm or later. that's about the same hours as everyone else.

They have already cut thousands of jobs and dumped the extra on who's left, for no or little wage rise.

Now i don't give a fook who knows it, so il tell ye. We get £250 a week and get treated like feckin morons.

We DON'T get a break of ANY sort, no lunch, no tea break. No fag breaks(not that i smoke).

Yes the odd person nips out for a quick fag or you nip threw for a tea/coffee but you have to drink it at your work area, then you spill it over the mail....

I don't believe all this i never got a card the postie never tapped nonsense. If folk would bother to get off there arse from the tv and answer the door we wouldn't have to stick a card through.

Do you honestly think WE want to spend time filling out a card eveytime we have a parcel??? Does it not make more sense to get someone in who's going to answer the door within 10 secs???

They want us to deliver an unlimited amount of leaflets for nothing, when we get 1p per item for 3 a week maximum.

They want to give us wage rise of about £8 a week, but in 3 years time take away our early shift bonus of £13 a week. So we have to take on more work for less pay, when we are on a shite wage. Even though they made a profit of £600m plus last year??

You get abused by drunks and junkies for giros and folk looking for letters that haven't had an address filled out correctley. Is that our fault??

Attacked of dogs, swore at by phannys etc etc.

Folk can't address stuff properley, you can't understand some folks writing, they wrap in brown paper(aye very good) then it gets ripped. But it's all your fault.

they come out with some statistics not that long. 60+% of new starts don't stay longer than a month. Simple answer. they can't handle it.

I have sympathy for folk that are waitung on important stuff, but are we to be treated like Jambos for it?? no chance.

POSTIE POWER

all that unhappines and yet you stay? have you tried being a bat sound analyst, or a puppeteer?
as for the wage, jeezo mate. try being a nurse in A&e on saturday night.
as for the hours, jeezo mate, try being a nurse in A&e on saturday night.
as for the card through the door because folk can't be bothered getting off their arses, maybe if you actually brought the thing in the 1st place AND actually tapped the door.
maybe you're one of the (imo) minority, who actually cares a jot about the service royal mail provide. but it won't stop me having a moan about something i pay for which imo, is a shite service.

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 20:23   #83

Good post 1875 Steve.

From the outside, it has appeared for ages that Royal Mail has suffered from some serious mismanagement.

I sat in on a local council meeting a few years ago when some top brass types explained that they were going to change name to Consignia, do away with the second post, change the way posties deliver and generaly feck about with the entire set-up. The local councillors were horrified and couldn't believe what they were hearing.

I would say that, as a member of the public, having to face some abnoxious twat working the counter at the Sorting Office lets the side down. My postie is outstanding and, although I'm a bit suspicious of the CWU, I'll be supporting any strike.
conor, you've more faces than a octagon.

Old 11-06-07, 20:25   #84

now that is a wee cookie steve..what d.o. are you at.got to admit i would not like to do a walk every day you guys are the TOP boys in the whole of royal mail

fuck me. fetch me a hanky. gone are the days when we could turn up, do our shift, then go home. it's all too much me, me , me in society nowadays.

Old 11-06-07, 20:47   #85
I'm a Pogues Radge

hibbymick is on the way to a first team debut

fuck me. fetch me a hanky. gone are the days when we could turn up, do our shift, then go home. it's all too much me, me , me in society nowadays.

Old 12-06-07, 01:03   #86

1875steve is just really nice1875steve is just really nice

all that unhappines and yet you stay? have you tried being a bat sound analyst, or a puppeteer?
as for the wage, jeezo mate. try being a nurse in A&e on saturday night.
as for the hours, jeezo mate, try being a nurse in A&e on saturday night.
as for the card through the door because folk can't be bothered getting off their arses, maybe if you actually brought the thing in the 1st place AND actually tapped the door.
maybe you're one of the (imo) minority, who actually cares a jot about the service royal mail provide. but it won't stop me having a moan about something i pay for which imo, is a shite service.

I do bring the thing that's my point. I Give a jot, i don't like being put across in a bad light light, when you don't even know me.

Id much rather hand a parcel over to the person than fill out a slip every 5 mins.

Well you point about the nurses. As you have stated about my job. If they don't like it on a Saturday night, why do they stay??? Have they tried being a bat sound analyst or a puppeteer?

1875steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-07, 19:21   #87

next time i'm in A&E, i'm going to ask for a bed bath from sooty.

Old 13-06-07, 22:17   #88
Old School Radge

hixxy220 is on the way to a first team debut

I'm a postie myself at a D.O, i think we should work to rule rather than go out on strike, this will show them that the job can't be done as it's been done in d.o's especially at the moment in busier offices like central and the west. Too many folk not taking their break abd coming in too early handing everything to 'The Company' on a plate.

hixxy220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-07, 22:37   #89

I'm a postie myself at a D.O, i think we should work to rule rather than go out on strike, this will show them that the job can't be done as it's been done in d.o's especially at the moment in busier offices like central and the west. Too many folk not taking their break abd coming in too early handing everything to 'The Company' on a plate.
at last a half sensible point from someone within. 'work to rule' imo would be more effective for both parties. you get paid, yet still get your point across.
when was the last time a picket actually had a major effect?

Old 13-06-07, 22:44   #90
Old School Radge

at last a half sensible point from someone within. 'work to rule' imo would be more effective for both parties. you get paid, yet still get your point across.
Working to rule at my d.o would hit them very hard, they dont seem to realise how many people hours weve lost over the last year due to not taking breaks and coming in too early, it has to stop.

Old 13-06-07, 22:46   #91

Xmas 83 , Only you went straight to No 1
Old 13-06-07, 22:47   #92

oh, you're flying.

Old 13-06-07, 22:53   #93
Old School Radge

i was 6 years old, i was feeling old but feeling vibrant again

Been in Royal Mail for 14 years i think thats what has done it to me.

Old 13-06-07, 22:54   #94

16 years in a job you don't like? you're one very patient/tolerant person.

Old 13-06-07, 22:54   #95

Well it's better than walking the streets

Old 13-06-07, 22:55   #96

16 years in a job you don't like? you're one very patient/tolerant person.
says mr "3 jobs so far this month"

Old 13-06-07, 22:55   #97

Well it's better than walking the streets

getting paid to empty your sack. can't be all that bad.

Old 13-06-07, 22:56   #98

says mr "3 jobs so far this month"

no my fault i'm popular.

Old 13-06-07, 22:57