Old 04-04-07, 11:56   #1

Another Priest who's vows mean nothing

Whilst i understand what its like to not have sex for a while (fuk do I know what thats like) this is yet another priest who took solemn vows of chastity which mean absolutely F all.

Should the catholic church simply get rid of this requirement of chastity altogether seeing as it is ignored a lot of the time.

OR - If the answer to that is no should the priest be defrocked (what again?) for breaking the vow.

Now I know someone will say "at least he apologised" (or i'm rather hoping no-one does now) but thats not really the point.

Old 04-04-07, 12:00   #2

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Another Priest who's vows mean nothing

Whilst i understand what its like to not have sex for a while (fuk do I know what thats like) this is yet another priest who took solemn vows of chastity which mean absolutely F all.

Should the catholic church simply get rid of this requirement of chastity altogether seeing as it is ignored a lot of the time.

OR - If the answer to that is no should the priest be defrocked (what again?) for breaking the vow.

Now I know someone will say "at least he apologised" (or i'm rather hoping no-one does now) but thats not really the point.
Least its better than alter boys.
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 12:01   #3

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about

Why is it a rule that they need to be celibate anyway? There are more than likey far more of them "at it" than there are who are stcking to their vows.

I've never understood it myself.

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 12:01   #4

Least its better than alter boys.
Agreed Darren but isnt he supposed to be foregoing sex because God is his only life companion or some other such bullshit as that.

Old 04-04-07, 12:02   #5

Why is it a rule that they need to be celibate anyway? There are more than likey far more of them "at it" than there are who are stcking to their vows.

Dont know Leigh but it doesnt half turn some of them into two faced hypocritical ****s.

Old 04-04-07, 12:05   #6

Agreed Darren but isnt he supposed to be foregoing sex because God is his only life companion or some other such bullshit as that.
I think it would be good for the church if they let the priest have wifes or something. It could cure the problem they have with all the young boys scandals as maybe this would see a higher quality of people applying to be priests as im sure the celibacy thing is probably the main reason that people wouldnt want to be a priest.
Old 04-04-07, 12:07   #7

Off topic but this thread reminds me of a great part of the movie Hot shots when Topper says about the monks he lives with,

Topper Harley: These men have taken a supreme vow of celibacy, like their fathers, and their fathers before them...
Old 04-04-07, 12:20   #8

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

A 23 year old devout catholic girl, on a holiday from university is supposed to have had sex relations with a 60 odd year old priest, a 60 odd year old registered sex offender and a 40 year old married man from Inverkip who turned his house into a shrine to yer with the consent of his wife.

Something really isnae stacking up here and fwiw I read that the poor murdered lassies sister said she didnae believe that the priests story was true. Neither do I, tbh.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 12:45   #9

A 23 year old devout catholic girl, on a holiday from university is supposed to have had sex relations with a 60 odd year old priest, a 60 odd year old registered sex offender and a 40 year old married man from Inverkip who turned his house into a shrine to yer with the consent of his wife.

Something really isnae stacking up here and fwiw I read that the poor murdered lassies sister said she didnae believe that the priests story was true. Neither do I, tbh.
So if the priests story isnt true the next question would be "is it ok for him to lie under oath" which in itself is perverting the course of justice and he should be imprisoned.

Quite apart from anything Else Bobby the post makes it look as though you feel the girl is entirely to blame. Maybe I misread it or took the wrong inference in what your saying.

Old 04-04-07, 12:49   #10

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Quite apart from anything Else Bobby the post makes it look as though you feel the girl is entirely to blame. Maybe I misread it or took the wrong inference in what your saying.
I thought he was saying that there may have been something more sinister going on, possibly involving the other dudes.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 04-04-07, 13:04   #11

I thought he was saying that there may have been something more sinister going on, possibly involving the other dudes.
Fair Do's thats perhaps what he meant. I read it as saying that the lassie was obviously at fault due to the fact she was sleeping with a bunch of men and not just one so therefore she was the one leading them on and not the other way.

I prefer your interpretation though.

Old 04-04-07, 13:42   #12

bumblebee is on the way to a first team debut

How come he can't remember exactly how many times he rode her? He says "3 or 4"!

Surely if this is the only girl he did this with then he would know EXACTLY how many time he did it, but maybe this is just the first one who has ended up murdered!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 15:15   #13

How come he can't remember exactly how many times he rode her? He says "3 or 4"!

Surely if this is the only girl he did this with then he would know EXACTLY how many time he did it, but maybe this is just the first one who has ended up murdered!
Ah bumblebee, havent seen you posting for a while.

My thoughts when I heard the news was that the next story would be "Priest admits to killing girl" It is odd though that if its only a few times you dont remember, mibbe the tip of the iceberg, mibbe he only did it once with her and is showing off to his priest chums.

Who knows.

Old 04-04-07, 15:21   #14
The whole world has gone radge

Something severely dodgy about this story, i wouldn't be surprised if there is more to come.

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 16:24   #15

So if the priests story isnt true the next question would be "is it ok for him to lie under oath" which in itself is perverting the course of justice and he should be imprisoned.

That's what happens when I type up something in two minutes when I'm back in the office at lunchtime

As Rich says below, I think there's a lot more to this than has been reported so far, and no I dinnae believe the lassie was to blame in all this.

If you want conjecture, I'd guess that she was in the wrong place at the wrong time and Registered sex offender, priest, married lover, and married lovers wife are all connected in something sinister.

And, as you say, if the priest is lieing under oath, then yes, it is perjury and he should be jailed. I find it incredibly hard to believe that a normal 23 year old girl would willingly have sex with a 60 year old priest (this isnae river city is it?), that was the point I was trying to make.

Currently working on:
Old 04-04-07, 16:31   #16

That's what happens when I type up something in two minutes when I'm back in the office at lunchtime

As Rich says below, I think there's a lot more to this than has been reported so far, and no I dinnae believe the lassie was to blame in all this.

If you want conjecture, I'd guess that she was in the wrong place at the wrong time and Registered sex offender, priest, married lover, and married lovers wife are all connected in something sinister.

And, as you say, if the priest is lieing under oath, then yes, it is perjury and he should be jailed. I find it incredibly hard to believe that a normal 23 year old girl would willingly have sex with a 60 year old priest (this isnae river city is it?), that was the point I was trying to make.

He has already broken one oath, why not another?
Old 04-04-07, 17:27   #17

Brizo will become famous soon enough

My understanding is that priests were allowed to be married for at least the first 10 centuries of the churches existence and that it was only in the early middle ages that the celibacy rule was introduced (at the Council of Trent iirc - altho I wasnt there).

The reason for the intoduction of the celibacy rule was because when married clergy died they were passing land and property etc down to their wifes and children. The Church was losing out big time and to prevent losing anymore of its wealth the celibacy rule was introduced.What was primarily a financial exercise was sold to the punters along the lines of Jesus wasnt married - this would of course have been a convenient juncture in history to bury the whole Mary Magdelene as Mrs JC theory.

Pax Vobiscum
Brizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 18:41   #18

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut

Seems like the media are changing the view of the poor woman from victim to slag .....so she had it coming?
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 18:52   #19

Seems like the media are changing the view of the poor woman from victim to slag .....so she had it coming?
I'm not sure that the media is driving that, more it is being fed
by the defence. I'm a bit uncomfortable with donald findlays role: ie as a well known disrespecter of roman catholics.

Currently working on:
Old 04-04-07, 19:36   #20

Originally Posted by Brizo