Old 29-09-06, 09:54   #1

What's your 'leaving do' rule?

Since I think it probably shows a lot about a person.

Personally, I never go to a 'leaving do' at work unless I got on well with the person. I don't see why, for example, I should have to grin good wishes to some backstabbing canute when, in reality, I'm thrilled they've left.

It might seem a but petty, but at least I'm being honest by not going.

As it happens, women seem to have a habit of fighting cats and dogs for years with colleague they can't stand, then going to their leaving do all hugs and kisses. Feck that.

What's your rule?

Old 29-09-06, 09:59   #2

BEEFY71 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: What's your 'leaving do' rule?

I think any sane person would be implementing the same rule as yourself!
BEEFY71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-06, 10:03   #3

I think any sane person would be implementing the same rule as yourself!
There are quite a few people who don't, the two-faced feckers!

Old 29-09-06, 10:58   #4
Barbary Corsair

TariqE is on the way to a first team debut

I'm with you most of the way here NIH, but occasionally one wants to see the feckers off or use the opportunity to get in a final dig.......

There is a watcher over every soul.
TariqE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-06, 10:59   #5

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about

Since I think it probably shows a lot about a person.

Personally, I never go to a 'leaving do' at work unless I got on well with the person. I don't see why, for example, I should have to grin good wishes to some backstabbing canute when, in reality, I'm thrilled they've left.

It might seem a but petty, but at least I'm being honest by not going.

As it happens, women seem to have a habit of fighting cats and dogs for years with colleague they can't stand, then going to their leaving do all hugs and kisses. Feck that.

What's your rule?

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-06, 11:12   #6

if there's free drink, i'm there
Old 29-09-06, 11:17   #7
The whole world has gone radge

Hate them, its bad enough having to work with people you don't particularly like five days a week, without having to put on a false front for a frickin leaving do in your own free time.

SoulBamRab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-06, 19:38   #8

I hope to be leaving soon but the only "do" will be me "doing" the managing director.
The fat Weegie bastard spoke to me like shite when i almost got the bullet recently.
Likewise the prick who grassed in the first place will be getting repaid shortly too .
A few others will be getting some home truths too.
I canny wait

Old 29-09-06, 19:41   #9

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

I hope to be leaving soon but the only "do" will be me "doing" the managing director.
The fat Weegie bastard spoke to me like shite when i almost got the bullet recently.
Likewise the prick who grassed in the first place will be getting repaid shortly too .
A few others will be getting some home truths too.
I canny wait

Well wheres the invites

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-06, 19:46   #10

Well wheres the invites

It'll be a free for all Gaz

Actually the Grass is a Soapy which will make it all the better

Old 29-09-06, 19:50   #11

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Back in the 80s there was a leaving do for a certain martinet of a foreman with the SSHA. At the do at the depot canteen the foreman said 'I bet you'll miss me when I'm away" to which one of his workers replied "Naw, we'll no' - you were a grumpy auld c**t". But no hard feelings otherwise, and we all enjoyed the peev.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-06, 00:21   #12

Right. So here's the Grand Unified Hibeesbounce Theory Of The Leaving Do.

You can ONLY go to one if:

- You like the person.

- They would go to your leaving do.

- To get some revenge in.

- If there's free bevvy.

- Yer a burd.

Old 30-09-06, 00:52   #13
Barbary Corsair

TariqE is on the way to a first team debut

- You like the person.

- If there's free bevvy.

- Yer a burd.
Or there's gonna be a gaggle of good looking females there........

There is a watcher over every soul.
TariqE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-06, 09:46   #14

Or there's gonna be a gaggle of good looking females there........
That's a good one...it should go right at the top of the list

Old 01-10-06, 20:40   #15
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough

- You like the person.

- If there's free bevvy.

- Yer a burd

I'm not two faced. If I didn't get on with the fecker I wouldn't be at their do, no matter how pleased I was they were leaving ...

that said, it has only happened to me once as, for whatever reason, I seem to get on well with my colleagues ...

Similarly, when I've had leaving do's I've only wanted the folk I'm genuinely sad about leaving there ... feck the others ...

Lix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-06, 23:09   #16

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut

Hate them, its bad enough having to work with people you don't particularly like five days a week, without having to put on a false front for a frickin leaving do in your own free time.
Me too. Tend to avoid any works social events like the plague.
Old 02-10-06, 00:50   #17
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut

Me too. Tend to avoid any works social events like the plague.
As above!
Old 02-10-06, 20:13   #18
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

A mate of mine didn't go to his own leaving do.

Why not?

"Because I hated every single fecker there."

And my cousin left a job he hated to go and start his own business. For various reasons he couldn't tell them why he was leaving, so just pretended he was emigrating to Spain. When he turned up at the do they'd spent ages organising it as a massive Spanish-themed party. With costumes, and sangria, and tapas. And bullfighting on the big screen. He felt a bit guilty.
Old 02-10-06, 20:26   #19

A mate of mine didn't go to his own leaving do.

Why not?

"Because I hated every single fecker there."

And my cousin left a job he hated to go and start his own business. For various reasons he couldn't tell them why he was leaving, so just pretended he was emigrating to Spain. When he turned up at the do they'd spent ages organising it as a massive Spanish-themed party. With costumes, and sangria, and tapas. And bullfighting on the big screen. He felt a bit guilty.

I like his style