Old 18-11-06, 02:54   #1
Ali
Clash City Radger

Casino cash: £1563
Mac Advice Required!

I know there's a few Mac users on the Bounce, and I'm hoping that one of you will be able to help me. Up until recently, I was able to listen to Hibs games on Radio Hibs and Radio Scotland, but recently, for some reason, I can't get either to work. I'm still able to watch (and listen to!) the webcasts on Hibs Interactive, but that doesn't help much for away games. Every time I try to log on to either of the radio stations, I get error messages saying I don't have the relevant plug-ins. My wife, who understands Macs more than I do (which isn't hard, to be honest) has tried to sort out the plug ins, but to no avail. She tried to get the radio working on her mac at the office and had the same problem. Does anyone have any idea why the internet radio might not be getting through and what I can do to sort it (apart from buying a PC obviously).

Thanks in advance!
Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-06, 10:50   #2

Casino cash: £5821
Re: Mac Advice Required!

Originally Posted by Ali View Post
I know there's a few Mac users on the Bounce, and I'm hoping that one of you will be able to help me. Up until recently, I was able to listen to Hibs games on Radio Hibs and Radio Scotland, but recently, for some reason, I can't get either to work. I'm still able to watch (and listen to!) the webcasts on Hibs Interactive, but that doesn't help much for away games. Every time I try to log on to either of the radio stations, I get error messages saying I don't have the relevant plug-ins. My wife, who understands Macs more than I do (which isn't hard, to be honest) has tried to sort out the plug ins, but to no avail. She tried to get the radio working on her mac at the office and had the same problem. Does anyone have any idea why the internet radio might not be getting through and what I can do to sort it (apart from buying a PC obviously).

Thanks in advance!

What browser are you using?

Firefox will sort out those issues. It's free too.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-06, 13:01   #3
Ali
Clash City Radger

Originally Posted by Brainwrong View Post
What browser are you using?

Firefox will sort out those issues. It's free too.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
It's firefox I use.
Old 18-11-06, 13:36   #4

vCash: 2107656167

Have you links to the radio sites? Trying the problem might give a clue as to the source of the problem.

CHICO!

Ewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-06, 16:01   #5

Casino cash: £1917

dont know what the problem is but i can confirm i have no problems listening on my mac - try downloading the latest version of realplayer http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/15540

and use safari - works for me anyway.....

obviously the game is at
http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sports...nd/index.shtml
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-06, 16:11   #6

vCash: 2107656167

Found that the real player on the PC isn't working, but Radio Scotland is working through the mac, browsing with Firefox. The bbc player though hasn't opened in standalone mode though.

CHICO!

Ewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-06, 16:35   #7
Ali
Clash City Radger

Originally Posted by theselkie View Post
dont know what the problem is but i can confirm i have no problems listening on my mac - try downloading the latest version of realplayer http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/15540

and use safari - works for me anyway.....

obviously the game is at
http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sports...nd/index.shtml
Thanks. I've already tried downloading this from the BBC site a few times previously, but to no avail. Just tried it again. After I downloaded it, I click on the radio scotland link. The radio player opens, but nothing happens.
Old 18-11-06, 16:36   #8
Ali
Clash City Radger

Originally Posted by Ewan View Post
Found that the real player on the PC isn't working, but Radio Scotland is working through the mac, browsing with Firefox. The bbc player though hasn't opened in standalone mode though.
I tried going into it through Radio Hibs too. No success. I wish I wasn't such a computer numpty!
Old 18-11-06, 18:50   #9

Casino cash: £1917

Originally Posted by Ali View Post
Thanks. I've already tried downloading this from the BBC site a few times previously, but to no avail. Just tried it again. After I downloaded it, I click on the radio scotland link. The radio player opens, but nothing happens.
does the stream begin to load - ie is it connecting to the site? will start displaying LOADING>>>>1% and increrase quickly....if it does does it get up all the way to connected or stall?

whats the internet connection like - do you have broadband?

dont mean to be cheeky but the volume is turned up right??
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-06, 19:12   #10
Ali
Clash City Radger

Originally Posted by theselkie View Post
does the stream begin to load - ie is it connecting to the site? will start displaying LOADING>>>>1% and increrase quickly....if it does does it get up all the way to connected or stall?

whats the internet connection like - do you have broadband?

dont mean to be cheeky but the volume is turned up right??

Aye, the volume's definitely up!

It is a broadband connection. The stream loads pretty quickly and lets me get all the way to dragging the real player icon into my applications folder. It's once I try to start the real player that the problems begin.

it's really weird. Everything worked OK for 2 years and this problem has only happened in the last few weeks.

We're going for drinks tonight with a computer genius with a brain the size of a planet so I'm going to ask him to take a look at it.
Old 18-11-06, 20:36   #11
An Dún Radge

Casino cash: £1108

A plug-in issue is entirely to do with the choosen browser, not exclusive to a platform-based computer.

So, what's happened is that Real has updated it's player or settings, and for your browser or stand-alone to recognise this, they have to be updated.

Streaming and downloading are completely different. You mention "The stream loads pretty quickly and lets me get all the way to dragging the real player icon into my applications folder. It's once I try to start the real player that the problems begin." That's not streaming, that's downloading.

Download the latest version of FireFox, there HAS been a recent update to it, so if you've not done that, then do it now. It appears you've already downloaded the latest version of Real, so that's ok. It will also be worth downloading the latest version of MediaPlayer, as that's an often alterative to Real, even though they're threatening to stop supporting it. You can download it anyway at: http://www.microsoft.com/mac/otherpr...d=windowsmedia

Just so you know, Real is 3rd behind Windows MediaPlayer and QuickTime. Unfortunately, I don't believe that the BBC have QuickTime support for their online streaming services. Something that goes against its Public Service Requirements.
Old 18-11-06, 20:40   #12
An Dún Radge

Casino cash: £1108

Click on FireFox up in the menu bar, move to 'About Mozilla FireFox' and if it doesn't say version 2.0 then you need to update it. I've already done it a while back, but I remember there being a red arrow thingy on the right-hand-side up beside the Address Bar.

Regularly updating your browser ensures that you've also got the latest plug-ins for your browser. Whether you're using Mac or Windows.
Old 18-11-06, 22:31   #13
Ali
Clash City Radger

Originally Posted by Scoobie View Post
A plug-in issue is entirely to do with the choosen browser, not exclusive to a platform-based computer.

So, what's happened is that Real has updated it's player or settings, and for your browser or stand-alone to recognise this, they have to be updated.

Streaming and downloading are completely different. You mention "The stream loads pretty quickly and lets me get all the way to dragging the real player icon into my applications folder. It's once I try to start the real player that the problems begin." That's not streaming, that's downloading.

Download the latest version of FireFox, there HAS been a recent update to it, so if you've not done that, then do it now. It appears you've already downloaded the latest version of Real, so that's ok. It will also be worth downloading the latest version of MediaPlayer, as that's an often alterative to Real, even though they're threatening to stop supporting it. You can download it anyway at: http://www.microsoft.com/mac/otherpr...d=windowsmedia

Just so you know, Real is 3rd behind Windows MediaPlayer and QuickTime. Unfortunately, I don't believe that the BBC have QuickTime support for their online streaming services. Something that goes against its Public Service Requirements.

Downloading? Streaming? I did mention that I was a computer numpty didn't I?

Thanks to all for the advice. I've recently updated Firefox (it does say version 2.0), I've downloaded MediaPlayer and Real and still nothing. Tina's going to con her boss into paying to upgrade her operating system at work and then upgrade it at home too, so I'll see if that helps.