Old 16-08-06, 18:14   #1

O'Driscoll is on the way to a first team debut
Vienna Derby Austria Magna Versus Rapid Vienna

I've just returned from holiday in Vienna, during which time I took in the game at the Magna stadium (capacity 11 and a half thousand). Many of you will know that Rapid play in Green and white so inevitably my support was with them! Magna (who used to beAustria Vienna) play in violet.

I couldn't get a ticket for the away end so had to settle for the home end. It was a great experience and the fans, especially the Rapid ones were superb!!

Before the match Magna casuals were at the gate of the away end trying to noise up the Rapid fans who didn't need much noising up. the polis seemed to toleraate it but looked like a mean bunch themselves. When I finally got in, the match was well underway and the Rapid end was bouncing - yes they do the bounce
They also did a walk on type song . The magna fans let of flares and hurled abuse which made the atmosphere like an Edinburgh derby in the 1980's, I was shitting myself. Although once I got chatting to locals I was made to feel very welcome. Another great thing was that although magna stadium is quite new (1982) it has terraces behind both goals. . The game itself was no great spectacle a both teams seemed to fear losing more than desire winning. Magna played better football but Rapid are great battlers and came closest to scoring.

The best part of it is that they sell beer in the ground and Austrian beer is excellent
. At the end of the game we all piled on to the trams and trains into the city centre.

Plusses and minuses for Rapid

Rapid are supported by people from the working class parts of the city

Rapid changed the green and white on their strips this season from parallel lines to hoops

Rapid are sponsored by Ottokringer which is the biggest brewery in Vienna

Towards the end of the game the Rapid fans swirled their scarves

Ticket for the terraces 18 euros (aboot 12quid) mair money for beer

Rapid are the only foreign team to have won the German Budesleige (1940's)

Rapid have humped Celtic in the past:YAYYY:

All in all, I think Rapid is a natural ally for Hibs and if any bouncers visit the city, take in the match you'll love it.
Old 16-08-06, 21:04   #2

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about
Re: Vienna Derby Austria Magna Versus Rapid Vienna

According to Alan Lugton, it was Austria Vienna who inspired Hibs to move to white sleeves so come on the Magna!

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-06, 21:16   #3

O'Driscoll is on the way to a first team debut

I wouldn't know but Rapid are not named after a company, Magna are and thats a bit of a sell out! Also Rapid is great name!
Old 16-08-06, 21:36   #4

I wouldn't know but Rapid are not named after a company, Magna are and thats a bit of a sell out! Also Rapid is great name!
Its a quick name 'll give you that.

Old 17-08-06, 01:06   #5
A radge, a radge, my kingdom for a radge

Beagle is on the way to a first team debut

I've just returned from holiday in Vienna, during which time I took in the game at the Magna stadium (capacity 11 and a half thousand). Many of you will know that Rapid play in Green and white so inevitably my support was with them! Magna (who used to beAustria Vienna) play in violet.

I couldn't get a ticket for the away end so had to settle for the home end. It was a great experience and the fans, especially the Rapid ones were superb!!

Before the match Magna casuals were at the gate of the away end trying to noise up the Rapid fans who didn't need much noising up. the polis seemed to toleraate it but looked like a mean bunch themselves. When I finally got in, the match was well underway and the Rapid end was bouncing - yes they do the bounce
They also did a walk on type song . The magna fans let of flares and hurled abuse which made the atmosphere like an Edinburgh derby in the 1980's, I was shitting myself. Although once I got chatting to locals I was made to feel very welcome. Another great thing was that although magna stadium is quite new (1982) it has terraces behind both goals. . The game itself was no great spectacle a both teams seemed to fear losing more than desire winning. Magna played better football but Rapid are great battlers and came closest to scoring.

The best part of it is that they sell beer in the ground and Austrian beer is excellent
. At the end of the game we all piled on to the trams and trains into the city centre.

Plusses and minuses for Rapid

Rapid are supported by people from the working class parts of the city

Rapid changed the green and white on their strips this season from parallel lines to hoops

Rapid are sponsored by Ottokringer which is the biggest brewery in Vienna

Towards the end of the game the Rapid fans swirled their scarves

Ticket for the terraces 18 euros (aboot 12quid) mair money for beer

Rapid are the only foreign team to have won the German Budesleige (1940's)

Rapid have humped Celtic in the past:YAYYY:

All in all, I think Rapid is a natural ally for Hibs and if any bouncers visit the city, take in the match you'll love it.
It sure is, so is the schnapps

Yam - Act like a twat look like a twat
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: The schools going back and peace returning
That's it for another year - feet up now
Beagle is offline   Reply With Quote