Old 06-08-06, 19:50   #1

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about
Riordan...promising early signs of his career at Darkheid

Or not. If Strachan views Aiden McGeady in front of him, I'd be putting the transfer request in. He's maybe more inclined to sit on his arse for 3 years for 12k a week.

Celtic defender Gary Caldwell believes Tynecastle could be the place for Hoops striker Derek Riordan to kick-start his Parkhead career.

Riordan, like Caldwell, joined the Glasgow giants from Hibernian in the summer but early indications suggest he has been bought as a squad player - the 23-year-old was on the bench for the Bank of Scotland Premier League opener against Kilmarnock last week.

However, Kenny Miller is struggling with a hamstring injury while Shaun Maloney is already out for four weeks after surgery on a double hernia.

And with Craig Beattie also out with a hamstring injury, manager Gordon Strachan could partner the Scotland striker with Maciej Zurawski in attack.

Caldwell is confident Riordan, a hate figure for the Jambos' supporters when he was at Easter Road, will take his chance to impress the Parkhead boss.

He said: "It could be a chance for Derek to make his mark. He likes scoring goals against Hearts more than anyone and I've seen him doing it in the past.

"He's scored some tremendous goals against them so I'm sure if he gets the chance he will be doing everything to get his first goal and get his career with Celtic off to a flying start."

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-06, 20:09   #2

Re: Riordan...promising early signs of his career at Darkheid

Maybe we should have a bounce sweep...

Decide how many minutes riordan will play in his first season at Darkheid

Any chance you could do something like that at the Vbookie

Not that it matters to me I only have 50 Vpounds left to my name

Old 06-08-06, 20:15   #3

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough

Judging by the subs today, Pearson is ahead of him never mind McGeady!

If the penny never dropped today that he's made a catastrophic career move then Riordan is a slave to money and deserves to be a non-entity at an organisation as souless and profit obsessed as Celtic.
Old 06-08-06, 22:05   #4
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Toolpusher is on the way to a first team debut

Riordan = Professional bench polisher
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-06, 22:27   #5
Have to Wear Maroon on a Saturday Radge

sauzee-god04 is on the way to a first team debut

and when moleney comes back hes further doing the line
Old 06-08-06, 22:31   #6

Davy is on the way to a first team debut

Dont bother me that he's not getting a game, however I was a bit surprised at so many people calling him a bench warmer BEFORE he went to celtic as this makes it seem that we Hibees dont reckon our best striker has any chance of a game for celtic....so where does that leave us

Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-06, 22:45   #7

16StMarysStreet is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Dub
Maybe we should have a bounce sweep...

Decide how many minutes riordan will play in his first season at Darkheid

Any chance you could do something like that at the Vbookie

Not that it matters to me I only have 50 Vpounds left to my name
Dunno about a sweep as to how many minutes he will play, but would be interesting to see how many (non) games it takes before he spits the dummy out about not getting a game.
Old 06-08-06, 22:52   #8

dawo_c is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer
Judging by the subs today, Pearson is ahead of him never mind McGeady!

If the penny never dropped today that he's made a catastrophic career move then Riordan is a slave to money and deserves to be a non-entity at an organisation as souless and profit obsessed as Celtic.
Exactly what I was thinking when I seen Pearson coming on and Riordan sitting in the background looking glum. Pearson over Riordan , surely even the Celtic support must disagree with that? But Deek should have realised that the best players from other SPL clubs just warm the bench then move onto another club after joining the old firm! Had he stayed another year or 2 then I strongly believe he could've made a move down to the Premiership in Engurland , then we would've wished him good luck!

"They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule
dawo_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-06, 03:46   #9

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut

anyone else tempted to think he might end up back here in a couple of years?

a) he doesn't want to move to england as he has shown by turning down offers in the past

b) it doesn't look like he'll be given the chance to set the heather alight at smeltic, so wont be hanging about for more than a couple of seasons...

would anyone else take him on loan next year if the oportunity arose?
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-06, 12:27   #10

Jack_hibernian is on the way to a first team debut

to be fair to Deeks he is better than Maloney and McGeady but if he has any pride in the next transfer window he'll hand in a transfer request if he's only warmin his backside on the subs bench every week

lets all do the hibees bounce nanananananana

this is my story this is my song mcdonald and walker couldn't go wrong then suddenly Dundee went 2 up at dens and the boys in maroon had just mucked up again

Jack_hibernian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-06, 14:18   #11

Shearer is on the way to a first team debut

to be fair to Deeks he is better than Maloney and McGeady but if he has any pride in the next transfer window he'll hand in a transfer request if he's only warmin his backside on the subs bench every week
I don't think he is better than maloney. Dunno about better than McGeady, either.

Shearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-06, 16:16   #12

dawo_c is on the way to a first team debut

I don't think he is better than maloney. Dunno about better than McGeady, either.
You serious?

"They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule
dawo_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-06, 19:41   #13
Radge Against The Machine

Cowshed Graffiti is on the way to a first team debut

anyone else tempted to think he might end up back here in a couple of years?
Maybe but he'll be crap then because he won't have played competitive football for more than 100 weeks. And will be injury prone because of the splinters in his behind...
And make him yell.

But spare the bald young clerks who add
The profits of the stinking cad;
It's not their fault that they are mad,
They've tasted hell.
- Slough - John Betjeman
Cowshed Graffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-06, 20:20   #14

Maybe he will be crap by the end of the season when hes played no games for Smeltic but at the moment i rate Riordan as one of the best strikers in Scotland and i am not happy at Smeltic as they have just swooped one of our players and one of the best in Scotland and bunged im on the bench that is a disgrace.

Old 08-08-06, 22:54   #15

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

I'm still struggling to understand why Deeks went there

He knew already that they had signed Kenny Miller, and of course that Magic (aye right) guy was there, never mind Maloney and Beattie. SO, seein as tho he often said he didn't like the left midfield role much, not to mention the fact his workrate never really suited that role anyway, WHY DID HE GO TO DARKHEID?

I know moneys the obvious one, and it's in Scotland, but honestly, didn't he really value his fitba career more than that? It seems indicative of the fitba culture today that sees players chase a comfy home lifestyle more than goals and glory, silverware and statues, writing themselves into club history. Aw well

Oh and I'd have Deek back in a second, ye can't argue wi that left foot, cracking

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-06, 23:09   #16

I'm still struggling to understand why Deeks went there

He knew already that they had signed Kenny Miller, and of course that Magic (aye right) guy was there, never mind Maloney and Beattie. SO, seein as tho he often said he didn't like the left midfield role much, not to mention the fact his workrate never really suited that role anyway, WHY DID HE GO TO DARKHEID?

I know moneys the obvious one, and it's in Scotland, but honestly, didn't he really value his fitba career more than that? It seems indicative of the fitba culture today that sees players chase a comfy home lifestyle more than goals and glory, silverware and statues, writing themselves into club history. Aw well

Oh and I'd have Deek back in a second, ye can't argue wi that left foot, cracking
My personnal veiw on this is, money aside, he was more interested in being a 'big fish in a wee pond' rather than 'bettering' himself like GOC.

just my opinion mind.
Old 08-08-06, 23:16   #17

My personnal veiw on this is, money aside, he was more interested in being a 'big fish in a wee pond' rather than 'bettering' himself like GOC.

just my opinion mind.
Well now hes a wee fish in a big pond and cant be liking it much so far, long may it continue.

Old 08-08-06, 23:17   #18

Well now hes a wee fish in a big pond and cant be liking it much so far, long may it continue.
Agree completely.

Wonder how he feels about McArthur now, eh??

Mind if he was available on loan i'd have him in a yambeat!!
Old 08-08-06, 23:20   #19
Brafur Radge

BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

Deeks new nickname; "Splinter"
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-06, 23:23   #20