Old 16-09-06, 03:02   #1
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Post RIP Raymond Baxter

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/5350436.stm

I loved this guy. For the younger yins, he used to present a programme on the Beeb called "Tomorrow's World", which was a bit like "The Gadget Show" crossed with something off the Discovery Channel, used to be compulsive viewing. He always did the commentary for the annual coverage for the Farnborough Airshow.

Not to mention he saw action with the RAF during WWII.

RIP.

Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-06, 08:56   #2

Casino cash: £5469
Re: RIP Raymond Baxter

[quote=Toolpusher;505236]http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/5350436.stm

I loved this guy. For the younger yins, he used to present a programme on the Beeb called "Tomorrow's World", which was a bit like "The Gadget Show" crossed with something off the Discovery Channel, used to be compulsive viewing. He always did the commentary for the annual coverage for the Farnborough Airshow.

Not to mention he saw action with the RAF during WWII.

RIP.

[/QUOTE

The BBC would occasionally cover grand prix in the mid sixties in which Baxter did the commentary in his inimitable style.
Class act.
Old 16-09-06, 08:57   #3

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

he was the face of Tomorrow's World - compulsive viewing in the 70s.

He was one of those guys who always looked old (maybe the experience of war). Actually, I thought he was already dead so he's done better than I gave him credit for.
Old 16-09-06, 09:36   #4

Casino cash: £4919
vCash: 17000
Rep Power: 19 ©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough

R I P Raymond Baxter.

Another face from my childhood gone. I'm getting auld.

http://stretchorama.myminicity.com/

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-06, 10:15   #5

Casino cash: £5126

Originally Posted by ©stretch View Post
R I P Raymond Baxter.

Another face from my childhood gone. I'm getting auld.
Finally........ you've admitted it. Now all we have to do is get you into this old folks home up in pencaitland
Old 16-09-06, 10:16   #6

Old school BBC. Rather posh. Stiff upper lip. Restrained. But informative.

He was enthusiastic about his subject matter, especially on science and new technology.

He made me think that in the future computers woudl control the weather and we'd all be living under water eating Oxygum to breathe. Or was that Marine Boy. Cannae mind.

RIP auld yin.
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-06, 10:36   #7

Casino cash: £8160

Raymond Baxter was before my era but I was a big fan of Tomorrows World. Their unrestrained trumpeting of clearly rubbish new technology had to be admired. Remember spreading jam on CDs? The best thing was that it was live. It seems almost unbelievable now that they actually used to try to demonstrate complex new technological innovations live on TV. "It did work in rehearsal, I assure you."

W.O.T.C.
Old 16-09-06, 10:42   #8

Casino cash: £5147

I remember Raymond Baxter mainly from "Tomorrows World" on a Thursday night when I was a bairn, although I have to say that I always wanted that programme to finish quickly because "Top of the Pops" came on after it. He was very informative, but I wonder just how many of these gadgets displayed in thebprogramme ever came to be used in every day life ?

I used to enjoy his commentary on the airshows as well. I have always been interested in aviation, and Raymond Baxter knew his stuff alright having been a Spitfire pilot in WW2. He described the Spitfire as the best plane ever invented.

RIP Raymond Baxter.
Old 16-09-06, 10:45   #9

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

In many cases the show offered the British public its first chance to see key technologies that are now commonplace, notably:

* The Breathalyser (1967)
* The ATM (1969)
* The pocket calculator (1971)
* The digital watch (1972)
* Teletext (CEEFAX) (1975)
* The personal stereo (1980)
* The compact disc and player (1981)
* The camcorder (1981)
* Barcode reader (1983)
* Clockwork radio (1993)
Old 16-09-06, 11:01   #10

Casino cash: £4919
vCash: 17000
Rep Power: 19 ©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Grant1875 View Post
Finally........ you've admitted it. Now all we have to do is get you into this old folks home up in pencaitland

Watch it radge.

http://stretchorama.myminicity.com/

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-06, 11:05   #11

Casino cash: £5126

Watch it radge.
Old 16-09-06, 12:41   #12
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Watch it radge.
"This is a Hydrogen-powered motorised Zimmer. Within five years, all British Pensioners will have one. It can carry a Pensioner at 10 miles per hour and includes a small shopping basket"
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote