Old 29-08-06, 23:15   #1
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut
Lordy! It's Christmas in August.

Scoobie and I are sitting here open mouthed.
We have just seen the first Christmas advert on the telly.
Vanish carpet cleaner foam.....the tag line was

It's Christmas, Spruce up your carpet

No, it's August and I'm still wearing sandals and no coat.

How about a sweepie on the first Cracker in Tescos!
Old 29-08-06, 23:21   #2
Tam's my Bairn ya Radges

Location: In Tam's bed(i wish) ach a'rite, Restalrig if ye must know
Tam's Guardian Angel is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Lordy! It's Christmas in August.

LMAO I went to certain well known card shop at the weekend to purchase a 'first day at school' card for my mates' wee lad and half the shelves were empty. When I asked if they had any they had to look through the back in the 'old' stock?!! because they were getting the shelves ready for Halloween and Christmas.

Old Stock? The fecking wee laddie just started P1 on Thursday last week how is it old stock? These things should be on sale until the end of August.
I love Christmas, but no in feckin August.
that's the team that we all love
7-0, 6-2 FTJ

FLASH: Tam can you sit on the lassie's knee?
TAM: Eh what? Aye a'right then,

ha.
Good luck Tam, you can sit on my knee anytime
Tam's Guardian Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 23:32   #3
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut

'first day at school' card

No waaaaaaaaay.

Didn't know such a thing existed.
Greeting Card manufacturers should be fined for legitimising emotional blackmail!
That's nearly as bad as Christmas in August!
Old 30-08-06, 05:24   #4

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

No feckin lies,in the local today,a wee hand made sign stated,119 days to xmas,WHY????????????????
obviously a joke,my goodness not funny

Old 30-08-06, 08:43   #5

No feckin lies,in the local today,a wee hand made sign stated,119 days to xmas,WHY????????????????
obviously a joke,my goodness not funny

If you don't ingore the advertising you'll be sick of Christmas before November.

I've still to go on my summer holiday and theres Halloween/Samhuinn and Guy Fawkes to come.

makes me want to pare back Christmas and get back to the real spirit off it (which is the opposite of what the advertisers want
)
Old 30-08-06, 10:54   #6

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

If you don't ingore the advertising you'll be sick of Christmas before November.

I've still to go on my summer holiday and theres Halloween/Samhuinn and Guy Fawkes to come.

makes me want to pare back Christmas and get back to the real spirit off it (which is the opposite of what the advertisers want
)
I'm with you there buddy. Hand-made thoughtful gifts would mean so much more, to most adults anyway. Christmas has become a commercial atrocity, driven by the greed of business. I think a lot of people experience a sort of hollowness or anti-climax on the morning because the emphasis is on opening presents; for adults the main pleasure is watching the bairns open theirs. Their excitement is most of the fun. Adults have to mumble embarrassed thanks for the gifts of things they did not want (or else they would already have them) and then spend the day getting trousered and trying to find something decent to watch on the telly.

Pubs are shut tae.

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-06, 11:42   #7
Big Bad Mental Radge

Archie1875 is on the way to a first team debut

i was reading in a paper no long ago sayin that Asda have started putting xmas trees in their stores.

Every year "the xmas buzz" starts earlier
Archie1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-06, 12:14   #8

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut

Scoobie and I are sitting here open mouthed.
We have just seen the first Christmas advert on the telly.
Vanish carpet cleaner foam.....the tag line was

It's Christmas, Spruce up your carpet

No, it's August and I'm still wearing sandals and no coat.

How about a sweepie on the first Cracker in Tescos!

The Christmas selection boxes got delivered into Scotmid last week. Couldnt believe it.
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-06, 12:23   #9

No waaaaaaaaay.

Didn't know such a thing existed.
Greeting Card manufacturers should be fined for legitimising emotional blackmail!That's nearly as bad as Christmas in August!
Didnt know something like that existed either but mainly i suppose because i have never looked for one. Agreed though, card manufacturers should be fined for emotional blackmail over a number of issues. There are cards for nearly everything and its not because the manufacturer cares about anything other than bottom line profit - wonder if theres a card for that?

Old 30-08-06, 13:10   #10

You get Step-fathers Day cards as well. Some kids have loads of them!!!