![]() Join Date: Sep 2006
Who here likes rugby?
I'm quite a big fan myself, until this season when I decided I wanted away from the dull atmosphere at Murrayfield, I was a regular at the Edinburgh Gunners, used to get some good games, but the atmosphere was just awful. Easter Road's truly the place to be at the weekend.
Perth Radge
Re: Who here likes rugby?
not really, been to murrayfield a few times , but more just for the bevvy and day out.
i find it hard to follow the fitba if it isnt hibs To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Nae poofs game
Rugby's alright. Living here in the Welsh capital it is a real social occasion when any 6 Nations matches are on and the rugger buggers very much enjoy their trips to Scotland and, indeed, when we come down here. I wouldn't pretend to understand half the rules (I don't) but a good expansive game of rugby with the ball being passed around well is truly a sight to behold.
It doesn't compare with my passion for football but watching Magners' league games (even with Welsh commentary) is quite enjoyable. I attend virtually every Cardiff City home game (they've been my second team since I was 17) but I really mean to attend some Cardiff Blues games, particularly when they're hosting any of the three Scottish districts. Other sports that I enjoy watching, albeit usually only on the box, are boxing and athletics. However, if there are two sports that just totally leave me cold then they are cricket and golf. All those wooly v-necks, a sartorial sin of the highest order, what the phuck is that all about? Confuses me, scares me, bores me. Not trying to hijack this William Webb Ellis inspired thread but does anyone share my contempt for the lurid diamondy patterned Pringles a la Curly Watts circa 1988 that are so prominently displayed at events such as the recent Ryder Cup? And who gives a rodent's rectum about Freddie 'feckin'' Flintoff? I don't.
Not me.
I have to say I hate cricket, I do not understand a thing about it.
agree with your comment about golf, the amount of rules and 'conduct' involved just appear anal and petty. Just play the feckin game
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I hate cricket as much as the next man, its pish, but Freddie Flintoff comes across as a top boy To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. hes genuinely respected throughout the game, down to earth and gets pished at Downing Street ! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I will support the Gunners on the box or against any other team purely as they represent this city but I couldnt see myself at a game.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 138
Living near South Clerk Street (Newington Street??) years ago so close to so many 'ya' student rugger bugger pubs has put me off the sport for life.
I can't take it seriously until its followers stop wearing their collars up and speaking at the top of their voices in pubs.
if, somewhat late in life for this kind of thing, i feel a new urge to pop one through some hairy arsed lawyer's cat flap...
and if, on top of that, my papist upbringing provokes in response a fever of cognitive dissonance and outright denial... well then... and only then... do i expect to feel the pull of rugger...
Yup - like rugby (Union) and cricket too along with tennis.
No.
The scrum always smells of piss. And the offside rule is shit.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Nope . But the worst team game must be America football - gridiron. It goes on forever with all the stoppages, about as entertaining as watching paint dry. Well seeing it never caught on beyond the states (and Canada).
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Have a Newcastle Falcons season ticket, get to as many Scotland games as possible and have played the game at various club levels, actually think I prefer it to football, tbh. Oh and the totty is a damned site finer as well, Bounce Bints being an obvious exception obviously To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Erin Go Bragh
![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2004
HELL YEAH
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Come on the Leinster Lions To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I was in the Montrose team that humped the Edinburgh Accies a few years back.(We play in green by the way)
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Rugby is a mans game nae room for poofs or Jambo's. |
Not me cos its pish, absolutely rotten game and the culture assosciated with it. Keeps bawbags away from football though. Golf is pish anaw, waste of so many potential football pitches.
superb stuff egb To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Radge against the dying of the light.
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
Dont particularily like the game, but the occasional trip to Cardiff or Paris to see Scotland play can be alright...especially Cardiff, the madest town in the UK by a mile.
sOUTHFIELD - as a former resident of Leith and a current resident of Cardiff I would have to disagree with your contention that the Welsh capital is radger than all other contenders for the title of 'maddest city in the UK'. Personally, I don't think anything in England or Wales can compare with Scotland in the radgeness stakes.
I live in Riverside, traditionally a hotbed of psychos, dealers, junkies, thieves and such like. And when I bought an Echo on Monday its front page headline was devoted to a 76 year old man in Riverside being murdered by a 19 year old at 6.30pm on Saturday. Glasgow gets my vote in the chicken oriental stakes. No that Edinburgh on a Friday, saturday, Sunday nights is free of a healthy bams contingent.
#23 |
Wasnt meaning swedging mate, meant mad as in good mad.I've only ever been down recently for the 6 nations and the main strasse with the stadium behind it is somewhat frenetic.
#24 | |
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
And thousands of in-the-closet rugby teams throughout the world. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
__________________ To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. It fills me with joy to see mosher |