Old 21-09-06, 15:57   #1

Christmas Dos

Its time to organise the Christmas dos agian.

Anyone doing anything particularly original or is it just going to be the piss up followed by enduring the junior staff become increasingly inappropriate?
Old 21-09-06, 17:22   #2

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about
Re: Christmas Dos

No 'dos', just going with the family to Wisconsin to get melted and maybe do some ice fishing. :YAYYY:

I absolutely hate Christmas do's at work, just a relief from routine work but otherwise a dead loss. Folk that cannae handle their drink getting off with people they loathe, telling their boss what they really think (Xmas promotion-down-swannee syndrome) and going home with a headache and going to sleep after tea.

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 18:22   #3

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

FFS can we not get past Halloween before getting into the christmas onslaught?!!
Old 21-09-06, 18:31   #4

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Well said, Burble..........I hate Xmas with a pash.........commercialisation gone haywire.

One year, many moons ago when I was a student in Hull, I stayed down there over Xmas, shunning my maws requests to come hame, and on Xmas day I volunteered to help the local social services dept & The Sally Army to distribute food / blankets / wee pressies to the local homeless......a very humbling experience and one of the best Christmases I've ever had.

I am now a self employed, one man band and Xmas dos don;t even rgister on the radar......much rather take the family oot for a bit of a do..........

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 18:32   #5

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Santa Claws

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 20:33   #6

Its time to organise the Christmas dos agian.

Anyone doing anything particularly original or is it just going to be the piss up followed by enduring the junior staff become increasingly inappropriate?
Coincidently Ive sort of pushed myself forward to organise my department one at my work. The last few years we were in with an official doo and this being organised by the main marketing division crowd but this year because of divisional changes we have ended up with the clowns in the call centre, erseholes indeed.

So we have decided to have a seperate, unsupported, unofficial one. Nae managers and lots of alcohol. Thinking of asking for availability of vittorias on leith walk to accommodate fir 22 o' us tae' have some food and get a wee beverage or two before heading on.

The official one is at Easter Road aswell on the 15th.

Old 21-09-06, 20:49   #7

My work is doing a 'disco lunch' at the apex hotel on the 21st. I get back from Mexico that morning so will be going straight to that with the sombrero and wee fake tash on!!
Old 21-09-06, 22:29   #8
The Sober Radge

Boozy Lynne is on the way to a first team debut

My work is doing a 'disco lunch' at the apex hotel on the 21st. I get back from Mexico that morning so will be going straight to that with the sombrero and wee fake tash on!!

We're going to one of the party nights at the Apex. I can't really be bothered with office Christmas do's myself - but fuggit. Best to get into the spirit(s)!
Boozy Lynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 22:53   #9

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

I am now a self employed, one man band and Xmas dos don;t even rgister on the radar......much rather take the family oot for a bit of a do..........

Ebeneezer Ker Plunk!

I Love Christmas and so do all my family!
Old 21-09-06, 22:56   #10

We've booked ours for The Living Room in George Street. Just a scran, before moving on somewhere else no doubt.
Old 21-09-06, 23:06   #11

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Well said, Burble..........I hate Xmas with a pash.........commercialisation gone haywire.
I like christmas, the commercial part of it in particular. I just hat the 3 month build up. I still have to get past halloween and Thanksgiving. Then christmas gets on the radar.
Old 21-09-06, 23:19   #12
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

I like christmas, the commercial part of it in particular. I just hat the 3 month build up. I still have to get past halloween and Thanksgiving. Then christmas gets on the radar.
Amen to that.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-06, 08:22   #13

FFS can we not get past Halloween before getting into the christmas onslaught?!!
One downside of the popularity of the ritual of the work do is that if you don't start thinking about it in August everything is booked up!