Old 24-05-07, 23:14   #1

i have a theory

i'm not sure that this would stand up to scientific scrutiny, nevertheless it seems to me that anecdotal evidence does favour it.

basically i contend that if you don't worry about stuff, it won't do you any harm.

for instance, i harbour a strong suspicion that only people who worry about 'germs' would actually become ill if they didn't wash their hands before a meal.

and i also strongly suspect the same thing applies to many of the purported malaises of modern life.

whats the jury's verdict?
Old 24-05-07, 23:23   #2

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough
Re: i have a theory

i'm not sure that this would stand up to scientific scrutiny, nevertheless it seems to me that anecdotal evidence does favour it.

basically i contend that if you don't worry about stuff, it won't do you any harm.

for instance, i harbour a strong suspicion that only people who worry about 'germs' would actually become ill if they didn't wash their hands before a meal.

and i also strongly suspect the same thing applies to many of the purported malaises of modern life.

On the whole you'll do more harm than good by worrying about stuff. Some things might harm you whether you worry about them or not so you're better off not.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 24-05-07, 23:23   #3
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Live like you mean it. Regret nothing. Fear less. Tell your inner Will Young to shut the f*ck up. Listen to your inner David Lee Roth. You start out at A and end up at Z. In between you might as well live at 32 feet per second.

Life hits you hard. Hit back harder.

I'm digging your avatar by the way.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-07, 23:25   #4
Radge McRadge of Radge End

jetsam1 is on the way to a first team debut

Live like you mean it. Regret nothing. Fear less. Tell your inner Will Young to shut the f*ck up. Listen to your inner David Lee Roth. You start out at A and end up at Z. In between you might as well live at 32 feet per second.

I wish I had half your atitude.

jetsam1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-07, 23:26   #5

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

I agree entirely up to a certain point, that point may indeed be when the bus radiator is about to break every bone in my body!
Old 24-05-07, 23:29   #6

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

'Sell by' dates and 'Best Before' dates - loada pish. Trust your nose and sight, don't recall poisoned bodies piled high on pavements in the 1970's.

To broaden your point about worrying about things making it worse, it was said incidences of disease shot up after the introduction of pasteurised milk and when the Victorians renewed and cleaned up London's water supply. In both cases, people actually suffered from the weakened immunity that was caused by increased purifying of drinking liquids.

Keep it clatty. Keep it healthy.

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-07, 23:32   #7

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

I think you're worrying about it too much.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 24-05-07, 23:35   #8

Sometimes you just have to look in the mirror, shrug your shoulders and say "who gives a fuk"

:dub2:

Old 25-05-07, 08:25   #9

It does stand up to scrutiny. There have been studies on it. I'm sure you can find them through a google search.
Old 25-05-07, 08:55   #10
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut

Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-07, 10:33   #11

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

What, me worry?

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-07, 10:39   #12

bugger

to develop Hampden's point - is it not suspected that the increase in allergies amongst the young is cos of over cleanlieness as it were?

reminds me of a wee gag i heard on the radio that made me smile; if you look out your window and see a gang of teenage neds sitting on your car, simply go out and disable them all by spraying them with fruit and nut cornflakes
Old 25-05-07, 12:40   #13

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Digressing completely EGB i've noticed you always have a tidy avatar, there's an anti fascist/st pauli one in badge/poster form with the phrase 'f##k off rich scum' . I've looked EVERYWHERE online and can't find it. have you seen it anywhere?
Old 25-05-07, 13:25   #14

Digressing completely EGB i've noticed you always have a tidy avatar, there's an anti fascist/st pauli one in badge/poster form with the phrase 'f##k off rich scum' . I've looked EVERYWHERE online and can't find it. have you seen it anywhere?
i'll have a look. meantime, how about one of these:

or perhaps sir would like a sig:

Old 25-05-07, 13:51   #15

i'll have a look. meantime, how about one of these:

or perhaps sir would like a sig:

nice one
Old 25-05-07, 13:53   #16

when's your book out mate, i'm looking forward to reading it - well, if that's the correct term; the cover looks suitably harrowing, given what you've went through.

edit: doh - just noticed the 'summer 2007' bit underneath!
Old 25-05-07, 14:03   #17

when's your book out mate, i'm looking forward to reading it - well, if that's the correct term; the cover looks suitably harrowing, given what you've went through.

edit: doh - just noticed the 'summer 2007' bit underneath!
It's been delayed because discovery America won't release decent still photos of me on set at pinewood until 'blood in the water' is shown in the USA in August, though my publisher and I are still harassing them to release a couple early so we can get the book out ASAP as it's otherwise ready to roll. It's been nippy as i actually wrote the bloody thing last september

Waiting to hear from Luath press now to see if they will publish my Jacobite history book. Say a prayer for me gadgey
or cross your fingers....