vCash: 500 Thanks: 6
Hertz/Rugby
Every single Embra based rugby fan that I have met, that have also shown and interest in fitbaw, have been yams. I have only ever met one rugby loving Hibby.
NOw, is that coincindence or is it due to the fact that Hertz favoured style of play is rather similar to that of Rugby?... (P.S. I know there are a few Hibbys on here that are into their Rugby so, nae offence, eh?)
Re: Hertz/Rugby
I am one of said 'Rugby liking Hibbys'!
You'd probably be surprised but most of the teams I've played rugby for had high percentage of guys who did support a football team, there were obviously quite a few who had no interest in fitba' whatsoever but most had a leaning towards one team or another! As for the Yams/ rugby combo, certainly in Edinburgh you may be right! Rugby players and rugby supporters are often 2 completely different things. If you think about the rugby backgrounds of people in the capital, these are the same 'type' of people who would like to be seen around the Council, Business and Edinburgh Alicadoos that are more likely to be frequenting the lounges and directors suites at Tynecastle rather than ER. Certainly when I played in the first division in Scotland (pre-premiership days!), I often felt that the Supporters in the Bar after games weren't my 'type' of people, and funnily enough I get this feeling when surrounded by Scumbos! |
Radge against the dying of the light.
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
It's a class thing surely?
Yams have no class! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Davie - like the McEwan's that used to sponsor the rugby divisions in Scotland you're 'Class In A Glass'!
I never met any non-merchant/private school types that were into rugby when I was younger but met plenty that were. I have however met a reasonable amount of non-toff yam rugby fans over the past few years. Not generally from central Embra though, usually from the outskirts/borders i.e. country/farm boys (not being pejorative by the way). I suppose there's no direct corrolation, just wanted to slag Hertz really! ON a slightly related note; I've met yam bams fae Burdiehoose and various different places throughout Embra/Fife who werenae exactly Merchant School. Which disproves the yams-are-all-embra-establishment theory but what it doesn't disprove is the fact that all Embra establishment type folk tend to be yams. Therefore, correct me if I'm wrong, I high percentage of Yams will be into rugby by default due to their schooling/social circles (?)
I hate rugby and The Yams
Coincidence? I think not.
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2004
vCash: 500 Thanks: 42
i love the rugger have been to landsdowne road a couple of times during the 6 nations to watch scotland....
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. . Have also played in adn against teams that are not exactly in the top bracket of scociety's pecking order.
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Sunshine On Leith Radgette
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
Love rugby. :YAYYY: Been to some great 6 Nations games and although it's really different to football it terms of play and atmosphere, it's still a good sport.
It's also true that Hertz tend to attract the small-c conservatives from all classes who might be more predisposed to the blazer and tie world of rugger than hibees (and before anyone jumps down my throat, I know not all rugby clubs are like that...). At my school (in Dumfries admittedly) we played rugby as well as football in PE, and had a rugby team, but after the bell rang it was footie we played. Culturally we were conditioned against it - I remember my dad cracking some very un-PC jokes when I told him we'd been made to play rugby one day... |
I played for 2 out of the 3 Borders Clubs that you mentioned! I can confirm that people in the Borders perception of Edinburgh Rugby is pretty much the way that most on this thread see it, it wouldn't be unusual for my team mates to want to knock Edinburgh guys 'toffee noses' clean of their face! (not that I ever partook in such aggressive activities! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) |
99% of the wealth controlled by 1% of the population of Edinburgh. Aye, we're all posh ****s.