Old 26-08-06, 08:12   #1

Casino cash: £32363
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice
Police Caution Tim Goallie

The Catholic Church has criticised Scottish prosecutors for cautioning the Celtic goalkeeper for crossing himself during a match against Rangers.
Artur Boruc was cautioned for a breach of the peace over the incident at an Old Firm match at Ibrox in February.

Strathclyde Police investigated complaints that Boruc, 26, had angered a section of the crowd with the gesture and they submitted a report to the Procurator Fiscal.

A Crown Office spokesman said Boruc's actions "included a combination of behaviour before a crowd in the charged atmosphere of an Old Firm match".

I don't ofte stand with the Catholic, or any other, church but this is a disgrace and a retriction of the mans religious freedoms.

If it caused anger in the crowd it is because the crowd are a rapib bunch of sectarian anti-catholic scum.
Old 26-08-06, 09:01   #2

Casino cash: £11016
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice
Re: Polict Caution Tim Goallie

Scotland 2006, a sectarian backwater who pander to bigots.
Old 26-08-06, 09:50   #3

Casino cash: £9501
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

From Here http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ic/5287664.stm

Stephen Smith, spokesman for the group, added: "Professional footballers are meant to set an example. What he was, was deliberately provocative and completely done to wind up the fans, as if the fixture isn't volatile enough."

What an absolute nipple,who makes it volatile in the 1st place?
Old 26-08-06, 10:16   #4

Casino cash: £5148

I hate all this religious stuff, but Boruc getting a criminal record for this is just unbelievable.

Gascoigne mock playing a flute is a breach of the peace - a player blessing himself is not. What about if any of a team in Europe does it against Rangers in the UEFA? Are they just trying to wind them up too?

Methinks these 'fans' think way too highly of themselves

Mixu Paatelainen - 10/01/08
Hibees-Mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 10:19   #5
Brafur Radge

Casino cash: £585
Rep Power: 4 BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

Catholic Rangers players do it aswell so how can they do this to Boruc?
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 10:24   #6

Casino cash: £13655
vCash: 291000
Rep Power: 13 Hibsean is just really niceHibsean is just really nice

Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
Catholic Rangers players do it aswell so how can they do this to Boruc?
When I first heard of this story the name Lorenzo Amaruso immediately sprung to mind. I'm sure he blessed himself whenever he ran onto the pitch.
Old 26-08-06, 10:29   #7
Brafur Radge

So what they are saying is if you are not the same religion as them, you cannot show it?
Old 26-08-06, 10:34   #8

Casino cash: £5180
Rep Power: 14 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Before everyone's up and away galloping on their high horses, has anyone actually seen how Boruc crossed himself? Let's be honest, as football fans we've bayed for the blood of an opposing player who has maybe stood smiling at us, mouthed something or put a hand to the ear after scoring.

So let's accept first of all that football fans are experts at showing outrage, unfathomable disgust and moral indignation at the slightest gesture.

I don't know how Boruc done it and the huns are all a bunch of wanks but if he's done it in an obviously inflammatory way then that's not too clever. Funny as feck but not clever from Boruc's perspective because he's now got a criminal record.

I think the mere fact that the huns have had many players in recent years who have blessed themselves points to the fact that Boruc perhaps done it in a, let's just say, particular way.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 10:37   #9
Brafur Radge

As far as i know it was when coming on to the pitch
Old 26-08-06, 10:41   #10

Rep Power: 14 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
As far as i know it was when coming on to the pitch
I'm more interested in knowing the manner in which he did it.
Old 26-08-06, 10:45   #11

Casino cash: £3614

You just despair at what goes on in our little country. There ought be tollerance of all faiths and that means that Boruc or anyone else are allowed to practice their faith in peace. When there is supposed to be a campaign against sectarianism this sends out completely the wrong message. The bigots have won.
Old 26-08-06, 10:45   #12
Brafur Radge

Aye i know mate. Nothing has really been said about that side of it
Old 26-08-06, 11:05   #13

Casino cash: £18409

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
I don't ofte stand with the Catholic, or any other, church but this is a disgrace and a retriction of the mans religious freedoms.

If it caused anger in the crowd it is because the crowd are a rapib bunch of sectarian anti-catholic scum.
Fair play to you Col.

It also occurs to me that while i don't know Boruc's nationality he obviously sounds eastern-european.

One wonders what this incident will say to our waves of polish and other eastern european immigrants. Will it help propel those amongst them with an interest in football, straight into the old assumed loyalties within scottish football?

Highly regrettable.
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 11:08   #14

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs View Post
You just despair at what goes on in our little country. There ought be tollerance of all faiths and that means that Boruc or anyone else are allowed to practice their faith in peace. When there is supposed to be a campaign against sectarianism this sends out completely the wrong message. The bigots have won.
Say Boruc had shown little tolerance of other faiths? Say he had shouted "get it up you you orange bastards" right in their faces as he done it? Do you seriously believe the polis are just going to stand back?? I am not for one minute saying that's what Boruc did but surely it's obvious he's done something more than a private religious gesture?

