View Poll Results: Scout or BB?
Scout: dib dib etc 18 36.73%
BB: proddies rool ok 29 59.18%
Girl Guide (tattooed hibee can't vote here) 2 4.08%
Voters: 49. You may not vote on this poll

Old 28-08-06, 15:16   #41

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough
Re: BBs or Scouts?

Anchor Boys, Boy's Brigade, Boy Scouts. All sounds rather fruity to me.
Old 28-08-06, 15:36   #42

Anchor Boys, Boy's Brigade, Boy Scouts. All sounds rather fruity to me.
Don't knock it till ye've tried it!!!!

Old 28-08-06, 16:30   #43

ME YA HA is on the way to a first team debut

oxgangs 53rd for me mayflower company
not a religious choice but i just think my mum thought at the bbs you had less chance of being tampered with
ME YA HA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-06, 16:54   #44

Some class posts on here.

Bounce Gold mibbies?

Old 28-08-06, 17:05   #45

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

I was in the BBs for a spell but I forget what number I was in but it was in Kirk Street. I liked the football and the camp I left by mutual agreement.
Old 28-08-06, 17:13   #46

Actually, the 65th had a bit of a bullying problem which led to a lot of boys leaving and setting up companies in Juniper Green and Balerno.
Old 28-08-06, 17:41   #47

did any of the bb guys go to the centenary parade at ibrox?
Old 29-08-06, 11:06   #48

gun ainm is on the way to a first team debut

went to cubs, never liked the idea of the BBs (they seemed facist with all that marching and other guff
) green vs blue? no contest.

Luckily our troop had ditched the ging gang gooly whatsits and concentrated on inflicting as much pain on each other as possible be it at murderball, manhunt or just on the footie pitch with the occassional badge stuff

woggles were erm well cool - the plastic ones were gash but a nice we leather braided one - now yer talking
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 14:22   #49

madhibee is on the way to a first team debut

Anybody know if the 8th Leith are still extant? Numbers were dwindling at one point. They are based at Pilrig/Dalmeny St church.
Still going
but not as the 8th anymore. They joined with the 4th becoming the 12th, I used to go up until 3 years ago. Went back last year to help out with the Junior section
By Hibees in thier Arcady!

Glory, Glory..
madhibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 14:36   #50

Still going
but not as the 8th anymore. They joined with the 4th becoming the 12th, I used to go up until 3 years ago. Went back last year to help out with the Junior section

12th were at Barclay Bruntsfield church and as far as I know they may well be there to this day.

didnt you read all the posts
If not, why not.

And another thing, you havent been in the pub for a while, you turning tea-total or summit

Old 29-08-06, 15:35   #51

madhibee is on the way to a first team debut

12th were at Barclay Bruntsfield church and as far as I know they may well be there to this day.

didnt you read all the posts
If not, why not.

And another thing, you havent been in the pub for a while, you turning tea-total or summit
I did read it all, they are defiantely the 12th, maybe it's 12th Leith and 12th Edinburgh, not sure how it all works?

Tea-total my arse :YAYYY: Not been in as much to be honest though, been spreading my wings
seems to be pretty empty everytime i pop in
. Was in on Friday though and might be tonight after Jamie T at the liquid rooms the night, Kyle's birthday so we'll see what happens. No had a good hibs blether with you for a while
By Hibees in thier Arcady!

Glory, Glory..
madhibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 15:48   #52

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Cubs and Scouts for a few years. I always hated all the badge and ceremony stuff but the organised violence (murderball, bulldogs, wide games etc) was good for a laugh despite the occasional broken bone.

The BBs seem a bit Hitler Youthish to me and I've not really got much time for the Scouts either.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 29-08-06, 15:50   #53

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

I didn't vote but I can confirm that I was in both the cubs and the scouts. In Strathaven, Lanarkshire, which I think makes me the only weegie poster so far, as everyone else has commented on the various areas of Edinburgh.

