Old 12-08-06, 17:15   #1

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut
Tonight On Telly- England v Scotland 1977

The game is getting shown on the ESPN channel at 10pm.
Its the one where the Tartan Loons break the crossbar for those who have forgotten.

Im not a sad bastard im working early tomorrow..honest, ive got to stay in
Old 12-08-06, 20:01   #2

OxgangsHibby is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Tonight On Telly- England v Scotland 1977

Its the one where the Tartan Loons break the crossbar for those who have forgotten.

Remember it , i was on it ......
its only aboot 4 or 5 years since i chucked my wee bit turf oot !
kept it in a baccy tin , had'nt seen it for years , opened the tin and it was just a bit of dried up dirt ....

AH THE MEMORIES .....

WEMBULEE WEMBULEE , WE'RE THE GREATEST TEAM IN EUROPE AND WE F***** YER JUBILEE , WEMBULEE WEMBULEE

OxgangsHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-06, 21:20   #3
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Excel is on the way to a first team debut

What's ESPN? -_- Is it available on Telewest?
Excel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-06, 21:44   #4

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

Just watching the Johnson tribute that was on before it, now that was some great watching especially Jinky tieing Charles(England full back) up in knots
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-06, 21:53   #5

Johnny Kash is on the way to a first team debut

Remember it , i was on it ......
its only aboot 4 or 5 years since i chucked my wee bit turf oot !
kept it in a baccy tin , had'nt seen it for years , opened the tin and it was just a bit of dried up dirt ....

AH THE MEMORIES .....

WEMBULEE WEMBULEE , WE'RE THE GREATEST TEAM IN EUROPE AND WE F***** YER JUBILEE , WEMBULEE WEMBULEE

Legendary game

Can you imagine that happening today? I predict a riot
Johnny Kash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-06, 02:22   #6

Remember watching this magical game on TV back then. This was Ally McLeod's finest hour, no doubt about it. The look of sheer joy on his face when he turns round to face the Scotland fans and he throws his arms up in the air after King Kenny's goal says it all.

I liked the guy's passion for the national team. We had a great team then, but they couldn't handle the pressures of a World Cup in South America.
Old 13-08-06, 15:55   #7

Jumbo is on the way to a first team debut

Just a warning. Tonight they're showing the 1975 game, mind you if you want to see a really bad goalkeeping display step up Stewart Kennedy
Jumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-06, 16:37   #8
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

I was at that '77 game with the Faither.

In truth the 2-1 score to Scotland very much flattered England I felt. It reminded me a little of the '67 game as the Dark Blues were very much on top but only came out with a narrow victory score-wise.

I seem to rmember Tam Forsyth and Gordon McQueen playing out of their skin that afternoon in central defence?

Our regular midfield at that time of Gemmill-Masson-Rioch was a perfect combination and had all the tools and talents for the job, magnificent.

Happy days.

McQeen scores for Scotland, 1977

Stu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-06, 17:40   #9

I was there in '77

One of the first 50 or so on the pitch

Actually met Rod Stewart on the pitch tae

Soon as I got on I made my way to where Kenny Dalglish scored from and ripped up about a square fit o' the pitch wae my bare hands, it hung on my bedroom wall in a clear polly bag for years. Eventually turned tae sand.

I thought someone had tossed away a huge Lion Rampant flag, as it was just lying on the pitch, when I picked it up there was this gadgey, wae his burd, "scoring for Scotland". Should've renamed it the "Rampant Rabbit"

We mollocated thum 2-1. :YAYYY:

they even got a dodgy penalty.
:

Old 14-08-06, 20:28   #10

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

Just a warning. Tonight they're showing the 1975 game, mind you if you want to see a really bad goalkeeping display step up Stewart Kennedy

Mind watching that one and turning to my mate at half time - after Kenny Dalglish pulled one back from the penalty spot - and saying "thats us right back in it now..."

The horror....
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-06, 20:42   #11
Brafur Radge

BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

So what games on? 75 or 77
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-06, 21:27   #12
Stu

I was there in '77

One of the first 50 or so on the pitch
If only I'd known, Colin. I'd have come over and said hello - 28 years earlier!

It's a small world eh? (But I wouldn't want to paint it)

Bit of info on the famous day:

(What a team that was...!)

