Old 05-11-06, 10:29   #1

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice
Scottish Parliament Too White?

SCOTLAND’S race relations chief has warned that the continued lack of Muslim and black representation at Holyrood risks creating a country riven by racial tensions and violence on a par with last year’s Paris riots.

In a stark warning to all of the political parties ahead of the elections in May, Ali Jarvis, head of the Commission for Racial Equality in Scotland, said that they must be prepared to take a “long, hard look” at their structures to ensure that talent from all communities was being allowed to emerge.

http://www.sundayherald.com/58922

Is it not a bit racist to suggest that only someone who is the same colour of skin as you can represent you in parliament. Smacks of tokenism not representation. Gordon Brown is Scottish and he's not exactly doing me any favours!!!!

If you follow the argument through, does an Asian constituency MP only represent his Asian constituents and not his white constituents or does that only work in reverse?
Old 05-11-06, 10:50   #2

Casino cash: £17610
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice
Re: Scottish Parliament Too White?

t
Originally Posted by Colr View Post
SCOTLAND’S race relations chief has warned that the continued lack of Muslim and black representation at Holyrood risks creating a country riven by racial tensions and violence on a par with last year’s Paris riots.

In a stark warning to all of the political parties ahead of the elections in May, Ali Jarvis, head of the Commission for Racial Equality in Scotland, said that they must be prepared to take a “long, hard look” at their structures to ensure that talent from all communities was being allowed to emerge.

http://www.sundayherald.com/58922

Is it not a bit racist to suggest that only someone who is the same colour of skin as you can represent you in parliament. Smacks of tokenism not representation. Gordon Brown is Scottish and he's not exactly doing me any favours!!!!

If you follow the argument through, does an Asian constituency MP only represent his Asian constituents and not his white constituents or does that only work in reverse?
Its all nanny sate pish - you need to have x number of women/muslims/jews/blacks et al otherwise you are in danger of...................................................fill in the blank space to suit.

If a muslim candidate came up for election and he seemed the best candidate people would vote for him surely I know it wouldnt make a blind bit of difference to me who he or she was as long as they did a good job. Maybe I'm being altruistic there, maybe not.

If Holyrood is forced to take on extra muslims or blacks for the sake of numbers is there not a danger that "anyone will do" just so the books are balanced, thought we lived in a democracy.

Old 05-11-06, 10:56   #3
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23241
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Whatever next
Old 05-11-06, 11:08   #4

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
Whatever next
400,000 English people in Scotland. Should there be an 8 % quota?

Anyone want to guess at the "ethnic Irish" numbers? Can of worms. We're all Jock Tamson's bairns after all.
Old 05-11-06, 13:06   #5

Casino cash: £4021

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
400,000 English people in Scotland. Should there be an 8 % quota?

Anyone want to guess at the "ethnic Irish" numbers? Can of worms. We're all Jock Tamson's bairns after all.
The % of black people in Scotland is probably less than half of one per cent ! Asians are only 2% accroding to the last census. Anyway an MSP represents a constituency and not a religion, colour or creed.

There is inverse racism in there somewhere, sort of suggesting white MPs wouldn't care for their black or Asian constituents as much as whites. Loady pysh !
Old 05-11-06, 19:23   #6

Casino cash: £19294

Ms Jarvis sounds like the sort who won't be happy until we do have some racial problems.

Brings to mind something i read recently - I think it's Andrew Marr who has remarked on the massively disproportionate amount of ethnic minorities, gays etc employed by the beeb. a result, no doubt, of people like ms jarvis.

one is reminded of what the quota system did to the soviet economy.
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote