Old 09-09-06, 17:00   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
Lest we forget

Tomorrow marks the twenty-first anniversary of Jock's untimely death at the age of 62 at Cardiff City's Ninian Park ground. As most of you know, having read my regular ramblings, I reside in the Welsh capital and, indeed, live but a ten minute walk from the Canton Coliseum. I go out running three times a week and pass the ground on the way (I do 'the Ayatollah' as I pass the Grange End turnstiles!) and it felt a bit strange yesterday evening thinking about that night.

Jock Stein is clearly better remembered for his achievements at Parkhead and East End Park rather than his short stint at Easter Road, but in his brief spell we won the Summer Cup, beating Aberdeen in the final, and played some delightful football. Results were impressive as well, as during that 1964-65 season (the first time hertz fecked it up on the last day!) we won at Tynecastle, Parkhead and Ibrox (the next Hibs manager to enjoy victories at each of these grounds in such a short space of time was Tony Mowbray, from April 13 05 to Aug 27 05). Indeed, we beat Rangers three times that season. That was every time we met them. The only Hibs managers since to achieve that feat are Eddie Turnbull (in either 73-74 or 74-75, including home and away league cup sectional wins) and, of course, Tony Mowbray only last season.

We also bested Real Madrid 2-0 in a high profile friendly in the autumn of 64, Peter Cormack and an og by Zoco (I think) doing the damage. Hibs wore the famous green shorts that have become a feature of recent strips that night. Commercial considerations were not responsible for that sartorial change however.

Strange to think though that in the six days preceding his demise Hibs and Celtic met twice. The results were also a mirror of matches between our great team of the early 70s and Celtic's classic eleven from the same era with us winning the league cup tie (the only trophy we won against his team was that in 72) before getting thumped 5-0 three days later (shades of the 6-1 reversal in the Scottish Cup final of 72, seven months prior to our league cup success).

I remember watching 'Football Focus' on that pishy wet Saturday of 7th September 85 and recall him speaking in that gravelly voice of his that seemed to emanate from his very bowels in that seemingly permanently stern countenance he had. He spoke of how tough the Wales-Scotland World Cup qualifier would be and how our recent 1-0 victory over England (YESSSSSSSSS!) in the inaugural Rous Cup was 'an odd goal victory'.

Wales, of course, had triumphed at Hampden on Weds 27 Mar 85 through an Ian Rush belter and the return game was tight and tense. I'd rushed back after football training with Strathaven Dynamo to watch it and me, my bro and ma Dad all leapt around like nutters when Davie Cooper scored that penalty, which Neville Southall came perilously close to saving.

Years later, on Sat 21 April 01, I was at the City-Shrewsbury game (won 3-1) which confirmed the promotion to what is now League 1 for Sam Haman's Barmy Army and there was a pitch invasion at full-time. I made sure I got up to that penalty box and stood on that spot and looked up, imagining how that Grange End, packed with the expectant tartan clad legions, must have looked to Davie Cooper, who also, sadly, is no longer with us.

The best tribute that can be paid to Jock Stein is that Walter Smith, despite my misgivings about his apparent reluctance to cap clearly talented Hibs players such as Scott Brown, is the first proper manager our nation has had since. He has put the 'Scot' back into Scotland after two decades of sub-mediocrity performances from teams prepared by pedantic, boring little jumped-up, self-important, humourless teachers such as Roxburgh and Brown. They were to Scottish football management and development what Ian Brady and Myra Hindley were to child-minding.

God bless Jock Stein RIP.
Old 09-09-06, 18:09   #2

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice
Re: Lest we forget

I was there that night. We had a minutes silence with the Welsh fans in a boozer in Caerphilly(sp) when we found out Jock Stein had died.

R I P
Jock Stein

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-06, 18:17   #3

I too was there that night. I was standing outside the main stand after the game when the news came out that Jock had died. It had a numbing effect on all who were there, on what was meant to have been a big occasion for Scotland, and its fans. We had qualified for a play-off place against Australia, who were not at the level they are just now, far from it. We were confident of getting through and taking our place in the finals in Mexico, but once the word had spread throughout Cardiff, the celebrations were quite subdued, compared to previous Scotland games away.

