Old 10-08-06, 09:05   #1
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough
Would you fly to the US on a plane this week?

Following on from the discussion about folk in London being scared post 7/7 just wondering how folk are/would be feeling about flying to the US from a UK airport in the wake of the terror alert?

Personally glad I don't have to (mainly 'cos you can take no hand luggage on) but it wouldn't stop me if I did .... probably feel a bit more uncomfortable, but I'm a good flyer so it wouldn't bother me that much.

Arguably safer to fly when the alert level is so high ..

Lix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 09:08   #2

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Would you fly to the US on a plane this week?

Spot on Lix.
Probably the safest day to fly.
Until the next atrocity.
Old 10-08-06, 09:10   #3
Scottish Scouse Radge

liverpoolhibby is on the way to a first team debut

are you of your trolley Lix and hi from my wee boys

liverpoolhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 09:11   #4
honourary radge

supastar is on the way to a first team debut

I would have no qualms about flying now or ever, no matter what happens.
These colours don't run, from cold bloody war
supastar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 09:14   #5
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough

are you of your trolley Lix and hi from my wee boys

It's been said more than once ....

Say hi to them back .... glad to hear Cameron's getting regular ER visits too this year!!

Hopefully see ya all soon ...:YAYYY:

Lix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 09:33   #6

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

I agree with the 'safest time to fly' theory.

Thats what I'm telling my customers anyway.
southfieldhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 09:35   #7

We can't let the fear get to us otherwise it's game set and match to terrorist scum..
Old 10-08-06, 09:36   #8

Hibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of light

Personally glad I don't have to (mainly 'cos you can take no hand luggage on) but it wouldn't stop me if I did .... probably feel a bit more uncomfortable, but I'm a good flyer so it wouldn't bother me that much.

Arguably safer to fly when the alert level is so high ..
Agreed. If we continued to revolve our lives around the constant threat of terrorism, where would it get us. I WOULD fly but must admit any threat, at any security level would be in the back of my mind.
(I'd certainly find it irritating though not being able to take books etc. onto such a long flight.)

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Being another year older.
37 days 8 hours 27 minutes
Hibsean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 09:45   #9
Erin Go Bragh

Rep of Ireland Hibee will become famous soon enough

Never mind the USA, I get panicy just flying to Edinburgh. There's been a lot of newspaper reports and proof that terrorists are basing themselves here in Ireland for attacks on Britain. Dublin airport has already been closed a couple of times in last few months because of bomb alerts

Rep of Ireland Hibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 10:03   #10

hibbybrian will become famous soon enough

Never mind the USA, I get panicy just flying to Edinburgh.
Caldwell caught his taxi - so 1 less reason to panic this season

hibbybrian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 10:35   #11

Hiberni-mum will become famous soon enough

I am terrified of flying at the best of times. I think I would probably get on a plane to America if it was a pre arranged family holiday but I definitely wouldn't be booking a flight just now.
Hiberni-mum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 10:44   #12
Erin Go Bragh

Rep of Ireland Hibee will become famous soon enough

I am terrified of flying at the best of times. I think I would probably get on a plane to America if it was a pre arranged family holiday but I definitely wouldn't be booking a flight just now.

Feel the same way, was hoping to go to Vegas next Feb, will definitely knock that on the head now

Rep of Ireland Hibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 11:17   #13
Ich bin ein Radge

Dr.Gonzo has a spectacular aura about

Hell yeah. I wonder if I'll get a cheap flight last minute through cancellations as I'm on holiday next week ...
Old 10-08-06, 13:00   #14

Jamesie will become famous soon enough

Hell yeah. I wonder if I'll get a cheap flight last minute through cancellations as I'm on holiday next week ...
Would be my approach too - whats for you will not go by you!
Jamesie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 13:09   #15
The lewis Stevenson Radge

01Deeks is on the way to a first team debut

am goin to florida in 5 weeks and i am crapin it now hearin this all over the radio . why did it have to happen now

El Nino
01Deeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 13:25   #16

Ewan is on the way to a first team debut

No qualms about flying either. Business class for the price of economy? Aye, why not.
Ewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 13:25   #17

crunchie is on the way to a first team debut

Defo Safest time would not have a problem experianced it after 9/11 just would be Bored Shat less with nae books just have to empty the Bar
Old 10-08-06, 17:11   #18

Defo would not fly to the states until you are allowed to take a book on the flight.

Can you imagine the boredom????
Old 10-08-06, 17:15   #19
Radgey McRadge Radge

chrissyraff is on the way to a first team debut

If someone offered me their holiday to America because they where to scared to fly i would be more than happy to jump on a plane within the next half hour

Cyanide & Happiness @

Bebo:

Minicity:

Bebo Hibs Band:

chrissyraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 17:19   #20

No , but only cos America isn't a place i fancy visiting
Old 10-08-06, 17:21   #21

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is on the way to a first team debut

no, im afraid of flying lol

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 17:23   #22
Ich bin ein Radge

Dr.Gonzo has a spectacular aura about

If someone offered me their holiday to America because they where to scared to fly i would be more than happy to jump on a plane within the next half hour
You'd be lucky - the delay might be a bit longer than that
Old 10-08-06, 17:39   #23