Boys From The County Hell
was through at the Pogues gig at the Glasgow Academy last night, was pretty wrecked but the gig was a feckin cracker, as usual they came on stage to the strains of Straight to Hell and there was a healthy buzz about the place, the band is tight and Shane McGowan held it together awright although he periodically left the stage. His voice is ravaged but if fits the Pogues music and I never noticed him miss any lyrics, Set included Streams of Whisky, Turkish Song of the Damned, Dirty Old Town, Rainy Night in Soho, Boys from the County Hell , Sally Maclennane, Fiesta, Repeal the Licensing Laws, A Pair of Brown Eyes, Broad Majestic Shannon, Kitty, Body of an American, White City, Bottle of Smoke, Fairytale of New York.
7/10
Not Really All That Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
Re: Boys From The County Hell
Had intended to go - but nobody would go with me on a school night!
Glad someone enjoyed it! |
![]() Join Date: Nov 2003
I went to a Pogues gig there in 2001. Was alright but far too many plastic paddies with their Celtic tops on.
One soapdodger, on hearing "Shane MacGowan is the king of kings" being sung, turned to me and said "Aye, we aw ken whae that is..." and before he could say "Henrik" I'd replied with "Franck Sauzee". He wasn't too impressed. |
I'm a Pogues Radge
Glad to know some one else appreciates good music.. When i went to Pogues gigs many years(the eighties)ago i always had my away white Hibs top on with the Pogues Shamrock on the back of it.. My mate was a printer so he screen printed it on Hibs top.. Magic.. Concerts were awsome then..
Only seem them once (one of the 4 support acts at the U2 gig in 87) and quite frankly I thought they sucked.
Saw them in Brixton a few years back.
Shane McGowan lives about a pub in Highgate and drinks/sleeps in the pub each night. His tipple is now a pint of Martini rather than a pint of vodka - so he's on a health kick!!
Saw McGowan and the Popes at the Corn Exchange a few years ago, nobody thought he was gonna turn up as he had been seen pished on dalry road earlier that morning. Quality gig, but bit of a nasty atmosphere and a few confrontations between hibs and celtic fans, stemming from the common tramp belief that they can start singing about Larson/protestants etc when presented with any sight or sound remotely irish.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
I was also at the Pogues gig Tuesday night, got feckin hammered and was in the mosh for most of the gig. It's astonishing Shane canny talk properly but he sings quite clearly, Gig was superb but I hate all that Celtic pish from the crowd. had a day from the county hell at work on Wednesday due to a massive hangover but all worth it!