Old 14-04-07, 20:03   #1

Casino cash: £19354
cbgb weegi heebie geebies for egb

i was in the weeg this aftie (feck, twice in one weekend, i'll be cultivating a sing song lilt by monday morning) and i have to say i was quite impressed.

on a sunny day, they have quite a buzzy street culture going on; outdoor cafes an semi-decent buskers and that. some real oddities an aw - a communist party stall ffs, complete with shameless display of soviet flags - but overall quite good.

the commies weren't the only throwbacks though, at times i thought i was in new yoik circa 1979. all the wee feckers were turned out like richard hell or summat.

i take it this is the new thing that's replacing the bufty boy look.

mind you, if it's poseurs are ahead of ours, glasgow still has some quality neds, who intransigently stick to the archetypal ned look to a degree you don't see so much anymore here. people actually with their caps at that legendary pushed back and to the side angle, and swaggering about like anorexic jimmy cagneys. brilliant.

and feck's sake, the merchant city is like the bat cave, feckin goths everywhere - lads in make up ffs.

in glasgow - what's the world coming to :yikes

anyway. have to hand it to the weegies, they've upped their game, and it's quite a cosmopolitan place. good for them.
egb_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-07, 21:11   #2

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Re: cbgb weegi heebie geebies for egb

Sorry resident Glaswegians but i've been a bit anti weedgie all my life but i was just saying the other day that i think Glasgow is now a fantastic City.

The progress in recent years has been tremendous.

Who takes the credit?
Old 14-04-07, 21:12   #3

Casino cash: £5821

Aye, they're aw class n that no, big man...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MK2PryGzW5s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuiHx9h-htA

No offence to oor Weedgie pals, I actually like Glasgow, just thought it worth backing EGBs post with some quality reporting...

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-07, 21:24   #4

Casino cash: £3532

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
Sorry resident Glaswegians but i've been a bit anti weedgie all my life but i was just saying the other day that i think Glasgow is now a fantastic City.

The progress in recent years has been tremendous.

Who takes the credit?
It has to be a' the Hibby's there now
Old 14-04-07, 21:26   #5

Casino cash: £2567

I'm in Glasgow all the time and love it for all sorts of reasons. Numero uno has to be the fashion sense of their chicks. Every second lass you pass in the city centre oozes style. I'm totally having this early 90's tight & bright look thats going down the now.

Edinburgh Hibbettes should get an earlier train the morn to spend an hour checking out what you'll all be wearing in 2008.
Old 15-04-07, 20:54   #6
Roots Rock Radge

Casino cash: £1101

I think Glasgow's great, a real buzz about the place that Edinburgh lacks, which is one of the main reasons I chose to study there in September rather than Edinburgh.
Old 16-04-07, 08:54   #7

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Both cities can feel quite cosmopolitan when the suns shining and folk are out on the street( a welcome side effect of the smoking ban is the increase in pavement tables) - do they still force you to sit within bright yellow barriers in Glasgow?

The city has an amazing retail offer of its catchment.
Old 16-04-07, 09:59   #8

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Dunc89 View Post
I think Glasgow's great, a real buzz about the place that Edinburgh lacks, which is one of the main reasons I chose to study there in September rather than Edinburgh.
No buzz in Edinburgh?

Old 16-04-07, 12:25   #9

Casino cash: £5410
Rep Power: 15 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
No buzz in Edinburgh?

Of course not, we've got Paul McStay.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-07, 14:55   #10
Everybody is a Radge

Casino cash: £7415
Rep Power: 17 snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

I had to accompany some people who were over from the States to do a gig in Glasgow a couple of weekends ago. They had already played Edinburgh and Aberdeen the weekend before.

A Weegie Journalist had organised to interview one of the americans and I waited with him till the guy appeared.

Weegie Journaist "How were the other two gigs?"
Me "Great they went really well"
WJ "The Glasgow one will be the best"
M " What makes you think that?"
WJ "Far better sound system, better crowd."
M "So you've been to the Edinburgh and Aberdeen venues before?"
WJ "No. But the Glasgow gigs are always the best."

Had to really bite my tongue at that, to stop from laughing.

As it turned out the Glasgow gig was great, but the sound system was the worst of all three gigs and the crowd just stood around looking at the stage, which makes for a really crap atmosphere at club dates imho - in Edinburgh people danced more and in Aberdeen they jumped up an down a bit more. The standing staring thing is soo old.

Enjoyed Glasgow that night, usually good for a night out. Not that much different from Edinburgh and Aberdeen though.