vCash: 500 Thanks: 138
FAO Hailhail
HH,
Under what circumstances should people pass information to the police? In previous posts you've stated that 'touting' to the police on benefit fraud and terrace bigots is a no no. Where do you draw the line? And do you expect to have a right to cricise the police if they fail to find, for instance, someone who burgled your house when you don't agree with 'touting'. Not having a go at you, I'm genuinely interested: this is a big issue in NI, where people claim the police are ineffective on the one hand but are against any co-operation with the same peelers on the other.
Re: FAO Hailhail
if someone attacks you, your family or property then of course you should get cops, though you'd probably have to if making a claim anyway. grassing for grassing's sake just to be nasty isn't right when dealing with benefit fraud or petty things that are nothing to do with you. nobody likes a snitch. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Young English lad sitting in the east stand watching the game. £ large, drunken arseholes start singing anti-english songs. The young lad is offended but doesn't feel he can challenge the 'offenders' due to age difference, size, whatever, so his only choice is to go "bubbling" to Gestapo officer to ask him to uphold the law of the land. Is he a grass??
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
Conor asked me in general dude To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#8 | ||
Likewise I try to stay out of the way of the PSNI (or the Continuity RUC depending on your point of view To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ). Not sure if they have organisations they don't touch but any time a loyalist or a republican is caught with their hand in the till they cry victimisation. This happens quite a lot so the PSNI must have their moments. Quote:
ancient greece other than philip/alexander, thermopalaye and the basics of hoplite tactics i'm a bit of an idiot but wouldn't mind learning more. i'm a bit more up on Roman military but not much, though i'm always on look out for new stuff to learn as i think if i read another book on the british wars of succession i'll crack up, what's your particular fave?
As far as 'the gards' go I grudgingly understand why no one will speak to them and a lot of the times the gards themselves are subject to threats or are moved if they 'make too much noise' about a certain case. they sadly aren't like our police here. I'll cop out and say (truthfully) that for the most part people who harp on about grasses are usually doing something wrong or rather something people think is wrong, but grassing someone for earning a wee bit on the side or singing a distasteful song at a football match when lots of folk are drunk is at best, petty minded and at worst, pretty sinister.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Personally I would tout ma arrse off if I knew that neighbours etc were breaking the law be it benefit fraud, stealing my hard earned tax money, assault, burglary and would go out of my way to assist the local constabulary. To me it's a bit like a non voter complaining about the Governments policies, if you do nothing about it you don't deserve the right to complain about it
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I'm a huge Montrose fan. Although i've had this book a while some may not have read it. 'Gates of Fire by Steven Pressfield, novel about Thermopylae. Fantastic. Proper books... 1.The classical world, an epic history of Greece and Rome by Robin Lane Fox. 2. In the name of Rome by Adrian Goldsworthy 3. Rubicon by Tim Holland. Only recently bought numbers 1+3 and number 1 is shaping up nicely. Number two was pretty good and enlightening from a relatively ingorant starting point. Highjack alert, sorry Connor!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My old man went to the boxing club last night as he usually does on a Monday night he generally walks (its about 3/4 of a mile) At 2 this morning he heard a noise outside , looked out and saw his car was gone . He was just about to phone the police when he remembered he'd driven to the boxing club , and walked back
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. He's going to Murrayfield with Hartley tomorrow , is he going aff his heid do you reckon ? |
I've heard of goldsworthy think i'll give that one a bash next To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Montrose is/was quite a man, though of course the unsung heroes are the Irish officers who helped him. the later Jacobite risings were crying out for such a charismatic leader, only viscount dundee in scotland and patrick sarsfield in Ireland come close.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Like I say I was interested in views on this as it's such a huge issue in NI.
Survivor Radge
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
I wonder if some of the stigma and problems back home regarding cooperation with law enforcement stems from how the law enforcement agencies themselves interacted and "forced" cooperation from the citizens they were suppose to be protecting. Certainly in the case of the PSNI, they are bearing the sins of the RUC when it comes to cooperation from the citizens.
At the end of the day if someone is commiting a crime, regardless of how you feel about the validity of the actual crime itself as a law abiding citizen on a level you are duty bound to report the criminal activity. Now if you feel that particular activity isn't criminal in nature then you should get involved in the political process and effect change to make the activity legal within the limits of the law. One of the biggest misconceptions regarding crime, is the thought "its a victimless crime", or nobody is really getting hurt by this behaviour. Somebody, somewhere always pays for criminal activity.
Personally, if I had a chance I'd love to have taken a truncheon to one of the NI bombers if I thought I'd get away with it. Also, do you reckon the sins of the RUC - while they obviously did take place - have been magnified for a number of political reasons (one being to give the good old boys a free criminal rein with less chance of their neighbours touting on them: what's a bit of bank robbery between friends??!!)
![]() ![]() ![]() |