Like I said I don't know how he done it and I find it very hard to believe action was taken against him just for crossing himself coming out the tunnel just like many hun players have done in the recent past.

"A spokesman explained that Boruc's actions "included a combination of behaviour before a crowd in the charged atmosphere of an Old Firm match".

Think the clue's in 'a combination of behaviour'. That implies to me that maybe he done something else in addition to crossing himself. The fight against sectarianism is hampered by sensationalist pish like this. That BBC report implies, no, does it feck imply, it actually says he was cautioned for blessing himself then they flame up the story with angry soundbites from the church. So the BBC have chosen to extract the blessing from the 'combination of behaviour' and concentrate on that because anything else is a non-story compared to that. The BBC show in stories like this that they are as scummy and as sensationalist as the tabloids.
Old 26-08-06, 11:21   #15

Casino cash: £29598
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
I'm more interested in knowing the manner in which he did it.
Good question.
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 11:25   #16

Casino cash: £3614

Say Boruc had shown little tolerance of other faiths? Say he had shouted "get it up you you orange bastards" right in their faces as he done it? Do you seriously believe the polis are just going to stand back?? I am not for one minute saying that's what Boruc did but surely it's obvious he's done something more than a private religious gesture?
The media slant I have read has all been about the blessing. If it is the case that he behaved as you have suggested above it is a very different matter.
Old 26-08-06, 11:30   #17

Casino cash: £17690
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Like I said I don't know how he done it and I find it very hard to believe action was taken against him just for crossing himself coming out the tunnel just like many hun players have done in the recent past.

"A spokesman explained that Boruc's actions "included a combination of behaviour before a crowd in the charged atmosphere of an Old Firm match".

Think the clue's in 'a combination of behaviour'. That implies to me that maybe he done something else in addition to crossing himself. The fight against sectarianism is hampered by sensationalist pish like this. That BBC report implies, no, does it feck imply, it actually says he was cautioned for blessing himself then they flame up the story with angry soundbites from the church. So the BBC have chosen to extract the blessing from the 'combination of behaviour' and concentrate on that because anything else is a non-story compared to that. The BBC show in stories like this that they are as scummy and as sensationalist as the tabloids.
TBH I was wondering what the feck you were going on about until I read this latest post from you. I thought he had just crossed himself when he cam on same as a lot of other players do but if he went out his way to inflame opposing glory hunters then fair enough maybe he should have been spoken to (Dont know about a full caution though).

I also agree that if the BBC have sensationalised the story as is there want then they are no better than the red tops that clutter up news-stands taking up space proper papers could be utilising.

Old 26-08-06, 11:36   #18
Nijinsky Radge

Casino cash: £1512

I really cannot believe this is simply about him crossing himself as he enters the pitch. However, I've not see the "combination of behaviour" so what follows is speculation but if it was stupid, provocative action designed to wind up rabid huns on Boruc's part then he deserves it - after all haven't many of us called for tougher action against this kind of idiocy - part of the problem is consistency - why prosecute Boruc and not the 30000 Billy Boys? Apart from the obvious - lifting Boruc isn't going to cause a riot - Boruc is also a role model and his prosecution sends out a strong signal.

I still think this is probably a bit harsh and a warning letter to the club would have been adequate - I would prefer to see serious action taken by the police against sectarian chanting but if this teaches Boruc and other players a lesson then fair enough.
Old 26-08-06, 11:46   #19

Casino cash: £3545

I haven't seen the incident (has anyone)? But it does seem to be more to this than meets the eye. Unfortunately there seems to be a campaign by both sides of the old firm to fight out their differences beyond the football field. Witness the prosecution of Butcher and Duncan Ferguson on, as I understand it, on the basis of complaints from third parties.

I remember in the early 90s there was a campaign by fans in England against Ian Wright, who repeatedly reported him to the police. Eventually the cops said that they would consider charges for wasting police time and then they stopped. I really hope we don't get to this here. The Hartley gestures at the end of the recent derby were stupid, but I'm glad they didn't end up in court. Can you imagine if that had been an old firm game?
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 11:53   #20

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs View Post
The media slant I have read has all been about the blessing.
Exactly.
Old 26-08-06, 12:05   #21

Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Are all signs of religious faith now illegal as a consequence of this?

This will lead to some stupid tit for tat.

I take it that the Procturator's office is full of Rangers supporters.

Love to have Donald Findlay's opinion on the legal issues under-pinning this.
Old 26-08-06, 12:15   #22

Casino cash: £11016
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Closer to home, Benji always prays to Allah after scoring,. What wiill the Huns do then?
Old 26-08-06, 12:17   #23

Originally Posted by 1875 View Post
Closer to home, Benji always prays to Allah after scoring,. What wiill the Huns do then?
Depends whether he's a Catholic Muslim or a Protestant Muslim.

Not OK to pick on Muslims but OK to bay like wolves at Catholics, whom they have never liked to make feel welcome.