View Poll Results: do you have irish roots on one or both sides of your family?
Yes 118 71.95%
No 46 28.05%
Voters: 164. You may not vote on this poll

Old 19-02-07, 19:21   #121
Sunshine On Leith Radgette

HibeeN is on the way to a first team debut
Re: census: do you have irish roots

Yep - Dad's side but quite a bit back. Nothing really that makes me feel any connection to Ireland, but it's there.
HibeeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-07, 10:38   #122

Littlejohn is on the way to a first team debut

How can any sane person be anti-Irish ?

Maybe they've been a victim of Irish terrorism, or Irish bogus workmen or have been sexually abused by an Irish priest. There's a multitude of reasons why a sane person might be anti Irish, just like thare are many reasons why sane people might be anti Scottish or English.
Littlejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-07, 10:57   #123

Maybe they've been a victim of Irish terrorism, or Irish bogus workmen or have been sexually abused by an Irish priest. There's a multitude of reasons why a sane person might be anti Irish, just like thare are many reasons why sane people might be anti Scottish or English.
hmmm. don;t buy that. apply that logic to someone mugged by a black person
Old 20-02-07, 11:01   #124

How do you mean you "don't buy it". Its not reasonable but you can understand, whilst not condoning, the thought process which is a byproduct of the way we generally stereotype and classify people - in itself a dehumanising process but one which is, to some expetent necessary in a large urban society.
Old 20-02-07, 11:05   #125
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Indeed EGB, that would be like someone hating German's cos their grandfather was a POW or someone hating say, spaniards because they got robbed in Spain on holiday.Alas though, you do get such small minded morons, like folk who think irishness or tricolours automatically means IRA.

A few folk have challenged my erm, music collection and wall memorabeilia after what happened to me in Ireland, but it's awfuly racist and small minded to be anti something just because of the actions of a few scumbags, and every nationality has them anyway.

In most cases I reckon it's 'cos their wife/bird has been getting rammed off an Irish guy hehe.

Last edited by HailHail; 20-02-07 at 11:10. Reason: no hearts at hampden
HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-07, 11:08   #126

Littlejohn is on the way to a first team debut

It's not logical. If someone is the victim of a mugging by a black person they may well end up being anti black. It is unreasonable, but doesn't mean that they're not sane.
Littlejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-07, 11:09   #127

Indeed EGB, that would be like someone hating German's cos their grandfather was a POW or someone hating say, spaniards because they got robbed in Spain on holiday.Alas though, you do get such small minded morons, like folk who think irishness or tricolours automatically means IRA.
I find that most ex-pat Irish or persons outside Ireland with Irish Nationalist sympathies tend to lean towards SF as opposed to SDLP, as they are removed from the situation and from a balanced media.

No?

Tricolours flown/ shown outside Ireland do tend to mean that Irish Republicanism isn't too far away.

Old 20-02-07, 11:15   #128
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

I find that most ex-pat Irish or persons outside Ireland with Irish Nationalist sympathies tend to lean towards SF as opposed to SDLP, as they are removed from the situation and from a balanced media.

No?

Tricolours flown/ shown outside Ireland do tend to mean that Irish Republicanism isn't too far away.
folk do make assumptions based on very little sometimes Conor. In the same way granted that some get a giggle when they see a guy in a rangers top, burberry cap and kappa tracksuit bottoms. O r hear what they would class as a 'weegie' accent. Edinburgh racism at it's finest.

Agree with what you said though, some can't differentiate between agreeing with republicanism and 'supporting' the mask wearing chib weilding skag dealing gangsters.

Last edited by HailHail; 20-02-07 at 11:24.
HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-07, 11:18   #129

I usually find it means that a pint of Guinness isn't far away = especially around 17th March.

Old 20-02-07, 11:23   #130

I usually find it means that a pint of Guinness isn't far away = especially around 17th March.

Fair point.

Outside the bar trade, then, (where the Irish flag is just a prop) I find that most ex-pat Irish who have a view or persons outside Ireland with Irish Nationalist sympathies tend to lean towards SF as opposed to SDLP.

Old 20-02-07, 11:34   #131

Fair point.

Outside the bar trade, then, (where the Irish flag is just a prop) I find that most ex-pat Irish who have a view or persons outside Ireland with Irish Nationalist sympathies tend to lean towards SF as opposed to SDLP.
Wouldn't the world be a betteer place if flags were just props?
Old 20-02-07, 11:37   #132

Wouldn't the world be a betteer place if flags were just props?
Belfast would certainly be a much, much better place.

Last edited by Northern Ireland Hibby; 20-02-07 at 11:48.
Old 20-02-07, 19:04   #133

To the best of my knowledge I've never been attacked by anyone English, Irish, or Welsh. I have been attacked by Scottish people. Should I be anti-scottish?
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 20-02-07, 20:32   #134

How do you mean you "don't buy it". Its not reasonable but you can understand, whilst not condoning, the thought process which is a byproduct of the way we generally stereotype and classify people - in itself a dehumanising process but one which is, to some expetent necessary in a large urban society.
i mean i don't sympathise, because it's not a rational response. sure i can see why it happens, but i'm not going to condone it - that sort of thing is the basis of most prejudice.

i agree it doesn't literally make some 'insane' but i'm sure Al was using a colloquial way and he'd be happy to substitute 'irrational' which would be absolutely true.
Old 21-02-07, 23:12   #135
Radge against the dying of the light.

ELWisty is on the way to a first team debut

My dad's side of the family is Irish, from Co Mayo: Ballina, Crossmolina, Westport, Achill. I spent most of my summers as an ankle-biter on the Curraune peninsula - some of the most spectacular scenery I've ever come across.

My mum's side of the family is a mixture of Scots presbyterian and English episcopalian, so - like everyone, if you go back far enough - I'm a mongrel.

As far as religion goes, I was raised a catholic and am now an agnostic. I have views about Irish politcs as well, but none of that's got anything to do with me being a hibby.
ELWisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-07, 14:41   #136

Bill Oddies Beard has a spectacular aura aboutBill Oddies Beard has a spectacular aura about

Aye. faithers ma was from a wee toon in County Down.

Bill Oddies Beard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-07, 21:41   #137

mick1875 is on the way to a first team debut

My Dads from Swinford, Co Mayo My mum is from Roscommon I have 4 sisters and 1 brother all born In yorkshire we would consider ourselves Yorkshire rather than English. We tend to be anti central Government rather then anti anyone else. None of my Family supported Hibs at anytime in their lives. My Father taught us respect for all people and said social conditions/situations make people bad and I for 1 believe him. But he forgot about oil though.Remember Guy Fawkes was a Yorkshireman
mick1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-07, 22:47   #138

My Dads from Swinford, Co Mayo My mum is from Roscommon I have 4 sisters and 1 brother all born In yorkshire we would consider ourselves Yorkshire rather than English. We tend to be anti central Government rather then anti anyone else. None of my Family supported Hibs at anytime in their lives. My Father taught us respect for all people and said social conditions/situations make people bad and I for 1 believe him. But he forgot about oil though.Remember Guy Fawkes was a Yorkshireman
Eeeee by eck am gonna blow that parliament reet up once av ett me black puddin

Do you live near Barnstoneworth
Old 11-03-07, 23:02   #139

........... we would consider ourselves Yorkshire rather than English. ............
are you sure?
Old 11-03-07, 23:20   #140

Harry the Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

On my mum's side yes, and I'm proud of it.

Erin Go Bragh!!
Harry the Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-07, 23:20