Given N.Ireland Hibby and Stretch's comments I can confirm that I am indeed middle-class, but I'm not going to apologise for it (a la Aidan Smith in 'Heartfelt'!). I can remember my Mum taking me to Strathaven Co-op in late 1979 on what of those God-awful, nasty, windy, wet, miserable Lanarkshire Friday late afternoons to buy me the uniform (woggle, toggle, whatever the phuck it was called, the lot) when I'd rather have been sat at home with a plate of custard creams, watchin Crackerjack.

I always phuckin hated the cubs. And the scouts for that matter. I've always been a bit of a loner and, despite being told I'm intelligent since school (I've done some stupid phuckin things, and, worryingly, continue to do so) I totally fail to pay attention to something I see no validity in. Hence, all badge work, learning to make knots etc sailed blissfully over my pre-pubescent head which merrily daydreamed of science fiction adventures (was a bit of a Dr Who fan many moons ago, these days I'd gladly nail Billie Piper but....well, it's not gonnae happen is it?).

In retrospect, my mother agrees that the cubs/scouts and Sunday school (things we'd been allowed to avoid when we lived in England, as we did til I was 7) were pointless activities for me and my siblings and that there was no point coercing us to go. Easy to say now!

I lasted til 1984, when I left after a very miserable scouts camp. What a phuckin weight that was off my mind!

Honestly, I can recall nearly missin AC/DC singin 'Let's Get It Up' on Top of the Pops in January 1982 after cubs on that Thursday night. The same nearly happened five months later when the same band were performin 'For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)'. That was the night that I first saw 'Da da da' by Trio and 'Happy Talk' by Captain Sensible.

That's all my memories of the cubs and the scouts are, of self-important, small-minded little men (Akela - PHUCK OFF!) beratin daydreamers like myself who didn't want to know about an 'eightsome reel' or whatever the phuck it was called. Time that could have been spent developin my life-long passion for music and popular culture and cult TV shows wasted wearing a bottle green jumper, a similarly matching cap (which made me look like a Gerry Adams-esque Just William) and a feckin yellow and red neckerchief (Partick Thistle - shite!). Tied together with that ridiculous 'woggle'. A symbol of misguided youth. An anachronism in Thatcher's early years.

I don't know if Baden Powell is still revered, but if he is, I don't know phuckin how. The creator of boredom an misery for Britain's youth.

Most depressin experiences of my life I can honestly say I have benefited from in some way, in that I learned something that stood me in good stead for the future. The cubs? I just learned that I didn't fit in.
Old 29-08-06, 16:02   #54

And another thing (in case you thought my rant was over), 'Bob-a-job' week was a terrible phuckin waste of school holidays!
Old 29-08-06, 16:18   #55
Barbary Corsair

TariqE is on the way to a first team debut

I didn't vote but I can confirm that I was in both the cubs and the scouts. In Strathaven, Lanarkshire, which I think makes me the only weegie poster so far, as everyone else has commented on the various areas of Edinburgh.

Given N.Ireland Hibby and Stretch's comments I can confirm that I am indeed middle-class, but I'm not going to apologise for it (a la Aidan Smith in 'Heartfelt'!). I can remember my Mum taking me to Strathaven Co-op in late 1979 on what of those God-awful, nasty, windy, wet, miserable Lanarkshire Friday late afternoons to buy me the uniform (woggle, toggle, whatever the phuck it was called, the lot) when I'd rather have been sat at home with a plate of custard creams, watchin Crackerjack.

I always phuckin hated the cubs. And the scouts for that matter. I've always been a bit of a loner and, despite being told I'm intelligent since school (I've done some stupid phuckin things, and, worryingly, continue to do so) I totally fail to pay attention to something I see no validity in. Hence, all badge work, learning to make knots etc sailed blissfully over my pre-pubescent head which merrily daydreamed of science fiction adventures (was a bit of a Dr Who fan many moons ago, these days I'd gladly nail Billie Piper but....well, it's not gonnae happen is it?).

