Stupid Kids Names
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article...456725,00.html
AS IF Peaches Honeyblossom, Pixie Frou-Frou and Fifi Trixibelle were not enough of a cross to bear, Britain now numbers among its youth 6 Gandalfs, 39 Gazzas, 2 Supermen and 36 Arsenals of both sexes. Children, it appears, are in growing danger from their parents of name abuse. Among the worst reported cases are Dre, Tupac, Jay-Z and Snoop. These unfortunates, when they grow up, may well wonder why they were named after a variety of transient rap stars. Should be less of an occurance in Scotland where the registrar can refuse to register a name if it is unsuitable.
Not Really All That Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
Re: Stupid Kids Names
Oh My Lord!
Some folk have no sense!!! Thought this was a wind up!! |
Freakonomics is quite good on this. Laughed at the couple that called their kids after the first thing they saw in the hospital - doesn't bode well for the child!!!
They called him Amcher.
It's alleged that there is a "Versace McLatchie" living in Port Glasgow.
Apparently a rich family in switzerland named there daughter Shandy, their surname was Lear, but I guess if yer rich it doesnt matter......c'mon the euro millions tonight.
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Mind you, can't remember a Grand Chief Ripppedflangeandafterbirth so maybe they were selective about where they gazed their eyes.
Tell me, why are you so interested, Two Dogs Shagging?
I'm a Pogues Radge
Thats why we have pets..so we can give them the daft names ...no
what about the guy changing his name to all the bond movies
then again we could have a yam changing his name to all the yam managers since vlad has been there or even naming his son vlad
Loves a Bevy Radge
the sad thing about this phenomena is the self-awareness gap that seperates what the parents think they are doing and what they are actually doing:
Perception: (case study 1 - the middle class pseud): - I'm an original creative type and so will my soon to be hot-housed sprog. I'm going to give him / her a name that reflects this and makes them stand out from the corporate masses. (case study 2 - the stupid schemie): - I'm gonnae gie the wee un a name that's really classy you know, something unique - no one that loadsaw people huv, cos that would be common, knaw? Reality - equally applicable to both cases: I'm a **** and the bairn now has a name that will make them sound like a twat.
Barbary Corsair
Beyonce
Although I have not done any scientific analysis of the numbers there is definitely a trend in certain names in classrooms meaning ...erm...trouble.
I could go through this year's detention lists thus far and I am pretty certain four or five christian names will be there in skewed proportions. Same at the other end of the scale.
SKII, what would you make of my tenth-grade class which has two lads Dantevius, one Quantavius, and a Hamlet?