Old 26-08-06, 01:35   #1
An Dún Radge

Casino cash: £1108
Quadrophenia

Watched it for the first time last night.

Not gonna say noffik abaaaat it, not until saaamone else dass.

Comments?
Old 26-08-06, 01:42   #2
An Dún Radge

Re: Quadrophenia

Sorry, wrong place. Pished.
Old 26-08-06, 07:35   #3

Casino cash: £4857

Originally Posted by Scoobie View Post

Comments?
Class Film

Used to have it on Video!

The Music's great, Phil Daniels plays a great part and I even enjoy Sting and Lesley Trout pout's contributions.

Maybe an idea for me to get it on DVD now
Old 26-08-06, 08:58   #4

Casino cash: £2383
vCash: 5010230

This is spooky because I was gonna post last week asking if anyone hzad a copy of it. My friend has been gving me stick because I had never seen it so I went to buy it but didnt have a spare £18 so close to holibags?

So if anyone has a cheeky wee copy I'd appreciate it.

L

What defines us is how well we rise after falling
Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 11:31   #5

Casino cash: £725
Rep Power: 7 stairways_second_coming is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Naked Chef View Post
This is spooky because I was gonna post last week asking if anyone hzad a copy of it. My friend has been gving me stick because I had never seen it so I went to buy it but didnt have a spare £18 so close to holibags?

L
i bought it on video a few years ago, if you want a lend
Old 26-08-06, 11:35   #6
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge

Casino cash: £5410

Love the film. Haven't seen it for a few years though. The one thing
i don't like is Sting being the 'Face'. never really did seem right IMO.
Used to have the album, but that's another one that seems to have
disappeared with all the odd socks in the washing machine
Old 26-08-06, 11:38   #7

Casino cash: £19349

You've Killed Me Farckin Scootah!!!!
egb_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 11:43   #8

Casino cash: £4857

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
You've Killed Me Farckin Scootah!!!!
You gonnae be one of the faces at Brighton then?

What'ya mean goona be, I AM one of the faces!

WE ARE THE MODS, WE ARE THE MODS, WE ARE WE ARE WE ARE THE MODS!
Old 26-08-06, 18:01   #9

Casino cash: £2057
Mrs

Originally Posted by brianmac View Post
Love the film. Haven't seen it for a few years though. The one thing
i don't like is Sting being the 'Face'. never really did seem right IMO.
Used to have the album, but that's another one that seems to have
disappeared with all the odd socks in the washing machine

But the face turned out to be a wanker.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 18:07   #10

Casino cash: £1917
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Scoobie View Post

Comments?
Haven't seen it for years but you've reminded me that it's about time I gave it another watch.

The line "he not here, he go out" is one that sticks in my head for no reason.

Northern Ireland Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 21:27   #11
An Dún Radge

I actually quite enjoyed it (not pished anymore, btw!).

Phil Daniels was absolutely brilliant in it. And the bonus feature interview was a good watch as well. I didn't buy the DVD, I won it in a competition that scooter-forums.com was running, but I'm left with a ponder....

Why is the scootering fraternity embracing this film, when at the end Jimmy turns his back on the Mods after being let down by them. Finding out that the whole thing is a complete sham, and sending Sting's vespa over the edge of Beachy Head in the process.

If I were a Mod and watched that, I'd be wondering the same as the character did. Just as well that I'm not. Saves all the hassle!
Old 26-08-06, 22:45   #12

Why is the scootering fraternity embracing this film,

Do the sewing-machine brethren ( ) have many alternatives?

Old 26-08-06, 23:47   #13
Arty Radge

Sorry.
I hated it.
Mind you, I was 16 when I went to see it on a double bill with The Postman Always Rings Twice at the Dundee Odeon when it was in the city centre with only one screen! That was a long time back

I watched the brilliant documentary about Goebells while my husband watched Quadrophenia....I made the better choice
Old 26-08-06, 23:57   #14

Originally Posted by Bridie View Post
Sorry.
I hated it.
Mind you, I was 16 when I went to see it on a double bill with The Postman Always Rings Twice at the Dundee Odeon when it was in the city centre with only one screen! That was a long time back

I watched the brilliant documentary about Goebells while my husband watched Quadrophenia....I made the better choice
Is that the Jack Nicholson one?

There's an urban myth that the steamy bit in the kitchen wasn't acting!!

Old 27-08-06, 00:08   #15
Arty Radge

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby View Post
Is that the Jack Nicholson one?

There's an urban myth that the steamy bit in the kitchen wasn't acting!!
What you saying like!
Yes, the Jack Nicholson one....the first one was waaaaaaaay before my time sir!

To be honest, I think that was why it was a double bill....urban myth shagging.
Old 27-08-06, 00:18   #16

What you saying like!
Yes, the Jack Nicholson one....the first one was waaaaaaaay before my time sir!
But of course! I even assumed that you were watching Quadrophenia and The Postman... at some kind of retro movie screening event

Old 28-08-06, 19:11   #17
Loves a Bevy Radge

what a film! no seen it in a while now must be addictive my mate quit his job to go on holiday after seeing it
BellBoy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-06, 21:17   #18
First Team In Europe Radge

Casino cash: £346
vCash: 11080

Great movie. Lets do the barstewards motor. Class.
stu7-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-06, 16:58   #19

Rep Power: 4 Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

Phil Daniels and Ray Winstone are phuckin great in it. As are Michael Elphick and Timothy Spall and a host of others. It's years since I saw it (gonnae have to get it on DVD as well!) but bits that spring instantly to mind are:
1) when they're at a house party and change the record from a w@nky, poncey, naff, cheesey love song to 'My Generation' by the Who and all shout 'F-F-F-UCK OFF' instead of 'F-F-F-ADE AWAY' (as everyone does!)
2) when they refer to the poseur who seems to be nailin Lesley Troutpout as a 'flash c*nt'
3) when they break in the chemist to steal blues and one of them puts johnnies on each of his fingers
4) when the rocker tells Jimmy that 'wherever you are there's always some c*nt in stripes tellin you what to do' (which is phuckin true)

Oh, and a very young Nick Cotton is in it as well, demonstratin all the broodin malevolence that would win him the role of NC as he charmingly states 'who's this phuckin rocker'?

Class film. Utter class.
Old 31-08-06, 09:54   #20
Can't Think of a Radge to be Radge

Originally Posted by Naked Chef View Post

L
L
I have this on DVD.If you can get someone to copy it your more than welcome to borrow it for a bit.I also have The Wanderer's and The Warriors which for some reason I always put in the same category
wehateharry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-06, 09:57   #21
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23251
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by wehateharry View Post
L
I have this on DVD.If you can get someone to copy it your more than welcome to borrow it for a bit.I also have The Wanderer's and The Warriors which for some reason I always put in the same category
All excellent films I'd class scum in there too