Old 12-11-06, 12:38   #1

Jambo Thinks

From Kickback (I was following a google search for kids Hibs tops):-

Originally Posted by Peter Olivers Army
Yes I know this may seem hypocritical as we had Strongbow but while on the bus yesterday I saw two little girls, aged around 5 or 6, with Hibs tops on.
Bad enough, admittedly, but what got me was one with the Whyte & Mackay sponsor on the front and the other with Carlsberg.

Now I know you can't be too choosy when it comes to injections of money but I think it is wrong that clubs can sell junior tops openly advertising an alcoholic drink.
If you are not old enough to legally drink you should certainly not be old enough to advertise it.

This opinion would apply to any club with a drinks sponsor, not just Hibs.

He's got a point. I would like to see the club producing kids stuff without the logo on anyway as some ffoty based stuff for babies and kids has more advert on it than club badge.

What do you think. Has the gunt thunk right?

Here's the thread if you are interested.

Old 12-11-06, 12:45   #2

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about
Re: Jambo Thinks

From Kickback (I was following a google search for kids Hibs tops):-

Originally Posted by Peter Olivers Army
Yes I know this may seem hypocritical as we had Strongbow but while on the bus yesterday I saw two little girls, aged around 5 or 6, with Hibs tops on.
Bad enough, admittedly, but what got me was one with the Whyte & Mackay sponsor on the front and the other with Carlsberg.

Now I know you can't be too choosy when it comes to injections of money but I think it is wrong that clubs can sell junior tops openly advertising an alcoholic drink.
If you are not old enough to legally drink you should certainly not be old enough to advertise it.

This opinion would apply to any club with a drinks sponsor, not just Hibs.

He's got a point. I would like to see the club producing kids stuff without the logo on anyway as some ffoty based stuff for babies and kids has more advert on it than club badge.

What do you think. Has the gunt thunk right?

Here's the thread if you are interested.

Aye, if it's banned for Euro games then shirley it should be possible to remove it from kidswear.

Is it future product conditioning? Marlboro & Camel did this with sweety fag packets in the US.

I must admit I hadn't thought about it too much until my toddler son had the black training top with whyte & mackay right across the front.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 12:48   #3

Ewan is on the way to a first team debut

I'm sure the club produced replica kids strips without the W&M logo on it. Sure they did it for Carlsberg too. Think they probably still do.

CHICO!

Ewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 13:02   #4
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

I'm sure the club produced replica kids strips without the W&M logo on it. Sure they did it for Carlsberg too. Think they probably still do.
They do
Old 12-11-06, 13:29   #5

Hate to admint it Colr but the gunt is right. Kids footywear shouldnt have alcohol ads on it. Pity it ws a gunt that thought of it.

Old 12-11-06, 13:36   #6

Hate to admint it Colr but the gunt is right. Kids footywear shouldnt have alcohol ads on it. Pity it ws a gunt that thought of it.
What about ads in general?

At one point I was looking at getting my wee boy a Spurs sleep suit but the ones they had were like normal white sleepsuits with a massive Thomsons holiday ad across the front. Utter pish - so I didn't bother. If it had just been the club bade I wouldn't have had a problem.
Old 12-11-06, 14:24   #7

What about ads in general?

At one point I was looking at getting my wee boy a Spurs sleep suit but the ones they had were like normal white sleepsuits with a massive Thomsons holiday ad across the front. Utter pish - so I didn't bother. If it had just been the club bade I wouldn't have had a problem.
Havent really given it much thought what with not having any sprogs to worry about but its a good point. Baby/Junior kit with the club badge on it should be sufficient if you want to buy footy stuff, cant see the necessity to advertise on kids stuff like that.

Maybe someone should take this up with ER and get them to produce a range with only the club badge, it'd be another first.
Edit: Just noticed Billythe Hibbys post so bang goes that Idea

Bet you've got your own spurs sleep suit as well, you're just using the kid as an excuse to air that in public

Last edited by Dub; 12-11-06 at 14:25. Reason: Didnt read BTH's post properly
Old 12-11-06, 16:40   #8

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

Do you have to specifically request it?

None of the home/away/training tops that I've seen are sans Boozy adverts.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 16:50   #9
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Toolpusher is on the way to a first team debut

I suppose it depends on the bairns and their age, bear in mind, kids are pretty perceptive at times, as far as strips go, they likely see the ad logo as just part of the overall strip, and if it's absent, they might feel it's undervalued, not "genuine".

I agree in principle about alcohol ads though, although I'm not sure how many teeny drinkers aspire to become Whisky drinkers, being an "old man's drink" to them.

