Majority of parents admit to smacking children
I really should be back on the phone by now but this headline on page 9 of today's 'Times' caught my attention. Given the strong political views, veering from the left to the right of the spectrum, that some Bouncers have, I wondered what the consensus would be on this site. I'm clueless with computers so I don't know how to set a poll up but I agree with smacking children (in moderation) as an absolute final resort when all other forms of discipline have failed. Can I emphasise that violence is not something I personally like (I'm as soft as shite!) but that we do not live in a perfect world and that it is appropriate in certain circumstances with children, i.e. as a last resort by parents and by teachers at school.
Ladies and gentlemen, the smacking of children by parents and the belt or the cane by teachers at school. Acceptable as an absolute last resort when all other forms of discipline have failed or barbarism that should be outlawed? Discuss.
Re: Majority of parents admit to smacking children
Fear imposed through violence is not the best way to learn and will backfire eventually if it is the only mechanism of social control.
That's all well and good but I received the odd smacked erse as a bairn and I haven't grown up to be a violent individual. We don't live in a perfect world and sometimes, when nothing else has worked, it is the only effective instrument. Children are human beings too, contained of human nature and therefore dominated by its less palatable charecteristics.
And as a former trainee teacher discipline is pretty much non-existent at schools as violence was the only thing most of the little shits and bullies understood. Sad but true.
if its okay to smack children, why is no okay to smack an adult?
I choose not to smack, its no a discipline for me.
The Dancin Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
My father verbally destroyed me when i was doing wrong, it made me feel worse than my Mum knocking ten bells of shite out of me, i think i'l have a pratice on Owen the day for not tidying his room. You vote good talking too, or a kicking.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Get it done, or no Hibs game, does the trick everytime. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bobby S - you raise a very good issue, I'm quite possibly in a minority of one on this forum but when I read of thugs mugging old age pensioners I would quite happily see them birched. Some may see that as barbaric, I think they'd be getting what they deserved.
Looks like I'm outvoted 'five to one'. Good job I didn't think it was just the name of a Doors song.
Colr - I can't speak for fee-paying schools, I was educated in the state sector and my teaching experience was there.
However, I do think some people are being very idealistic here. Human beings are animals and therefore violent. There is a large, violent underclass in society. And, ironic as it may sound, violence does sometimes solve violence. Daddy O - take your point about Owen, but, while I don't personally know either of you, if the articulate manner of your son's posts reveals anything about his personality then he is generally someone who respects his father's wishes (within reason, teenagers will always be teachers). Also, the article in question quotes a woman who only last week smacked her son after the usual (carried-out) threats to remove 'treats' (in his case a playstation) failed.
Hibsterical Radge
vCash: 500 Thanks: 14
I haven't smacked my kids since they were about three or so, the main reason being that one time after doing the deed (which was nothing more than the proverbial skite oan the thigh) I realised that I did it because of my anger, not because he deserved it.
Like Daddy says, there are far more effective ways of 'punishing' bairns for their wrong-doings. The violence in schools bit worries me more, to be honest. That's not to say that I think corporal punishment should return to schools as I don't think CP would solve the problem. I think it's a combination of a general lack of respect towards 'authority' by both parents and children, and a reflection of the different culture that is our world today from 50-60 years ago.
Clydesdale Bank Premier League Table 06 October 2007 16:54 1 Hibernian 9 9 21 2 Celtic 8 21 19 3 Rangers 9 15 19 4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16 5 Hearts 9 1 14 6 Motherwell 9 -1 13 |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 214
Last week my mate(37) was at the bus stop.As the bus pulled up to the stop,2 young laddies around 13/14 ran up to the window,1 spat a dirty big greener on the window where on the inside 2 OAPs were sitting.The old dears were visibly shocked.
My mate was raging,he went up to 1 and skelped the git round the back of the head. The laddie was speechless,probably couldnt believe that somebody actually had the balls to challenge him. My mate thought he was gonna get all sorts of abuse from them,but no,they mumbled that they didnt mean it. He didnt hit the boy hard,but i for one am glad he did it. The queue was big but everybody was too scared to do or say anything.If he didnt do what he did,the youngsters wouldnt think of the consequences of their actions. Well done Kelly. |
Make it 5-2 , i think so long as its not taken too far its acceptable
vCash: 500 Thanks: 6
Your pal's no PC Murdoch is he? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Sometimes I feel like having a word in some little cherub's ear, but because they're not mine I no longer feel it's appropriate! In days gone by the Kids may have got a fright from a telling of from a stranger now it would result in broken windows and a vandalised car!! it's no worth it! Gettin' back to my own Kids, yes I think a wee smack can be effective under the right circumstances! In answer to the question that's bound to crop up about me thinking is it OK to hit another adult, I would probably say I don't punch my Kids in the face and I wouldn't have a controlled measured slap of a Mans leg in a boozer!! |
Toon Army Radge
I would have no worries about giving some reprobate a clout for putting other people in a state of alarm but the trouble is that the law (not justice) will always fall on their side .. and they know it! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I can live with a bit of abuse or getting a couple of stones thrown at me from a distance .. I cant risk getting hauled through the courts as it would affect my ability to earn a wage.
But you know it ain't all about wealth. As long as you make a note to... ... express yourself! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Stevie Carr |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 214
Toon Army Radge
But you know it ain't all about wealth. As long as you make a note to... ... express yourself! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Stevie Carr |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 6
The Dancin Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
It really should be left to each individual parent on how to bring up their kids. The smack on the bottom or hand may be fine, but severe beatings is not on. I think even as kids we know when we do wrong, punishment is deserved. I let my little girl out with my eldest son many years ago, she disappeared for what seemed an eternity, i feared the worst, but found her after a frantic search, i smacked them both, in truth it was my fault in the first place for not being with them, i think what i'm trying to say is, there are lots of different situations where we can overeact, fact i smacked my daughter when i was so relieved to find her, shows a simple human nature. Talking to them and explaining why it's wrong is the best and simple way in my opinion. Jeez im rambling on, need a clout on the lug.
...and the last couple of posts extend the themes this debate touches on from the simply moral, i.e. is it right or is it wrong, to the legal, i.e. why does the law seem to always protect the violent wrong-doer but not the public-spirited individual who reprimands or physically chastises them?
A wee story from my mis-spent youth for you. As a 12 year old I was walking home after school on a typically miserable January afternoon in Strathaven. A Cathkin cleaners van drove past and ma mate dared me to throw a showball at it. Being the gullible, simple fool I was (and often still am) I did as I was bid, and remarkably landed a peach of a shot right in his windscreen. Me and ma mate were peerless with laughter. Until the driver (who had skidded on a busy, treacherous road due to our stupidity) got out and explained, in the colourful language the west coast is notorious for, the finer points of my misdemeanor to us. I don't mind admitting I went bright red and was visibily shitin it as he emphasised if he ever saw me doing that again to anyone he'd kick ma phuckin heed in. Possibly, the look of utter fear on my coupon saved me from a doin, but, lookin back, if he'd skelped me for it then I'd've deserved it. Sometimes (and with some bairns) a skelp is necessary.
#19 | |||
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|||
There was a decent thread on this a couple of weeks ago (no having a dig saying search out the last few weeks of stuff btw just thought it would be interesting to you if you'd missed it).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
#21< |