A very sad night.

Old 10-09-06, 00:44   #4

I should have been there that night, but I had to call off from the trip to Wales at the last minute. Two of my mates were there though, and they said the atmosphere was unreal after the game. We had won through to the play-off stages, but the result seemed immaterial when they heard the great man had passed away.

Jock Stein was simply the greatest Scotish manager of all time IMO. He created a great Hibs side in the mid-sixties, but went to his first love Celtic (understandably since he played for them, and supported them) in 1965. He then put together the finest Scottish club side of all time, which won the European Cup in 1967. His Celtic teams were brilliant, and it was to Hibs great misfortune that Turnbull's Tornadoes came together at the same time as Steins early 70's marvels at Parkhead.

I remember watching the game at Cardiff that night on TV, and the news report coming through afterwards that Stein had died. A legend had gone, and Scottish football would never see his likes again.
Old 10-09-06, 00:59   #5
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Toolpusher is on the way to a first team debut

Mr. Stein is, and always will be a legend, I still remember listening to that game on the Radio...

RIP Jock, ay remembered.
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-06, 22:37   #6

potato is on the way to a first team debut

My God...21 Years?

I remember asking if i could stay up and watch the game,and my dad telling me that it was a school night.

Then,when i woke up for school,the frying pan against the heid effect,as i was told that Jock had collapsed and died the night before!

Cannae actually remember if my Dad or my Mum was more upset?

It was very bewildering for a 12 year old.

My God.

President Kennedy Moment.
potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-06, 23:40   #7

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

A night I'll never forget. A crowd of us were staying in Barry Island and we were taken to Ninian Park on the back of a coal lorry! We were spread out around the ground and I was in the enclosure. Jim Leighton couldn't play the 2nd half as he'd lost a contact lens so big Roughie came on for the 2nd half. I watched most of that 2nd half leaning on the roof of the Scotland dug out. As the final whistle was about to go I was leaning over the railings of the tunnel immediately behind the dug out waiting to give Roughie a pat on the back. That was the first time I'd ever seen a Hibs player representing Scotland in the flesh.

I was talking to a Cardiff police inspector who was standing at the opening of the tunnel when Jock Stein collapsed right next to us. The cop I was talking to rushed to help the Scotland backroom team get him up the tunnel. He passed right in front of me and had a bluish gray complexion. A guy next to me couldn't resist touching him on the forehead. At that moment I was convinced he was dead although on the TV he apparently opened his eyes again in the dressing room.

We all met up back at the lorry and I told the guys that it looked like something serious had happened to Jock Stein. Most of them were like "aye right" as they sang on the back of that lorry all the way to Barry Island. We got off the lorry at the boozer in Barry Island and the barman confirmed he'd died.

In the following days it was weird seeing myself in so many press photos of a major story.

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 00:52   #8

potato is on the way to a first team debut

A night I'll never forget. A crowd of us were staying in Barry Island and we were taken to Ninian Park on the back of a coal lorry! We were spread out around the ground and I was in the enclosure. Jim Leighton couldn't play the 2nd half as he'd lost a contact lens so big Roughie came on for the 2nd half. I watched most of that 2nd half leaning on the roof of the Scotland dug out. As the final whistle was about to go I was leaning over the railings of the tunnel immediately behind the dug out waiting to give Roughie a pat on the back. That was the first time I'd ever seen a Hibs player representing Scotland in the flesh.

I was talking to a Cardiff police inspector who was standing at the opening of the tunnel when Jock Stein collapsed right next to us. The cop I was talking to rushed to help the Scotland backroom team get him up the tunnel. He passed right in front of me and had a bluish gray complexion. A guy next to me couldn't resist touching him on the forehead. At that moment I was convinced he was dead although on the TV he apparently opened his eyes again in the dressing room.

We all met up back at the lorry and I told the guys that it looked like something serious had happened to Jock Stein. Most of them were like "aye right" as they sang on the back of that lorry all the way to Barry Island. We got off the lorry at the boozer in Barry Island and the barman confirmed he'd died.

In the following days it was weird seeing myself in so many press photos of a major story.
Bloody Hell.

What a story,mate.

Tear drops.
potato is offline   Reply With Quote