Old 13-08-06, 10:05   #1

Ye canny take the boy out of Leith

Gaun yersel Yogi.

YOGI: I'M SORRY
PREMIER LEAGUE
By Gordon Waddell
FALKIRK boss John Hughes last night apologised to his players for the red card that threatened to cast a cloud over his side's superb point at Tynecastle.

The Bairns boss was sent to the stand at half-time by ref John Underhill for bursting on the pitch to blast Hearts striker Michal Pospisil and Roman Bednar for their part in Kenny Milne's booking.

And he admits he's ashamed he let his emotions get the better of him on the day his side stayed on the Jambos' coat-tails at the top of the table. Yogi sighed: "I was sent to the stand for coming on the field of play and then behaving aggressively.

"It was fair enough although I don't know if you'd call what I did aggressive when you're from Leith!

"I apologised to the players afterwards because that's no way to behave.

"I'm a passionate guy and it's a passionate game and I'm disappointed by my behaviour - but I won't let it outshine my team's performance. For long spells we were as good as Hearts and we had the best chance of the game as well. Yes, we were hanging on a bit at the end. But a lot of questions were asked of us today and I think we answered most of them.

"All we were lacking was a wee bit of belief."
The belief was lacking in Hearts as well - both on the park AND in the stands.
Fans booed gaffer Valdas Ivanauskas for taking off Julian Brellier after an hour.
Ivanauskas said: "If we'd scored first it might have been different but I can understand the fans' frustration.

"Brellier did well but was not going to last 90 minutes."

Old 13-08-06, 12:20   #2
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Toolpusher is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Ye canny take the boy out of Leith

Taxi for Ivanauskas?
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-06, 13:16   #3

Yogi is a very underrated manager IMO. Don't forget he has had next to nothing to spend at a club with a poor support and not much going for it, and he lost his best striker in the middle of last season.

He brought Falkirk up despite havng to play in a quagmire of a pitch at Stenhousemuir for a season, against all the odds he kept them up last season, and he now looks as thoough he has improved them again this season. Getting a point at Tynecastle is a great result.

All the while his team play fluent, passing football, with the mercurial Russell Latapy still pulling the strings in midfield.

Yogi's forceful personality and aggressive manner make some people think he would be a disaster as a manager, but the guy knows the game of football back to front. He can inspire and motivate players, and tactically he is very good.

I still see him as a possible Hibs manager of the future.
Old 13-08-06, 13:34   #4

Yogi is a very underrated manager IMO. Don't forget he has had next to nothing to spend at a club with a poor support and not much going for it, and he lost his best striker in the middle of last season.

He brought Falkirk up despite havng to play in a quagmire of a pitch at Stenhousemuir for a season, against all the odds he kept them up last season, and he now looks as thoough he has improved them again this season. Getting a point at Tynecastle is a great result.

All the while his team play fluent, passing football, with the mercurial Russell Latapy still pulling the strings in midfield.

Yogi's forceful personality and aggressive manner make some people think he would be a disaster as a manager, but the guy knows the game of football back to front. He can inspire and motivate players, and tactically he is very good.

I still see him as a possible Hibs manager of the future.
IMO this could well be Mowbray's last season with us. I would gladly have Yogi Hughes in charge at ER. Falkirk play good football, they're on an even more limited budget than us. He'd get the players wound up for the derbies anyway

Another shout must be big Mixu. Cowdenbeath have started superbly.
Old 13-08-06, 23:46   #5

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

IMO this could well be Mowbray's last season with us. I would gladly have Yogi Hughes in charge at ER. Falkirk play good football, they're on an even more limited budget than us. He'd get the players wound up for the derbies anyway

Another shout must be big Mixu. Cowdenbeath have started superbly.
Both of those are stick-ons for the post when Mogga leaves, its guarandamnteed. I wouldnae mind either of them, both have their teams playing a style befitting of the cabbage, and both would be relatively cheap

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote