Old 24-08-06, 13:13   #1

Dublin_Hibee is on the way to a first team debut
Independence First referendum petition

knicked this from another forum.............

Independence First has lodged a petition with the Public Petitions Committee of the Scottish Parliament. The petition asks the Parliament to find a way to hold a referendum on self determination for Scotland.

As part of the process the Parliament has put the petition online to gauge the level of public support. It is most important that we gather as many signatures and favourable comments as possible. If you believe in self determination for Scotland visit http://epetitions.scottish.parliamen...PetitionID=123 and tell them so.
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land."

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Dublin_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 13:04   #2

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough
Re: Independence First referendum petition

Originally Posted by Dublin_Hibee View Post
knicked this from another forum.............

Independence First has lodged a petition with the Public Petitions Committee of the Scottish Parliament. The petition asks the Parliament to find a way to hold a referendum on self determination for Scotland.

As part of the process the Parliament has put the petition online to gauge the level of public support. It is most important that we gather as many signatures and favourable comments as possible. If you believe in self determination for Scotland visit http://epetitions.scottish.parliamen...PetitionID=123 and tell them so.
signed
Old 25-08-06, 13:08   #3

tapadh leat AG
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land."

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Old 25-08-06, 13:14   #4

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Dublin_Hibee View Post
tapadh leat AG
you're welcome I'll pass the link around
Old 25-08-06, 13:15   #5

There is just no interest from us Scots in Independence.
Old 25-08-06, 13:18   #6
Saorsa a-nis Radge

Stewart_HfC is on the way to a first team debut

explain that please smurf! youve confused me :s
Old 25-08-06, 13:39   #7

wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
Fine. Have a referendum to prove that.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 25-08-06, 13:52   #8
Saintee's Radge

part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

I'm tempted to say "speak for yourself", but to an extent I agree with you. I don't think that a referendum should be held until there is a clear political will for that constitutional change to be made.

Even if the SNP did become the single largest party after the next Scottish election with (say) 38 seats, I don't think that one could categorically state that such political will existed at that point.

Although the legality of any such referendum and the consequences of its outcome (whichever way it went) would need to be investigated and agreed before it was held. If that isn't done, there would be a risk (however small) of the situation going beyond politics (terrorism or even war).
part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 14:04   #9
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by part/time supporter View Post
I don't think that a referendum should be held until there is a clear political will for that constitutional change to be made.
... and how are you going to establish that ? By referendum perhaps ?
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 14:10   #10

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Fine. Have a referendum to prove that.
We have Scottish Parliamentary Elections around the corner.

Surely those that want Independence will vote for a Party standing on an Independence ticket?
Old 25-08-06, 14:18   #11

We have Scottish Parliamentary Elections around the corner.

Surely those that want Independence will vote for a Party standing on an Independence ticket?
If the SSP dropped independence from their manifesto I would still vote for them because that's not my primary reason for voting for them. I also know a decent number of people who vote Labour who favour independence but would never vote for the SNP.

FWIW I am in favour of referenda on far more subjects than we get the chance to voice our opinion on. Personally I would say that nothing should become law until it is approved by the people unless it was in a manifesto of a party.

Old 25-08-06, 14:19   #12
Saintee's Radge

part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Brian View Post
... and how are you going to establish that ? By referendum perhaps ?
Parliamentary elections.

I don't want a situation of "neverenda"; ie referenda every few years. Quebec ended up in this situation 10-15 years ago, and it actually had the effect of checking the independence movement there. I don't think that the failed referendum of 1979 did Scottish separatism (devolution or independence) much good either.

If you have a build up of political will before then bringing forward a referendum, the constitutional reform is far more likely to stick. If there hadn't been that build-up with the 1997 referendum, then it is quite possible that the SP (given its early struggles) would have been abolished by now.

Originally Posted by wee162
I also know a decent number of people who vote Labour who favour independence but would never vote for the SNP.
That isn't that surprising, as independence support always runs ahead of SNP support in the polls. There must be a fair number of people who would like independence, but it is not their main political priority. Hence why they end up voting for other parties.
part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 14:32   #13

If the SSP dropped independence from their manifesto I would still vote for them because that's not my primary reason for voting for them. I also know a decent number of people who vote Labour who favour independence but would never vote for the SNP.
You've just perfectly highlighted IMO the fundamental weakness of the SNP. IMO the SNP should just be an Independence movement. They should have no policies as the reality is that in the event of Independence - if us Scots voted for it - they will cease to exist anyway.

I have to say though that if you were to vote SSP (Can i ask if you are Sheridan or Fox out of interest?) regardless to whether they were pro Independence or not then it can't be a top priority for you?

Why not gain Independence through the SNP and campaign for the SSP in a Independent Scotland?

FWIW I am in favour of referenda on far more subjects than we get the chance to voice our opinion on. Personally I would say that nothing should become law until it is approved by the people unless it was in a manifesto of a party.
Interesting and with technology something that could return faith and confidence in democracy.
Old 25-08-06, 14:43   #14

They should have no policies as the reality is that in the event of Independence - if us Scots voted for it - they will cease to exist anyway.
agreed, I think the political parties in Scotland as we know them at the moment would all cease to exist to a certain extent after independence, i.e the Scottish Labour/Liberals/Tories would no longer be attached to the British version of the parties and would even perhaps re-form under other names.

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Old 25-08-06, 14:49   #15

That isn't that surprising, as independence support always runs ahead of SNP support in the polls. There must be a fair number of people who would like independence, but it is not their main political priority. Hence why they end up voting for other parties.
Which is exactly the same as me. In any independence referendum, I would vote for independence, but I'm certainly not going to vote for a party who don't remotely represent me politically.

Old 25-08-06, 14:50   #16

This is what Independence First is all about, getting people from all political backgrounds together under the "independence" umbrella and working towards indepedence and worrying about the political parties in power etc afterwards.

http://www.independence1st.com/

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Old 25-08-06, 14:55   #17

I have to say though that if you were to vote SSP (Can i ask if you are Sheridan or Fox out of interest?) regardless to whether they were pro Independence or not then it can't be a top priority for you?
If you are asking whether independence is in second place to socialism in my political perspective, I hardly think it will come as a major shock to say that that is the case.

I'm not into cults of personality, and I don't vote for political parties based on who the leader is. If I did I certainly wouldn't have contributed my vote to Labour in 97...

Why not gain Independence through the SNP and campaign for the SSP in a Independent Scotland?
Because I think the SNP are power hungry careerists with not a coherent political ideology holding them together, and I don't think they will win.

Old 25-08-06, 14:57   #18

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Parliamentary elections.

I don't think that the failed referendum of 1979 did Scottish separatism (devolution or independence) much good either.
Actually in 1979 the Yes votes outnumbered the No votes, albeit narrowly, but we still we didn't get home rule (we got Maggie instead) -isn't Westminster democracy wonderful and the envy of the world ?!
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 15:09   #19

Originally Posted by Pilrig View Post
Actually in 1979 the Yes votes outnumbered the No votes, albeit narrowly, but we still we didn't get home rule (we got Maggie instead) -isn't Westminster democracy wonderful and the envy of the world ?!
Aye but we've got it now thanks to this dreadful New Labour Government..
Old 26-08-06, 06:34   #20

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Aye but we've got it now thanks to this dreadful New Labour Government..
Your decription not mine but I won't argue.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 07:13   #21

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough

18 years of getting hammered by Thatcherism and Tory rule, yet the majority of Scots still never voted for a pro-indepence party. People obviously don't want it.
Old 26-08-06, 08:07   #22