All the more for us
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 17:06   #10

Davy is on the way to a first team debut

I havent liked adverts at all but its not going to go away. Maybe if you happened to be a wet wet wet fan, then the old clydebank top would not cause many problems (wonder though if some bankies were ashamed wearing it)
By the way the yam might have been first to post it but certainly not to think about it. But we had problems for a while in a drug/alcohol rehab I worked in. We discouraged t-shirts promoting drinks but eventually gave in with footy tops.

Surprisingly though I bought a winter jacket for my son yesterday with only the Hibs badge on it. Quite a few had been reduced to £15. The good thing about jackets like that is that no matter how often the sponsor changes it wont go out of fashion

Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 17:48   #11

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Have to say I'm fully in agreement with the original post. I am also helped due to having a daughter who just loves the range of Footychick "girlywear" that Hibs have in the clubshop, which she prefers to the official strip.

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 18:05   #12

SAUZEH is on the way to a first team debut

Bought my ten year old daughter a top last week from the Hibs shop. They had ones with and ones without W&M logo. I asked what she wanted and she preferred the W&M version. Whilst not wishing to encourage under age drinking; I think Scotland's fine national drink is ok for our top. Now if it was alcopops
SAUZEH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 19:25   #13

MagicParMan is on the way to a first team debut

Usually childs stuff for like under 5's and stuff is logo free... due to some logos are difficult to reproduce on a toaty wee shirt...

it's certainly the case with Dunfermline, but then we're sponsored by a building firm and no a whisky... hmmm...

The OF have Carling on their sprog-tops though... shame on them!

MagicParMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-06, 18:15   #14

Funny we were just discussing this.

From the Evening News - this means my son will be missing out on his first Hibs top for Christmas,

HIBS today revealed they've decided not to sell strips to toddlers after they arrived complete with the logo of sponsors Whyte and Mackay.

Although the Easter Road outfit had requested that "mini-kits," designed for youngsters up to three, be left unadorned, a "supply problem" with manufacturers le coq sportif led to the logo being put on the tiny jerseys.

And, while they knew the presence of the name of the whisky and drinks company wouldn't deter most fans, Hibs, in conjunction with Whyte and Mackay, have decided not to put them on sale.

Now Hibs are desperately hoping a fresh supply, devoid of the logo, will arrive in time to keep their youngest fans happy at Christmas.

Colin McNeill, the club's director of marketing and communications, said: "Because of the sensitivities surrounding alcohol, and high proof alcohol in particular, all our replica jerseys in children's sizes are available with or without the logo.

"In fact, all our youth teams aren't sponsored by Whyte and Mackay but by a number of other businesses.

"However, because youngsters want the jerseys the players are wearing we find only a small percentage want them without.

"But, on the smallest sizes, we just don't do it. Unfortunately in this instance a supply error meant our Christmas stock arrived complete with the Whyte and Mackay logo.

"We knew a lot of people would buy regardless but, following consultation with Whyte and Mackay, we have decided not to put these strips on sale.

"Now we are working hard with le coq to remanufacture the jerseys and hopefully they'll be back in stock soon."
Old 19-11-06, 07:19   #15

Funny we were just discussing this.

From the Evening News - this means my son will be missing out on his first Hibs top for Christmas,

HIBS today revealed they've decided not to sell strips to toddlers after they arrived complete with the logo of sponsors Whyte and Mackay.

Although the Easter Road outfit had requested that "mini-kits," designed for youngsters up to three, be left unadorned, a "supply problem" with manufacturers le coq sportif led to the logo being put on the tiny jerseys.

And, while they knew the presence of the name of the whisky and drinks company wouldn't deter most fans, Hibs, in conjunction with Whyte and Mackay, have decided not to put them on sale.

Now Hibs are desperately hoping a fresh supply, devoid of the logo, will arrive in time to keep their youngest fans happy at Christmas.

Colin McNeill, the club's director of marketing and communications, said: "Because of the sensitivities surrounding alcohol, and high proof alcohol in particular, all our replica jerseys in children's sizes are available with or without the logo.

"In fact, all our youth teams aren't sponsored by Whyte and Mackay but by a number of other businesses.

"However, because youngsters want the jerseys the players are wearing we find only a small percentage want them without.

"But, on the smallest sizes, we just don't do it. Unfortunately in this instance a supply error meant our Christmas stock arrived complete with the Whyte and Mackay logo.

"We knew a lot of people would buy regardless but, following consultation with Whyte and Mackay, we have decided not to put these strips on sale.

"Now we are working hard with le coq to remanufacture the jerseys and hopefully they'll be back in stock soon."
What happens to the small kets they won't be selling? Maybe the Dnipro lads could make good use of them?

Old 19-11-06, 10:04   #16

They are too wee Conor, 0 to 3.