Alan Rough
Dannie McGrain
Willie Donachie
Tom Forsyth
Gordon McQueen
Bruce Rioch
Don Masson
Kenny Dalglish
Joe Jordan
Asa Hartford
Willie Johnston

Subs:
Archie Gemmill
Lou Macari

Old 14-08-06, 22:18   #13

Jumbo is on the way to a first team debut

Mind watching that one and turning to my mate at half time - after Kenny Dalglish pulled one back from the penalty spot - and saying "thats us right back in it now..."

The horror....
Watched it last night Scotland actually played quite well, Arthur Duncan and Derek Parlane hit the post and Clemence made a great save from Hutchison, if it hadnt been for the clown in goals they could have won

It was Rioch that scored the penalty by the way

Would i be right in thinking that was Arthur Duncans last game for Scotland

The team for that game if anyones interested was:

Stewart Kennedy
Sandy Jardine
Danny McGrain
Frank Munro
Gordon McQueen
Bruce Rioch
Kenny Dalglish
Alfie Conn
Derek Parlane
Ted MacDougall
Arthur Duncan

Subs
Lou Macari
Tommy Hutchinson
Jumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-06, 23:09   #14

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut
Mrs

Remember watching this magical game on TV back then. This was Ally McLeod's finest hour, no doubt about it. The look of sheer joy on his face when he turns round to face the Scotland fans and he throws his arms up in the air after King Kenny's goal says it all.

I liked the guy's passion for the national team. We had a great team then, but they couldn't handle the pressures of a World Cup in South America.
His problem was he was a 1st rate man-manager but a 5th rate coach, and the SFA organisation of the Scottish World Cup adventure in 78 was the usual balls-up.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-06, 23:31   #15
Stu

Re: Mrs

His problem was he was a 1st rate man-manager but a 5th rate coach, and the SFA organisation of the Scottish World Cup adventure in 78 was the usual balls-up.
Agree with that. Seem to remember the likes of Macari saying that he had no wish to play for Scotland again for such reasons.

Not wishing to malign Ally at all who was a great guy, but IIRC the '77 side was largely Willie Ormond's team as he had only just priorly taken over the job from the ex Hibs man.

I always felt that Willie (and indeed 'The Doc's' work before him) was hardly ever mentioned when people talk about Scotland in the seventies. Those two really got Scotland back on the road after a period in the doldrums - results and crowd wise.

Old 15-08-06, 10:08   #16

tricky will become famous soon enough

was only 3 in 1977 but vaguely recall the TV breaking just before kick off and the old boy etc bolting round to a neighbours to watch the game and the raucous celebrations that ensued in the street, also remember my brother greeting after the Iran or Peru game the following summer...

iirc Ally MacLeod was interviewed by an English pundit about the Wembley 77 ' riot ' and more or less replied that ' if I wasn't the manager then I would have invaded the pitch with the boys as well to celebrate a great win.' Quality.

no bad clip below

Old 15-08-06, 12:52   #17

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

was only 3 in 1977 but vaguely recall the TV breaking just before kick off and the old boy etc bolting round to a neighbours to watch the game and the raucous celebrations that ensued in the street, also remember my brother greeting after the Iran or Peru game the following summer...

iirc Ally MacLeod was interviewed by an English pundit about the Wembley 77 ' riot ' and more or less replied that ' if I wasn't the manager then I would have invaded the pitch with the boys as well to celebrate a great win.' Quality.

no bad clip below

Cheers for the pointer to the clip - great memories indeed.

Anyone fancy converting it into an avi file or a file for Youtube?
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-06, 13:11   #18

You have to remember that England were pish in the 70s so the result flattered to deceive - as we later found out.
Old 15-08-06, 14:13   #19
Stu

You have to remember that England were pish in the 70s so the result flattered to deceive - as we later found out.
Think that's a bit of a negative view, Col. We had a very good team in the mid-seventies before it went off the boil in 1978. Even under Revie, England were always difficult to beat and lost few games.

Old 15-08-06, 15:36   #20

Think that's a bit of a negative view, Col. We had a very good team in the mid-seventies before it went off the boil in 1978. Even under Revie, England were always difficult to beat and lost few games.
How many world cups did they qualify for during the 70s?
Old 15-08-06, 15:43   #21

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

The head to head with England in the 70s were...
Won 3
Lost 7
Drawn 1

Saving grace for us was 2 WC appearances
England none
Old 15-08-06, 16:06   #22

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut