Old 26-08-06, 22:57   #1

restless natives

watched this for the first time in nigh on 20 years last night.

what a film. cant think of a better scottish effort:

- great to have it set in embra rather than the ubiqitous weeg (weegie cast notwithstanding)

- great big country soundtrack

- dollops of humanity that these days wouldnae squeeze in if they didn't suit some polemical riff

- great to see the hibbies following the wolfman and clown along prinny at the end, though b'christ i'd forgotten those hideus 'team jerseys' (as in knitted sweaters) you used to get

- speaking of which, i'd also forgotten what a (albeit no-label) cash the wolfman was - adidas (bambas i reckon though could be wrong), bleachers, cagools, polos - rock on fella :YAYYY:
Old 26-08-06, 23:31   #2
Arty Radge

Bridie is on the way to a first team debut
Re: restless natives

Scoobs spent AGES searching for a copy of this on DVD and eventually bought a pretty rough (ehem) copy on ebay at tremendous expense only to see and buy a proper copy in Fop, a matter of weeks later at a fraction of the price.
Old 27-08-06, 19:58   #3
NGP

NGP is on the way to a first team debut

great film.

The cop asking 'have ye got any false tits?' as the two of them are bricking it, class.
Old 27-08-06, 21:45   #4
denots radge

Ozziew is on the way to a first team debut

Watched it on friday as well for first time in years. Absolute class. I think the shoes were gazzelles but still quality. Was the wolfmans bird in take the high road as well?

Theres only 1 Albert Kidd

:YAYYY:
:YAYYY:
Ozziew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-06, 09:17   #5

- great to have it set in embra rather than the ubiqitous weeg (weegie cast notwithstanding)

- dollops of humanity that these days wouldnae squeeze in if they didn't suit some polemical riff

- great to see the hibbies following the wolfman and clown along prinny at the end, though b'christ i'd forgotten those hideus 'team jerseys' (as in knitted sweaters) you used to get

- speaking of which, i'd also forgotten what a (albeit no-label) cash the wolfman was - adidas (bambas i reckon though could be wrong), bleachers, cagools, polos - rock on fella :YAYYY:
Why can weegie actors not do Edinburgh accents?

(They still managed to get the Necropolis and the Joke shop on Queen Street in from Glasgow for some reason.)
Old 28-08-06, 09:29   #6

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Mind my mum taking me and my mate up to Morningside for auditions for extras for that.Spend ages hanging around only to be told to bolt.

My mum got picked though and had a talking scene in Princes street gardens only to be cut out of the final version.She was totally gutted.

quality film, not seen it in ages...was it on TV egb?
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-06, 12:49   #7

TonySoprano is on the way to a first team debut

Really good film, although the soundtrack's not my thing. Not as good as Gregory's Girl either
Old 28-08-06, 13:05   #8

Mind my mum taking me and my mate up to Morningside for auditions for extras for that.Spend ages hanging around only to be told to bolt.

My mum got picked though and had a talking scene in Princes street gardens only to be cut out of the final version.She was totally gutted.

quality film, not seen it in ages...was it on TV egb?
got it on dvd southfield, hmv are doing it for a fiver
Old 28-08-06, 13:06   #9

Not as good as Gregory's Girl either
Agreed. My house was in Gregory's Girl.

Did u know it was dubbed for th US AS THEY COULDN'T UNDERSTAND THE ACCENTS?
Old 28-08-06, 13:32   #10

On this point, there was a Hibby in his mid 30's at Celtic Saturday wearing a Navy Fila Jumper, White Levi Jeans and a pair of white Diadoras????

Old 28-08-06, 19:12   #11

On this point, there was a Hibby in his mid 30's at Celtic Saturday wearing a Navy Fila Jumper, White Levi Jeans and a pair of white Diadoras????

The 80's are back :YAYYY: Even the music is going that way.
Scissor Sisters are pure disco.
:brocban

Old 28-08-06, 23:54   #12

HibeeBrasileiro is on the way to a first team debut

great film.

The cop asking 'have ye got any false tits?' as the two of them are bricking it, class.
And the boy that runs out of the Joke shop (realname Bubs - or was at school) is or was a Hibby.
HibeeBrasileiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 13:05   #13

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

No seen it for at least 13 years masel but I mind me n ma wee bro getting it out on video down here about 20 years ago and absolutely p!shin oursels at two classic lines of celluloid humour:
1) when they're arguin playin football at the beginnin an the boy who has been dispossessed shouts 'geez that baw ya fanny'!
2) when the two guys in the office (quietly) chorus in unison 'Christ, it's the man from U.N.C.L.E.' as the fat yank tries to take control.

I still think Gregory's Girl is funnier too. Sorry, if it appears that I'm hijackin the thread but the scene when Gregory goes radge at the wee laddie who's enquiring after 'Maddie' is hilarious!

Local Hero, on the other hand, is a bunch of over-rated p!sh.
Old 29-08-06, 13:33   #14

No seen it for at least 13 years masel but I mind me n ma wee bro getting it out on video down here about 20 years ago and absolutely p!shin oursels at two classic lines of celluloid humour:
1) when they're arguin playin football at the beginnin an the boy who has been dispossessed shouts 'geez that baw ya fanny'!
2) when the two guys in the office (quietly) chorus in unison 'Christ, it's the man from U.N.C.L.E.' as the fat yank tries to take control.

I still think Gregory's Girl is funnier too. Sorry, if it appears that I'm hijackin the thread but the scene when Gregory goes radge at the wee laddie who's enquiring after 'Maddie' is hilarious!

Local Hero, on the other hand, is a bunch of over-rated p!sh.
Its been many years since I saw Local Hero. It was OK. Comfort and Joy was OK and caught a bit of the flavour of Glasgow quite well.

Bill Forsyth hasn't done anything for many, many years.
Old 29-08-06, 13:38   #15

Hiberni-mum will become famous soon enough

I remember standing at the bottom of the mound watching them film it I was in my early teens and felt so cultured
Hiberni-mum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 13:48   #16

hughieo is on the way to a first team debut

From "That sinking Feeling"...at the beginning
wee boys peeking at the windows in the nurses dormitories....ecstatic at being able to see "tits, bum, fanny.... the lot!"
Old 29-08-06, 15:10   #17

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

wee boys peeking at the windows in the nurses dormitories....ecstatic at being able to see "tits, bum, fanny.... the lot!"
Class film, from what I remember.

Just got Restless Natives for a 5er from HMV.

A guy I used to work with had a similar expereince to Scoobs, paid about £25 for a shit VHS on e-bay. ONly to see it released on DVD about 6 months later for literally feck all

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 15:46   #18
NGP

NGP is on the way to a first team debut

That was 'Gregory's Girl', no 'That Sinking Feeling'.

Have to agree with the earlier statement with Gregory's 'rant' at the wee laddie asking if 'Maddie wis in' is one of my fave film moments.
Old 29-08-06, 20:07   #19

Watched it on friday as well for first time in years. Absolute class. I think the shoes were gazzelles but still quality. Was the wolfmans bird in take the high road as well?
no convinced ozzie, they had caramel soles - gazelles were white soles.
Old 29-08-06, 20:09   #20

quality.

you seen the 'retro' fila range in xile? no as good as the originals (material seems much cheaper than i recall), and not for mature gentleman like me who have, ahem, 'filled out' since the 80s, but if i were a young un again i'd still pick it over the gay hairdresser look, that seems to be the thing
Old 30-08-06, 08:48   #21

quality.

you seen the 'retro' fila range in xile? no as good as the originals (material seems much cheaper than i recall), and not for mature gentleman like me who have, ahem, 'filled out' since the 80s, but if i were a young un again i'd still pick it over the gay hairdresser look, that seems to be the thing

Summed up my feelings in a one-r egb. Everything nowadays does look like it is made for gay hairdressers. And i too have 'filled out'
A bit too much to carry off the sporty casual look.

Old 04-09-06, 09:56   #22
Time For Action Radge