View Poll Results: How did you discovery the bounce
Link from another hibs website 11 12.94%
From a search engine 15 17.65%
Word of mouth 44 51.76%
A.N.Other - please post 15 17.65%
Voters: 85. You may not vote on this poll

Old 03-09-06, 22:16   #1

How did you discover the bounce

Just out of interest how did you hear about the hibeesbounce

Old 03-09-06, 22:24   #2

Re: How did you discovery the bounce

I used to post regularly in the 'other place', and followed the messy divorce with interest. After registering on here in the first week i received a phone call from an irate young chap asking why i hadn't registered with 'his' new site. when informed that i had he stopped ranting, and i've been here ever since.
He is'nt.

I miss London Hibby,nunky k, D.K. etc etc.

Old 03-09-06, 22:49   #3

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut

god spoke to me in a dream - he said "stop wasting your time on hibs.net, there's a magical little message board called hibeesbounce where the admins will love you much more".

true story.

actually...that's bollocks (well...apart from the admins loving me more here - they could hate me and would still like me more than they do on .net)

i think i found it in a search engine.
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-06, 22:51   #4

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Comments on teletext 532 that used to mention the bounce
Old 03-09-06, 23:25   #5
An Dún Radge

Scoobie will become famous soon enough

I used to be on Rivals, then followed onto Hibs.net when Rivals stopped supporting the Scottish clubs. Signed up on The Bounce in it's first 6 months (going by memory), but remember it being very quiet and I didn't know anyone.

Don't remember the falling out or the whole spat side of things, even though I was around and should've! But I gave up Hibs.net as my first choice of talking about Hibs, when I received a very disturbing email from it's founder. And at the time, I spent my fiver and was an official member with a hibs.net email account anaw. Why he couldn't have voiced any problems he had by those means, I don't know, but receiving an email at my (then) work account calling me a nasty piece of work, was quite an eye-opener.

Never felt the need to share that before, think I kinda blocked it out of my head, but as The Bounce gradually gained members and support I didn't want to be anywhere else. I still post there now and again, but mostly in my support of the Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters Club - no point cutting one's nose off one's face, in the view of charidee.
Scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-06, 23:54   #6
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

I was aware of the ill-feeling at the time of the 'big split' and registered on The Bounce almost straight away as I recall.

I browse Hibs.net regularly but only post occasionally these days. Here and MHHM is my preference.

Incidentally I had an email experience similar to Scoobs on more than one occasion. I wonder how many of us there are out there! No matter - any fool can be brave behind a keyboard, it takes balls to say it to your face...

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 00:05   #7

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

I'm 90% sure I got a PM about it.
Old 04-09-06, 00:15   #8
Victor Meldrew Toddler Radge

eckmf is on the way to a first team debut

Just out of interest how did you hear about the hibeesbounce
my wee laddie kev1875 did some sparky work with gunner,who told kev about it and for along time i used to post under his name,then when he moved to preston i got my pc back and registered my self.

"history is the foundation upon which the future is built"
eckmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 00:22   #9

Teletext.
Old 04-09-06, 00:38   #10

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

As a newcomer to the whole sheboogle,i would like to know the whole animosity angle to the other site

I get the drift from peoples posting ,but i would like to know the reasons ,coz? im a nosey bassa!!!

Im on the Bounce because i used to lurk between the 2 and decided this was the place.
Old 04-09-06, 01:18   #11

I started my ‘career’ on Rivals; indeed I was a regular poster on the JT site where I jousted with Synapse and Inspector Jambo amongst others.
It was a good laugh in the main, and at one point I actually co-authored an article with Synapse for a Gunt Fanzine!

Incredible but true!

When Rivals died off, I made the odd sojourn on Hibsnet, and I enjoyed my stay there, posting pish but being reasonably well received by most.

Then I had a fall out with Corporal Crowther.

Followed shortly thereafter by a spat with some other tube about his use of a Union Flag as an avatar (I seem to recall that I apologised to Trevster for interfering with his bitch) and that was that.

I was given a life ban by Trevster, who told me I had always been a ****.

Luckily the Bounce had kicked off by then and I found like minded souls there. I also found a football message board section (the cooshed) which contained a depository of the most informative and well argued big wordy stuff that I had ever seen.
I tell Mrs Shrink that I can find answers, help, or advice on this forum that I could find nowhere else. And it’s true.
(Not that I’d lie to Mrs Shrink anyway.)
Maybe a wee white lie. About these ‘clamdiggers’.
Anyway, I was one of the first to join, and I reckon I’ll be one of the one’s still around to turn off the lights.

