Beginning of the end for the Yams
I think that last night is not just the sublime GIRUY moment that it undoubtedly was, but the beginning of the end for the Yams.
When Vlad arrived I forecast that all that hearts would do would be to spend in a ridiculous and unsustainable fashion to achieve at best their longed for state of 'thirdness' with a little more room between them and the rest. I am now confident that this is the kindest fate that awaits them. And it reminds me again why I'd rather be in our position than their's (SC notwithstanding). I also suspect the (few) hibbies I've spoke to who, post SC win, were maybe starting to be a little envious of hearts gung-ho approach, will soon come to think likewise. First off - the SC win; you can't take this away from them or Vlad. Whatever else it's something we've not achieved in a century - so, fair play. On the other hand; they were incredibly lucky (more in a moment) and like in '98 - you have to wonder whether the cost will be worth it in the long run. I say like in 98 because assembling and maintaining that squad led to the overstretch from which so much else has sprung. So let's look at where they are now; Last year they were hugely, hugely fortunate. They won the SC without really playing anyone (I include us in this assessment, cos we didn't really turn up that day) and even then made heavy weather of beating Gretna. But that sort of thing happens in cups occasionally. More significant was the good fortune of Vlad's spree coinciding with the worst OF presence in more than 20 years. You have to go back to the early 80s before you'll find a time when both were so weak at the same time, and I honestly believe that celtic were the weakest champions I've ever seen - and yet they won at a canter. This won't happen again. The OF are still relatively poor, but are both strengthening whereas Vlad seems to be closing his wallet, and therefore hearts will inevitably move backwards. They are highly unlikely to ever get a bite at the champs league again, and if they get papped out of the UEFA at this stage, as now seems likely, then they're in the shit. It's not clear to me exactly what net financial position they're in after a year or so of Vlad's dominion - partly because I'm no interested enough to track it but partly because it's so opaque. What I have heard is that they added 5m to their debt last season alone - I'm not sure if this is before or after Vlad wrote of 2m off the debt held by UKIOS Wankas. Either way, this is where last night becomes key. I suspect Vlad has to some extent been betting on a euro run to claw back what has been outlaid. This is now, in all probability, not going to happen. The situtation will then be one of a team with heavy debts, that is digging itself a deeper hole, at the same time all it's rivals are gradually inching their way out. Vlad is soon going to realise that last year is as good as it's going to get. This leaves only a couple of basic scenarios that I can see: - the conservative approach; hearts start to do what everybody else is doing and rationalise their run costs, leading them back into the scramble for a first round euro exit that all the other second tier clubs slug it out for year in year out - except with a much more bloated and dangerous debt than the others. And you have to wonder how long a guy like Vlad will be content with such humble pie. - the radical approach; hearts continue to speculate wildly, in an effort to achieve a euro run that will at best lead to break even on that gamble (and do nothing to erode their existing black hole). This would be an extremely dangerous strategy for obvious reasons. Either way, they are heading towards levels of debt that - should Vlad depart for any reason - any incomer would find hard to shoulder. There only out would be a return to a stadium sale, which again I can't figure as a long term option - they may clear their debt, but building a new stadium would put them right back in it. Anyway, this has been quite a long and rambling post, so in summary I shall try and reach for the concision that often eludes me: I think they're fecked.
Re: Beginning of the end for the Yams
Here's hoping To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quite a few predictions from here might come true, especially the one about Suckamov having nowhere to 'showcase' his players other than the SPL. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. It's all about whether they can hang on to their spine of scots players now, ironic that with the exception of la refugee and maybe brellier the most effective contributions last term came from players who were there before Suckamov took over.
THOSE WERE THE DAYS, MY FRIENDS... To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Last edited by HailHail; 15-09-06 at 12:29. Reason: eye karnt spel |
Everybody is a Radge
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
Hibsterical Radge
vCash: 500 Thanks: 14
Dunno about it being the beginning of the end, but it's certainly the end of the Romanov honeymoon period. Given Vlad's unpredictability and explosiveness, I think we're us on the sidelines are gonna have a whole buncha fun
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. If pushed into a prediction, I'd say tits up is the most reasonable conclusion, but you just cannae second guess the Russian Radge.
Clydesdale Bank Premier League Table 06 October 2007 16:54 1 Hibernian 9 9 21 2 Celtic 8 21 19 3 Rangers 9 15 19 4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16 5 Hearts 9 1 14 6 Motherwell 9 -1 13 |
I don't know if they are fecked short-term but they are definitely fecked long-term. Romanov is a fruitcake who has brought money into Hertz but has not really shown the characteristics you'd expect to find in a man with long-term commitment to a project that will drain his finances for years to come. You have to ask; what is his motivation, what's in it for him?
It's pretty clear that he was looking for a Scottish club some time before he decided on Hertz. He saw the opportunity to put a club he owned into European football, which is what he is really interested in, and took it. He saw that in Scotland the potential existed to do that. But long-term commitment to the club's future? I think not. All his actions, unreasonable expectations of a succession of managers, interference with buying players and team selection, criticism of authorities and Scottish media etc speak of a megalomaniac who is trying to do too much much too quickly. With Hertz out of Europe (as they surely will be) he will be raging and looking round for scapegoats. How patient he will be in waiting for success we will see by the start of next season I reckon, when he will either make a major new investment or feck off in a big huff.
