Dr Who's Great-Grandad was King Billy!
er, em, no he wasn't. However, did anyone else what the fascinating programme last night (Who Do You Think You Are?) about David Tennant's genealogy? Turns out one of his great-grandfathers signed the Ulster declaration against home rule for Ireland. And his grandad played for Derry City.
I don't mean to sound like Mr Spock, but it was 'fascinating'!
vCash: 500 Thanks: 138
Re: Dr Who's Great-Grandad was King Billy!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. rents.
Arty Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
I found his discomfort at the whole Orange thing a bit uncomfortable to watch. He obviously wasn't a happy bunny...I think he might have been altogether more enamoured with his folks if he had continued the Highland and Island line.
The part where the couple gave him the sash his great grandfather wore he looked as though somebody had just crapped in his hand.
David Tennant was deeply uncomfortable with the orange stuff that his great grandfather embraced and who can blame him? Still it was very different times and perhaps its difficult to put a 21st century approach on the events of 100 years ago. He seems a really decent sort though, very proud of being Scottish. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Any guy who got to share a TARDIS with Billie Piper is one lucky fecker! I'd get her p!shed and introduce her to ma intergalactic boaby! (But then I'm a chilish geek!)
Arty Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
BTW...what is her real name? Naebdee calls a baby girl Billie.
This was the best prog of the series so far IMO. |
The Ninja-Pirate Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
slightly off topic but.... When I lived in Sydney, my housemate, a Dubliner. revealed his great-grandfather was Edward Carson, the Dublin Protestant who founded the UVF To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. to say it created friction with my other housemate, a Fermanagh nationalist, is an understatement
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land." Ronald MacDonald Douglas |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I like it.
Grumpy Auld Wimmin wi ATTITUDE ya Radges
I have enjoyed all these 'celebs' going back to their roots but this was probably the most uneasy of them all, certainly for him.
Wait till David 'Cheap as Chips' Dickinson is oan. That might be a tear jerker extrondiare To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
An Dún Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 61
But I could be wrong. It might've been the UDA. |
An Dún Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 61
Going far enough, my own family history incorporates Irish Protestism, where it split or where the 'weaker' side disappeared, I've no idea. But it's part of me, and I'm happy with it. Where am I going now with this post? Err.... that will be NOWHERE!!!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Midly pished while posting infringement. |
![]() Join Date: Sep 2006
Sorry for getting off topic again but i can feel a song coming on! "Fermanagh and Tyrone!" But their leader was a limerick man,Sean South of Garryowen! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
As it happens, the modern UVF are replacing their more scarey looking murals (pronounced 'murials' in Belfast) with memorials to the original UVF, which continues the cross-community obsession with memorials in NI. Sure if it keeps them happy.