Old 29-08-06, 20:59   #1

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut
Films that really move you?

Got the DVD of The Killing fIelds yesterday, and watching it reminded me of the first time I saw it back in '84/85. Came out the ABC on Lothian Rd and looked at my mate ....neither of us said anything for a few minutes we were still stunned.
Part of the impact was ( I think) the realisation due to the cultural references, that this was something that happened in my lifetime and not too long before the movie was made.

Don't think any other film has had that effect on me, wondered if anybody else has a movie that affected them strongly?
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 21:03   #2

Re: Films that really move you?

Add 'saving private ryan' to that list.

Stunning
Old 29-08-06, 21:06   #3

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

schindler's list.

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 21:10   #4

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

Glory
Old 29-08-06, 21:12   #5

Agree with both of them (Ryan and Schindler) ....but they dealt with a previous era, plus I had read a fair amount about WW2. I had read a bit about Vietnam, but at that point not much on how the Yanks f*cked up Cambodia. Plus the recentness of the real events added something.
Old 29-08-06, 21:13   #6

During the week

Old 29-08-06, 21:15   #7

During the week

waaaay over ma heid smiley.

Old 29-08-06, 21:15   #8

Add 'saving private ryan' to that list.

Stunning
First film i watched in 5.1 , had to keep ducking

Old 29-08-06, 21:16   #9

waaaay over ma heid smiley.
Sorry mate , thought you meant you'd been on the bevvy
Old 29-08-06, 21:19   #10

pickfords the movie. really moved me.

Old 29-08-06, 21:21   #11
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

We were soliders

absolutely reduces me to tears at points in the film.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 21:26   #12

Strangley, chariots of fire can do it as well.

Just at the end when Liddel's heid goes back in the 400metre final. I always find the mans ability and integrity, inspiring.

Scotlands greatest ever sportsman.
Old 29-08-06, 21:27   #13

Just at the end when Liddel's heid goes back in the 400metre final. I always find the mans ability and integrity, inspiring.

Filmed at East Wemyss i believe
Old 29-08-06, 21:28   #14

Filmed at East Wemyss i believe
And a wee bit at St. Andrews
Old 29-08-06, 21:30   #15

Yeah pretending to be Broadstairs Kent as I recall.
Old 29-08-06, 21:33   #16

Hotel Rwanda.
Old 29-08-06, 21:43   #17

ME YA HA is on the way to a first team debut

thank fuck nobody said braveheart i was going to go off on one!
most adult films i watch move me
ME YA HA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 21:45   #18

All those mentioned and

Shindler's List
Il Postino
Born On The Fourth Of July
Shawshank Redemption
It's a Wonderful Life

Old 29-08-06, 21:49   #19
Loves a Bevy Radge

BellBoy1 is on the way to a first team debut

the green mile
BellBoy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 22:20   #20

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Glory (1989), The wind that shakes the barley
Old 29-08-06, 23:33   #21

Born on the Fourth of July: Great acting from Tom Cruise (his best performance ever IMO), great music, fantastic story of a Vietman veteren's (Ron Kovic) courage and strength of spirit. Tremendously moving film. The way the American government treated the Vietnam vets was appalling. Ron Kovic was determined to have his say though, and I found the whole thing very inspiring.

It also brought home the sheer waste of war. The tragedy and lives torn apart for ever.
Old 29-08-06, 23:38   #22

i agree with that cav. loads of bits in it which get me in a perverse way:

liddel as you say

the (made up) bit where the yankee runner gives him the bible quote

nige havers dashed decency

best bit for me is when liddel is running in scotland and he's having that wee internal monologue about feeling god when he runs and that music swells up...

stand aside leni refiensthal
Old 29-08-06, 23:38   #23

Hibees-Mad will become famous soon enough

Not a film, but a series.

Scrubs.

No other production can make me laugh and have tears welling up inside 30 mins so regularly