#6 | ||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Wheels off cart, ballraces cracked, bearings all over the street. This parrot is almost deceased. Quote:
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
They are on a slippery slope for sure. They have 2 tricky away fixtures and if they don't win them, the yam fuds will be fit to be tied.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Oh please Motherwell, do them !!
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Vladimor Romanov here to rip the jambos off
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
They were dependant on the money from either a Champions League group stage scenario, or a UEFA Cup one. This was to offset the ridiculous outlay in wages last season. They are not going to make either of these, and this is very bad news indeed for Hearts. They look to me to be a club fragmenting already, with the Scottish and foreign players forming two different camps.
The outlay in wages cannot be sustained without sufficient income from Champions Leage or UEFA Cup matches. Interesting times lie ahead.
vCash: 500 Thanks: 9
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. We are hibernian fc , we hate jam tarts and we hate dundee we will fight wherever we will be, because we are the mental HFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The only team to sing about, the only team to see, the only team in Edinburgh, HibernianFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. In your Gorgie slums, you rake the bucket for something to eat, you find a dead rat and you think its a treat, in your Gorgie Slums To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Capital Greens Needs You
![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
Now come on you Hibby types, I would be very surprised if Monday did not bring the following:
- News of a multi billion pound sponsorship deal from Czech Airways (or at least a few free seats for the week after next) - Another meeting with the Lord Prov to discuss the vlad-dome project - - A second audacious attempt to buy Murrayfield from the blazers at the SRU, hell lets up the bid to £50 million Planning permission being granted for a 80 000 seat stand on the site of the old tyny school - News that another audacious bid was made for Garry O at 11.59pm on 31 August - In January the Hawrtz will tie up deal to bring Rodders Petrie to Tiny as new CEO - John Robbo and Craig L back as new management team Need I say more wee team radges To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. :brocban To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Sep 2006
What annoys me about the Yams is their arrogance in proclaiming themselves to be the "Heart and Soul of Edinburgh" and then putting out their own fecking newspaper (Planet Hearts), that made me worried that we were going to be turned into an Edinburgh backwater. But it's nice to see them get found out for what they really are, shite!!!!
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
Few points
1. Watch the sales figures for planet pie in the sky drop. 2. Heard that Vlad or his lap dog said that winning SPL is not the priority? 3. Vlad could actually bring debts down but he would have to put some of his own money each year towards debt and sell half the players or pay their wages. This is not something he seems prepared to do. 4. Even David Murray found it difficult if not near impossible to cope with Huns level of debt after it went over 30m and resorted to yet another share issue. This is something which is unlikely to work for Edinburghs "big team" as their fan base is probably about a quarter of their Glasgow cousins. 5. Vlad might just take notice of the fact his massive support realised only 27k with countless freebie tickets/concessions etc 6. He seems to squander far more than he can raise ie pre-season trip for team, fireworks and cheerleaders at Murrayfield. 7. Thier fans seem to have missed the fact that although they seemed happy that Vlad bidded for Murrayfield, the point was that Vlad was supposed to keep them at Tynie....maybe they dont want to stay there now.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 129
I wrote a long response but after reflecting on it I have decided that.................
hertz are f@cked |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Everything i would want to say about the current situation at Tynecastle,but am not quite elequent enough to do so. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. One word i could have produced myself though, is FRUITCAKE!!! There is no better way to describe the Rear Admiral of a Rear End! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
denots radge
I cant wait for him to walk away and leave hertz with; 30 million in debts, (which will be owed to his own bank) a pool of 25 unhappy,unsettled players and an unsustainable wage bill which will mean the sale of all the big earners at the club.
Either that or he sells swynie and and we all go to saughton enclosure for away days in the edinburgh derby. 'Champions league yer havin a laff'
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Theres only 1 Albert Kidd To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. :YAYYY: To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. :YAYYY: |
It was funny how at the end of last season, when the final derby took place (which incidentally was my first and a great win by 2-1) the Yams came to Easter Road under the illusion that Hibs, after the semi which we were just on a hiding to nothing from the start anyway, would just be easy meat so they left half their team on the bench. That showed what they really are, an arrogant, conceited team of prima donnas, and it's now they're really being exposed for this.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2003
Yams, feckin hate the Bartsteds!
Big Jessie Radge
Shirley Romanov will eventually get sick of not getting into the Champions League? Rangers and Celtic are improving and IMO Hearts won't finish in the top two this season. But if they do and get pumped in the qualifiers again, will Romanov settle for this?
He wants Hearts to be the champions of Europe but I don't think he has realised Hearts can't attract players that would be capable of winning the Champs Learue. They don't have the power to attract players that would get them past the group stages. I can't see Romanov being happy with finishing 3rd season after season with a 2nd place here and there and getting knocked out of Europe in the early stages. When he does get bored, thousands of hibees will be having one hell of a party To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. .