Unless I get banned from here too.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 04-09-06, 01:31   #12

Hibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of light

Side column in the EEN.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Being another year older.
37 days 12 hours 10 minutes
Hibsean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 02:30   #13

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut

tbh, i only really started posting on here regularly when i got banned from hibs.net (again
). it's not as busy here and i "befriended" a lot of people on .net, so it seemed natural to stay there. personally, i reckon if as many people posted on the bounce it would be waaaaay better than .net. my only real complaint about .net is a tendancy of some admins to bear grudges and be very, very judgemental. i did actually make efforts to get on with them, but they had decided i was a twat and that was that. what can you do, eh? (to be fair, marinello came and said hi to me at the motherwell game when i was collecting sponsor money - much appreciated. they aren't all bad
)

the bounce has a really nice atmosphere...everyone just seems like they want to have a laugh and not take things too seriously. it's like having a chat at the pub or something. it's a nice, tasteful pub, but not in an overly snobby way. the barmen are friendly, and there's always a good tune on the jukebox. hibs.net is the same, only it's a bit more busy, people are outside fighting, and the barmen are grumpy bastards.
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 04:35   #14
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Burbank Hibee turned me on to the Bounce.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 07:51   #15

Greencol discovered the Bounce and told me about it. I had been a member of His.Net for a while but was finding the attitude of "The Management" increasingly annoying. The Bounce gives people far more "freedom of expression" and contains much more than football chat. Since joining in November 2002, we have met some great people and enjoyed some brilliant nights out/weekends/Bounce Tours with them. The website is my first stop every morning

Lang May Yer Lum Reek!

Old 04-09-06, 08:34   #16

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Tricky pointed it out to me, so I have him to thank for my obvious drop in production at work.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 09:20   #17
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough

Started with hibs websites way back when it wasn't even Rivals but Erinweb over by ... was a good laugh back then, but I couldn't really post as the internet connection at work was shared by the department and anyone could view what you were looking at ....

when I did post back then I was Hibbychick believe it or not ...

then when Rivals took off someone else used the user name and i became Lix (after a nickname a pal gave me) ... although I didn't post much.
Heard about the bounce when the split occurred and think I registered back then but didn't use it much ...

but when i ended up on the committee of the Erin Trust i heard much more about it ... and I started posting both here and over by as i tried to help promote the player of the year do for the Trust.

As I met more folk on here and went on my first Bounce tours, that was it...

I still post over by, but mainly on the private members forum (it's safer and Yam free in there ...) and that's largely to stay in touch with pals.

LOVE it over here and have met some amazing people and very good friends ....

Lix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 09:24   #18
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Owen pointed it out, i can never get on the computer though because of him, just as well, it allows me to go jogging.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 11:28   #19

I used to be on Rivals, then followed onto Hibs.net when Rivals stopped supporting the Scottish clubs. Signed up on The Bounce in it's first 6 months (going by memory), but remember it being very quiet and I didn't know anyone.

Don't remember the falling out or the whole spat side of things, even though I was around and should've! But I gave up Hibs.net as my first choice of talking about Hibs, when I received a very disturbing email from it's founder. And at the time, I spent my fiver and was an official member with a hibs.net email account anaw. Why he couldn't have voiced any problems he had by those means, I don't know, but receiving an email at my (then) work account calling me a nasty piece of work, was quite an eye-opener.

Never felt the need to share that before, think I kinda blocked it out of my head, but as The Bounce gradually gained members and support I didn't want to be anywhere else. I still post there now and again, but mostly in my support of the Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters Club - no point cutting one's nose off one's face, in the view of charidee.

Myself, not sure how I heard about the Bounce, but I posted a few times on the Bounce and it found it to be a more easier going place to be than what I had been used to.

When the Bounce gave NI Hibs and very nifty - and very much appreciated - mini message board of wur own it sealed the deal.

It also helps that Bouncers are a fantastic bunch (apart from some of the bairns, but they're only learning).

Old 04-09-06, 13:04   #20

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
Re: How did you discover the bounce

There used to be (possibly still is) an advert for the Bounce in the Balfour where I used to work part-time. However, I never started posting til I moved down to Wales. Keith Moodie (Moodz) texted me to say that Miaow (one of Mad Mike's earlier incarnations) had posted some p!sh about me being 'the baws'. So I had a look at work.

I first posted in the New Year (about the RSIAFR) and I've been boring, depressing and annoying people with my borderline autistic, anally retentive, self-opinionated tirades ever since.

I know Dudge cos he used to drink in the Balfour occasionally and I just feel this is a more tolerant (can I use that word given that some - many? - feel I myself am intolerant) site and that people can say what they like. Within reason of course.
Old 04-09-06, 13:27   #21
m