In retrospect, my mother agrees that the cubs/scouts and Sunday school (things we'd been allowed to avoid when we lived in England, as we did til I was 7) were pointless activities for me and my siblings and that there was no point coercing us to go. Easy to say now!

I lasted til 1984, when I left after a very miserable scouts camp. What a phuckin weight that was off my mind!

Honestly, I can recall nearly missin AC/DC singin 'Let's Get It Up' on Top of the Pops in January 1982 after cubs on that Thursday night. The same nearly happened five months later when the same band were performin 'For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)'. That was the night that I first saw 'Da da da' by Trio and 'Happy Talk' by Captain Sensible.

That's all my memories of the cubs and the scouts are, of self-important, small-minded little men (Akela - PHUCK OFF!) beratin daydreamers like myself who didn't want to know about an 'eightsome reel' or whatever the phuck it was called. Time that could have been spent developin my life-long passion for music and popular culture and cult TV shows wasted wearing a bottle green jumper, a similarly matching cap (which made me look like a Gerry Adams-esque Just William) and a feckin yellow and red neckerchief (Partick Thistle - shite!). Tied together with that ridiculous 'woggle'. A symbol of misguided youth. An anachronism in Thatcher's early years.

I don't know if Baden Powell is still revered, but if he is, I don't know phuckin how. The creator of boredom an misery for Britain's youth.

Most depressin experiences of my life I can honestly say I have benefited from in some way, in that I learned something that stood me in good stead for the future. The cubs? I just learned that I didn't fit in.
Really?

I had a great time in scouts! Would recommend it to anyone. I suppose it depends in the guys running it.

There is a watcher over every soul.
TariqE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 16:25   #56
ERIN Hibs Radge

Raymond is on the way to a first team debut

Scouts for me

118th Salisbury at St Mary's Street Hall,Can remember playing for the football team for the Sandy Jardine Scotland Jersey
Anyone remember that?

Raymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 16:29   #57

Tarique - I'm not for one minute suggesting that my experiences and subsequent memories are universal, I make it clear from the beginning of my post that I was coerced into going and that it just wasn't me.

I'd be surprised if I'm the only person who posts on this site who has unpleasant memories of their time in a youth military group. Similarly, I'd've thought there are others who share my view on its pointlessness.

That said, you clearly are in good company cos everyone else seems to look back on their woggle and neckerchief days as the halcyon days of youth.

I must be a right phuckin weirdo!
Old 29-08-06, 16:37   #58
Barbary Corsair

TariqE is on the way to a first team debut

Tarique - I'm not for one minute suggesting that my experiences and subsequent memories are universal, I make it clear from the beginning of my post that I was coerced into going and that it just wasn't me.

I'd be surprised if I'm the only person who posts on this site who has unpleasant memories of their time in a youth military group. Similarly, I'd've thought there are others who share my view on its pointlessness.

That said, you clearly are in good company cos everyone else seems to look back on their woggle and neckerchief days as the halcyon days of youth.

I must be a right phuckin weirdo!
Aye, I'm sure some folks didn't like it. But I was never forced to go and our 'troop' never seemed that bothered about union jacks and all the ceremonial stuff.

There is a watcher over every soul.
TariqE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-06, 16:36   #59

leithhibee1875 is on the way to a first team debut

I did read it all, they are defiantely the 12th, maybe it's 12th Leith and 12th Edinburgh, not sure how it all works?

Tea-total my arse :YAYYY: Not been in as much to be honest though, been spreading my wings
seems to be pretty empty everytime i pop in
. Was in on Friday though and might be tonight after Jamie T at the liquid rooms the night, Kyle's birthday so we'll see what happens. No had a good hibs blether with you for a while
The 12th Edinburgh are currently in abeyance (dormant) while the 8th Leith and 4th Leith Joined to become the 12th Leith.

A list of all companies still active is available from the link attached

leithhibee1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-06, 23:43   #60

Cubs and scouts for me. I was barred from joining the BBs as my parents thought they were linked to Orangism.
None but the BB's were considered hunnish in my area.